
Translational Research in the Health Sciences (MHSc)
Course at a Glance
- MasterDegree level
- 5 sessions full-time (typical registration sequen…Duration
- University of Toronto, St. George campus (downtown Toronto), CanadaLocation
- Laboratory Medicine and PathobiologyField of study
- EnglishLanguage of instruction
- University of Toronto, St. George campus (downtown Toronto)Campus
- Master of Health Science (MHSc)Awards
- $46,140Fees
- AvailableScholarship
About this programme
The Translational Research Program (TRP) brings together a diverse range of students, mentors, and thought leaders – from researchers to clinicians to industry professionals and beyond. At the TRP, we learn from each other as we work together to solve real-world problems and advance health innovation.
Read more
TRP classes are a rallying point for discussions and peer learning, while hands-on projects allow you to build your network and understanding. You’ll learn how to navigate ambiguity, find innovation gaps, develop novel approaches and interventions, advance quality improvement, and lead research mobilization and innovation in ways that improve medicine, health, and care for people and communities. The TRP is a different kind of educational experience. You’ll learn through guidance, mentorship, feedback, and support rather than lecturing and exams. With customizable coursework options and a Capstone Research Project, you focus on the skills and topics that match your goals. The TRP curriculum is designed to facilitate your personal growth and professional development, while building your competencies to drive impact and health innovation!
Is this course right for you?
Our counsellors check your profile against this programme's entry criteria and tell you where you stand — before you pay anything.
What we look at
- Your subject background and grades
- Your English score, or how to get one
- Budget, including living costs
University & programme
- Listed from the catalogueNot yet staff-verified — ask us to confirm the details.
- English requirementIELTS Overall 7.0
- Study modeMHSc Program
Admissions checklist
Entry requirements
School of Graduate Studies minimum: for master's programs, an appropriate bachelor's degree, or its equivalent, with a final-year average of at least mid-B from a recognized university; for doctoral programs, an appropriate master's degree, or its equivalent, with an average of at least B+, or demonstrated comparable research competence. Some departments admit directly to the doctoral program from a bachelor's degree for highly qualified candidates (minimum average A- required). "Many graduate units have higher minimum requirements than the minimum SGS requirements." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ || Graduate-unit requirement for this degree, from the SGS Graduate Calendar 2026-27 ("LMP: Translational Research in the Health Sciences MHSc"): • Applicants are admitted on the basis of academic preparation, references, and motivation. All applicants must demonstrate exceptional scholarly achievement and significant research experience. • An appropriate bachelor's (BSc) degree or an MD degree from a recognized university, and academic credentials and background preparation appropriate to the area of study with an A– average in at least three of the four years. • Applicants with significant research, industry, or government experience in professional health science or related social science, and/or academic research master’s or PhD are also encouraged to apply. • The application must be accompanied by: • A current curriculum vitae (CV). • A letter of intent or statement of professional goals. • Three letters of reference. • Applicants whose primary language is not English, and who graduated from a university where the language of instruction was not English, must demonstrate proficiency in the English language through the successful completion of the following English-language proficiency tests: • Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) : minimum score of 4.5/6.0 overall with 4.5/6.0 in writing and 4.0/6.0 in speaking. • Tests must be completed in the year prior to application to the program. • Admission spots are limited; not all applicants who meet the prerequisites will be admitted. Applicants are screened for eligibility and short-listed applicants will be interviewed. || Minimum admission average published for international applicants: MHSc: A– average in at least three of the four years || International credentials: U of T publishes the degree it requires from each country through the SGS international degree equivalencies tool at https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/international-credentials-equivalencies/ · English: IELTS 7.0 (no band below 6.5); TOEFL iBT 93 · English test waiver: Normally not required if: your native language is English (first learned and still used daily); you are a Canadian citizen who studied at a Canadian university where the language of instruction is French; you obtained your admitting degree from an institution recognised by U of T where the language of instruction and examination is uniformly English; or you completed your admitting degree in Australia, the Bahamas, Barbados, Botswana, Ghana, Guyana, Hong Kong, Ireland, Jamaica, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Malta, Namibia, New Zealand, Nigeria, Papua New Guinea, Sierra Leone, Singapore, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda, the United Kingdom, the United States, Zambia or Zimbabwe. Some applicants from those countries may still be asked for proof. Tests must have been taken within the last 24 months. Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/english-language-proficiency-testing/ · GRE/GMAT: MHSc: not stated (School of Graduate Studies programme page; SGS also states "Some graduate units require a Graduate Records Examination (GRE). Check with your graduate unit.") · Application fee: CDN $130, non-refundable and non-transferable. "A supplementary application fee may be assessed depending upon the program to which you are applying." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ · Deposit: University of Toronto does not publish a single admission-deposit amount. Its published rule is: "Review your offer letter if it indicates that you need to make a non-refundable admission deposit. You will pay your admission deposit through ACORN... Your Offer Letter has more information about the admission deposit." Refunds are "granted only in exceptional circumstances, such as the denial of a study permit". Source: https://future.utoronto.ca/fees and https://www.registrar.utoronto.ca/fees-payments/understanding-your-fees/
The usual set for this level. Your counsellor confirms the exact list for this university.
- Academic transcripts
- English test score (IELTS/TOEFL)
- Passport copy
- Statement of purpose (optional)
- Recommendation letters (optional)
Cost & scholarships
- Tuition$46,140 CAD / year≈ $33,926 / year
- Living costsVary by city — see the destination guide.
- ScholarshipsU of T publishes graduate award and funding information through the School of Graduate Studies at. Many research-stream graduate programmes at U of T are funded; funding arrangements are set by the graduate unit, not by SGS, and U of T does not publish a single figure. International doctoral students are charged the DOMESTIC tuition rate (see fee_basis)View scholarship page
Application timeline
Typical timings. Deadlines differ per university and intake.
- 1Prepare documents1–2 weeks
- 2Submit application1–3 weeks
- 3Receive offer letter2–6 weeks
- 4Apply for visa4–8 weeks
Application deadline: The School of Graduate Studies programme page prints no date and refers applicants to the graduate unit's own deadline page: https://trp.utoronto.ca/how-apply . Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/programs/translational-research-in-the-health-sciences/
Visa & support journey
- Offer letterFrom the university
- Visa guidanceExpert support
- Pre-departureAccommodation & travel
- Ongoing supportEven after you arrive
Student stories
Real students. Real results.
- Average rating
- 4.9
- Google reviews
- 360+
- Rated five stars
- 95%
Average rating
Google reviews
Rated five stars
“I would like to express my gratitude for the excellent assistance provided during my student visa process. The team was responsive, knowledgeable, and supportive at every stage, from document preparation to submission guidance. Their clear communication and professional approach made the process much easier and more efficient.”
1 / 8
Nihad K, 5 out of 5 stars
Every review below is a real Google review — see all of them
Frequently asked questions
How much does Translational Research in the Health Sciences (MHSc) cost?
CAD 46,140 / year.
What English score does it need?
IELTS 7.0 overall is the score listed for this programme.
How long is it?
5 sessions full-time (typical registration sequen…, as listed by the university.
What are the entry requirements?
School of Graduate Studies minimum: for master's programs, an appropriate bachelor's degree, or its equivalent, with a final-year average of at least mid-B from a recognized university; for doctoral programs, an appropriate master's degree, or its equivalent, with an average of at least B+, or demonstrated comparable research competence. Some departments admit directly to the doctoral program from a bachelor's degree for highly qualified candidates (minimum average A- required). "Many graduate units have higher minimum requirements than the minimum SGS requirements." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ || Graduate-unit requirement for this degree, from the SGS Graduate Calendar 2026-27 ("LMP: Translational Research in the Health Sciences MHSc"): • Applicants are admitted on the basis of academic preparation, references, and motivation. All applicants must demonstrate exceptional scholarly achievement and significant research experience. • An appropriate bachelor's (BSc) degree or an MD degree from a recognized university, and academic credentials and background preparation appropriate to the area of study with an A– average in at least three of the four years. • Applicants with significant research, industry, or government experience in professional health science or related social science, and/or academic research master’s or PhD are also encouraged to apply. • The application must be accompanied by: • A current curriculum vitae (CV). • A letter of intent or statement of professional goals. • Three letters of reference. • Applicants whose primary language is not English, and who graduated from a university where the language of instruction was not English, must demonstrate proficiency in the English language through the successful completion of the following English-language proficiency tests: • Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) : minimum score of 4.5/6.0 overall with 4.5/6.0 in writing and 4.0/6.0 in speaking. • Tests must be completed in the year prior to application to the program. • Admission spots are limited; not all applicants who meet the prerequisites will be admitted. Applicants are screened for eligibility and short-listed applicants will be interviewed. || Minimum admission average published for international applicants: MHSc: A– average in at least three of the four years || International credentials: U of T publishes the degree it requires from each country through the SGS international degree equivalencies tool at https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/international-credentials-equivalencies/ · English: IELTS 7.0 (no band below 6.5); TOEFL iBT 93 · English test waiver: Normally not required if: your native language is English (first learned and still used daily); you are a Canadian citizen who studied at a Canadian university where the language of instruction is French; you obtained your admitting degree from an institution recognised by U of T where the language of instruction and examination is uniformly English; or you completed your admitting degree in Australia, the Bahamas, Barbados, Botswana, Ghana, Guyana, Hong Kong, Ireland, Jamaica, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Malta, Namibia, New Zealand, Nigeria, Papua New Guinea, Sierra Leone, Singapore, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda, the United Kingdom, the United States, Zambia or Zimbabwe. Some applicants from those countries may still be asked for proof. Tests must have been taken within the last 24 months. Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/english-language-proficiency-testing/ · GRE/GMAT: MHSc: not stated (School of Graduate Studies programme page; SGS also states "Some graduate units require a Graduate Records Examination (GRE). Check with your graduate unit.") · Application fee: CDN $130, non-refundable and non-transferable. "A supplementary application fee may be assessed depending upon the program to which you are applying." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ · Deposit: University of Toronto does not publish a single admission-deposit amount. Its published rule is: "Review your offer letter if it indicates that you need to make a non-refundable admission deposit. You will pay your admission deposit through ACORN... Your Offer Letter has more information about the admission deposit." Refunds are "granted only in exceptional circumstances, such as the denial of a study permit". Source: https://future.utoronto.ca/fees and https://www.registrar.utoronto.ca/fees-payments/understanding-your-fees/
Is there a scholarship?
U of T publishes graduate award and funding information through the School of Graduate Studies at. Many research-stream graduate programmes at U of T are funded; funding arrangements are set by the graduate unit, not by SGS, and U of T does not publish a single figure. International doctoral students are charged the DOMESTIC tuition rate (see fee_basis) View scholarship page
Ready to apply?
Get expert guidance and take the first step towards your global education.
Free counselling · No application fee to enquire · Reply within 24h