
Course at a Glance
- PhDDegree level
- 4 yearsDuration
- University of Toronto, St. George campus (downtown Toronto), CanadaLocation
- Laboratory Medicine and PathobiologyField of study
- EnglishLanguage of instruction
- University of Toronto, St. George campus (downtown Toronto)Campus
- Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)Awards
- $30,340Fees
- AvailableScholarship
About this programme
The graduate program in Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology provides a curriculum of courses and a broad-based multidisciplinary approach to research in mechanisms of human disease leading to Master of Science and Doctor of Philosophy degrees. The program emphasizes: • Bone and Matrix Pathobiology • Cancer • Vascular and Cardiovascular Pathobiology • Immunopathology, Lymphatics, and Transplantation • Neuropathobiology and Endocrine Disorders • Microbiology and Infectious Disease • Computational Medicine The Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology offers excellent research training programs that address the nature and molecular mechanisms of human disease.
Read more
Over 130 faculty members—on campus and at university teaching hospitals—conduct studies and teach courses related to pathobiology and supervise students in the PhD and MSc programs. The department provides a unique academic research environment that encourages interaction among clinicians, scientists, and student trainees. Students can gain an excellent understanding of how discoveries in basic and clinical research settings lead to more effective strategies in the treatment of human illness. Research foci include: • Antimicrobial Resistance: Surveillance and Mechanisms • Bone and Connective Tissue Diseases including Disorders of Mineral Metabolism • Cancer Pathogenesis and Prevention • Cardiovascular Disease • Cell-Matrix Interactions • Development: Cell Cycle, Differentiation, Signalling • Diabetes • Endocrine
Is this course right for you?
Our counsellors check your profile against this programme's entry criteria and tell you where you stand — before you pay anything.
What we look at
- Your subject background and grades
- Your English score, or how to get one
- Budget, including living costs
University & programme
- Listed from the catalogueNot yet staff-verified — ask us to confirm the details.
- English requirementIELTS Overall 7.0
- Study modePhD Program; PhD Program (Transfer); PhD Program (Direct-Entry)
Admissions checklist
Entry requirements
School of Graduate Studies minimum: for master's programs, an appropriate bachelor's degree, or its equivalent, with a final-year average of at least mid-B from a recognized university; for doctoral programs, an appropriate master's degree, or its equivalent, with an average of at least B+, or demonstrated comparable research competence. Some departments admit directly to the doctoral program from a bachelor's degree for highly qualified candidates (minimum average A- required). "Many graduate units have higher minimum requirements than the minimum SGS requirements." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ || Graduate-unit requirement for this degree, from the SGS Graduate Calendar 2026-27 ("LMP: Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology PhD"): • Applicants are admitted under the General Regulations of the School of Graduate Studies. Applicants must also satisfy the Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology's additional admission requirements stated below. • Research experience evidenced by peer-reviewed publications, abstracts, or presentations is normally required. • Three strong letters of recommendation from faculty members familiar with the applicant's academic work. Normally, one of the referees should be the applicant's research supervisor. • A detailed curriculum vitae (CV). • Statement of intent (approximately 250 words). • Applicants are selected by the departmental admissions committee on the basis of academic excellence. Admission to the program is finalized when a graduate faculty member agrees to supervise the student's research and guarantees a full stipend for the student. • A limited number of selected students may enter the MD/PhD combined degree program subject to admission into both the departmental PhD program and the MD program. || Minimum admission average published for international applicants: MSc: A– average in at least three of the four years PhD: A- || Direct entry option from bachelor's to PhD? PhD: No || International credentials: U of T publishes the degree it requires from each country through the SGS international degree equivalencies tool at https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/international-credentials-equivalencies/ · English: IELTS 7.0 (no band below 6.5); TOEFL iBT 93 · English test waiver: Normally not required if: your native language is English (first learned and still used daily); you are a Canadian citizen who studied at a Canadian university where the language of instruction is French; you obtained your admitting degree from an institution recognised by U of T where the language of instruction and examination is uniformly English; or you completed your admitting degree in Australia, the Bahamas, Barbados, Botswana, Ghana, Guyana, Hong Kong, Ireland, Jamaica, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Malta, Namibia, New Zealand, Nigeria, Papua New Guinea, Sierra Leone, Singapore, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda, the United Kingdom, the United States, Zambia or Zimbabwe. Some applicants from those countries may still be asked for proof. Tests must have been taken within the last 24 months. Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/english-language-proficiency-testing/ · GRE/GMAT: MSc, PhD: not stated (School of Graduate Studies programme page; SGS also states "Some graduate units require a Graduate Records Examination (GRE). Check with your graduate unit.") · Application fee: CDN $130, non-refundable and non-transferable. "A supplementary application fee may be assessed depending upon the program to which you are applying." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ · Deposit: University of Toronto does not publish a single admission-deposit amount. Its published rule is: "Review your offer letter if it indicates that you need to make a non-refundable admission deposit. You will pay your admission deposit through ACORN... Your Offer Letter has more information about the admission deposit." Refunds are "granted only in exceptional circumstances, such as the denial of a study permit". Source: https://future.utoronto.ca/fees and https://www.registrar.utoronto.ca/fees-payments/understanding-your-fees/
The usual set for this level. Your counsellor confirms the exact list for this university.
- Academic transcripts
- English test score (IELTS/TOEFL)
- Passport copy
- Statement of purpose (optional)
- Recommendation letters (optional)
Cost & scholarships
- Tuition$30,340 CAD / year≈ $22,309 / year
- Living costsVary by city — see the destination guide.
- ScholarshipsU of T publishes graduate award and funding information through the School of Graduate Studies at. Many research-stream graduate programmes at U of T are funded; funding arrangements are set by the graduate unit, not by SGS, and U of T does not publish a single figure. International doctoral students are charged the DOMESTIC tuition rate (see fee_basis)View scholarship page
Application timeline
Typical timings. Deadlines differ per university and intake.
- 1Prepare documents1–2 weeks
- 2Submit application1–3 weeks
- 3Receive offer letter2–6 weeks
- 4Apply for visa4–8 weeks
Application deadline: The School of Graduate Studies programme page prints no date and refers applicants to the graduate unit's own deadline page: https://trp.utoronto.ca/how-apply . Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/programs/laboratory-medicine-and-pathobiology/
Visa & support journey
- Offer letterFrom the university
- Visa guidanceExpert support
- Pre-departureAccommodation & travel
- Ongoing supportEven after you arrive
Student stories
Real students. Real results.
- Average rating
- 4.9
- Google reviews
- 360+
- Rated five stars
- 95%
Average rating
Google reviews
Rated five stars
“I would like to express my gratitude for the excellent assistance provided during my student visa process. The team was responsive, knowledgeable, and supportive at every stage, from document preparation to submission guidance. Their clear communication and professional approach made the process much easier and more efficient.”
1 / 8
Nihad K, 5 out of 5 stars
Every review below is a real Google review — see all of them
Frequently asked questions
How much does Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology (PhD) cost?
CAD 30,340 / year.
What English score does it need?
IELTS 7.0 overall is the score listed for this programme.
How long is it?
4 years, as listed by the university.
What are the entry requirements?
School of Graduate Studies minimum: for master's programs, an appropriate bachelor's degree, or its equivalent, with a final-year average of at least mid-B from a recognized university; for doctoral programs, an appropriate master's degree, or its equivalent, with an average of at least B+, or demonstrated comparable research competence. Some departments admit directly to the doctoral program from a bachelor's degree for highly qualified candidates (minimum average A- required). "Many graduate units have higher minimum requirements than the minimum SGS requirements." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ || Graduate-unit requirement for this degree, from the SGS Graduate Calendar 2026-27 ("LMP: Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology PhD"): • Applicants are admitted under the General Regulations of the School of Graduate Studies. Applicants must also satisfy the Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology's additional admission requirements stated below. • Research experience evidenced by peer-reviewed publications, abstracts, or presentations is normally required. • Three strong letters of recommendation from faculty members familiar with the applicant's academic work. Normally, one of the referees should be the applicant's research supervisor. • A detailed curriculum vitae (CV). • Statement of intent (approximately 250 words). • Applicants are selected by the departmental admissions committee on the basis of academic excellence. Admission to the program is finalized when a graduate faculty member agrees to supervise the student's research and guarantees a full stipend for the student. • A limited number of selected students may enter the MD/PhD combined degree program subject to admission into both the departmental PhD program and the MD program. || Minimum admission average published for international applicants: MSc: A– average in at least three of the four years PhD: A- || Direct entry option from bachelor's to PhD? PhD: No || International credentials: U of T publishes the degree it requires from each country through the SGS international degree equivalencies tool at https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/international-credentials-equivalencies/ · English: IELTS 7.0 (no band below 6.5); TOEFL iBT 93 · English test waiver: Normally not required if: your native language is English (first learned and still used daily); you are a Canadian citizen who studied at a Canadian university where the language of instruction is French; you obtained your admitting degree from an institution recognised by U of T where the language of instruction and examination is uniformly English; or you completed your admitting degree in Australia, the Bahamas, Barbados, Botswana, Ghana, Guyana, Hong Kong, Ireland, Jamaica, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Malta, Namibia, New Zealand, Nigeria, Papua New Guinea, Sierra Leone, Singapore, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda, the United Kingdom, the United States, Zambia or Zimbabwe. Some applicants from those countries may still be asked for proof. Tests must have been taken within the last 24 months. Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/english-language-proficiency-testing/ · GRE/GMAT: MSc, PhD: not stated (School of Graduate Studies programme page; SGS also states "Some graduate units require a Graduate Records Examination (GRE). Check with your graduate unit.") · Application fee: CDN $130, non-refundable and non-transferable. "A supplementary application fee may be assessed depending upon the program to which you are applying." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ · Deposit: University of Toronto does not publish a single admission-deposit amount. Its published rule is: "Review your offer letter if it indicates that you need to make a non-refundable admission deposit. You will pay your admission deposit through ACORN... Your Offer Letter has more information about the admission deposit." Refunds are "granted only in exceptional circumstances, such as the denial of a study permit". Source: https://future.utoronto.ca/fees and https://www.registrar.utoronto.ca/fees-payments/understanding-your-fees/
Is there a scholarship?
U of T publishes graduate award and funding information through the School of Graduate Studies at. Many research-stream graduate programmes at U of T are funded; funding arrangements are set by the graduate unit, not by SGS, and U of T does not publish a single figure. International doctoral students are charged the DOMESTIC tuition rate (see fee_basis) View scholarship page
Ready to apply?
Get expert guidance and take the first step towards your global education.
Free counselling · No application fee to enquire · Reply within 24h