
Environment Major - Food Production and Environment (B.Sc.(Ag.Env.Sc.))
Course at a Glance
- BachelorDegree level
- 4 yearsDuration
- Macdonald Campus, CanadaLocation
- Bieler School of EnvironmentField of study
- EnglishLanguage of instruction
- Macdonald CampusCampus
- Bachelor of Science (Agricultural and Environmental Sciences) (B.Sc.(Ag.Env.Sc.))Awards
- $35,561Fees
- AvailableScholarship
About this programme
This domain (63 credits including core) is open only to students in the B.Sc.(Ag.Env.Sc.) Major in Environment or B.Sc. Major in Environment programs.
Read more
The business of food production is an area of human activity with a large and intimate interaction with the environment. As the global population rises, demand for food and food production increases. This demand must be met through a combination of increased productivity of existing agricultural land and by bringing new arable land into production. This is a serious challenge for two main reasons. Firstly, there are environmental impacts of agricultural activities which can be significant and which can be difficult to assess and contain, as the effects range from loss of biodiversity due to increasing farm size, production of biofuels versus food, non-point source pollution of rivers and lakes, and a loss of arable land to urbanization. Secondly, a growing population needs support from a number of different land uses (e.g., urban growth, transportation, water resource use, timber resources, etc.), many of which conflict, and all of which compete with food production land requirements. As the available land resource decreases, land-use competition for what remains will grow more fierce, making the need for smart and informed decision-making related to food production increasingly critical.
Is this course right for you?
Our counsellors check your profile against this programme's entry criteria and tell you where you stand — before you pay anything.
What we look at
- Your subject background and grades
- Your English score, or how to get one
- Budget, including living costs
University & programme
- Listed from the catalogueNot yet staff-verified — ask us to confirm the details.
- English requirementIELTS Overall 6.5
- Study modefull-time
Admissions checklist
Entry requirements
McGill's published basis for applicants from high schools outside Canada: completion of the credentials that lead to university admission in your country of study (studies in applied programs or at vocational or technical high schools are not normally considered). The minimum is the equivalent of a B+ average and most programs have higher requirements; the high school transcript is reviewed with emphasis on yearly averages and results in prerequisite subjects, which must have been completed in the last two years of high school. Prerequisites: All B.Sc.(Ag.Env.Sc.) programs: Math (minimum of pre-calculus) and normally two of biology, chemistry or physics at the senior high school level. Curriculum-specific rules (IB Diploma, A-Levels / AS / CAPE, French Baccalaureate, and others) are published at https://www.mcgill.ca/undergraduate-admissions/apply/requirements/international. Source: https://www.mcgill.ca/undergraduate-admissions/apply/requirements/international/other · English: IELTS 6.5 (no band below 6.0); TOEFL iBT 90; PTE Academic 65; Duolingo English Test 125 · English test waiver: No English test is required if any of the following applies (McGill's published exemptions): you have lived and attended high school and/or university for at least four consecutive years in a country where English is the acknowledged primary language (McGill lists: American Samoa, Anguilla, Antigua & Barbuda, Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, Botswana, British Virgin Islands, Canada (including Quebec), Cayman Islands, Dominica, Falkland Islands, Fiji, Gambia, Ghana, Gibraltar, Grenada, Guam, Guyana, Ireland, Jamaica, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Malta, Marshall Islands, Montserrat, Namibia, New Zealand, Nigeria, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Solomon Islands, South Africa, St. Helena, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent & the Grenadines, Tanzania, Trinidad & Tobago, Turks & Caicos Islands, Uganda, United Kingdom, USA, US Virgin Islands, Zambia, Zimbabwe); or you completed a DEC at a French CEGEP in Quebec plus the Quebec Secondary V diploma, or a DEC at an English CEGEP in Quebec; or the International French Baccalaureate (BFI, American or British section) or the former Option Internationale (OIB); or IB Group 1 English (Language A: Literature, Language A: Language and Literature, or Literature and Performance) with a 5 or better; or English as Language 1 or Language 2 in the European Baccalaureate; or British Curriculum A-Level English with a final grade of C or better; or GCSE / IGCSE / GCE O-Level English, English Language, English First Language or English as a Second Language with a final grade of B (or 5) or better. Otherwise proof is required even if you consider English your first language or attended an English-medium school in a non-English country. Other accepted proofs: Cambridge C2 Proficiency (grade C or better), Cambridge C1 Advanced (grade B or better), CAEL 70 overall with components of 60 or better, McGill Certificate of Proficiency in English. Institutional versions of tests are not accepted and the IELTS One Skill Retake is not accepted. The Admissions Office may request proof from any applicant. Source: https://www.mcgill.ca/undergraduate-admissions/apply/english-proficiency · Application fee: CAD 140.16, non-refundable, payable by credit card when the online application is submitted. A second application (same term and level) costs nothing extra; each further application costs CAD 140.16. Source: https://www.mcgill.ca/undergraduate-admissions/apply · Deposit: CAD 1,000 confirmation deposit for international students (CAD 500 for Canadian citizens and permanent residents), paid when accepting the offer of admission in the McGill Applicant Portal. International students must accept and pay it to access the official letter of acceptance needed for the CAQ and study permit applications. Refund terms are not stated on this page. Source: https://www.mcgill.ca/accepted/nextsteps/accepting
The usual set for this level. Your counsellor confirms the exact list for this university.
- Academic transcripts
- English test score (IELTS/TOEFL)
- Passport copy
- Statement of purpose (optional)
- Recommendation letters (optional)
Cost & scholarships
- Tuition$35,561 CAD / year≈ $26,148 / year
- Application feeNo application fee for this programme
- Living costsVary by city — see the destination guide.
- ScholarshipsMcGill centrally-administered entrance scholarships are open to first-time university students entering a full-time undergraduate degree programme, regardless of citizenship: a one-year scholarship of $3,000 (all applicants automatically considered if they meet the minimum academic requirements; no separate application) and Major Entrance Scholarships of $3,000, $5,000 or $10,000 renewable (the $12,000 level is only for Canadian citizens and permanent residents), which need a separate application by January 21. Transfer, Mature, Diploma, Exchange, Special, Part-time and Visiting students are not eligible. Faculty-specific entrance scholarships also exist in Music, Dental Medicine and Oral Health Sciences, Law and Medicine. SourcesView scholarship page
Application timeline
Typical timings. Deadlines differ per university and intake.
- 1Prepare documents1–2 weeks
- 2Submit application1–3 weeks
- 3Receive offer letter2–6 weeks
- 4Apply for visa4–8 weeks
Application deadline: Fall (September) entry. High school applicants from outside Canada (International Baccalaureate, A-Levels and other international high school diplomas) and U.S. high schools: application January 15, supporting documents March 1; Major Entrance Scholarshi…
Visa & support journey
- Offer letterFrom the university
- Visa guidanceExpert support
- Pre-departureAccommodation & travel
- Ongoing supportEven after you arrive
Student stories
Real students. Real results.
- Average rating
- 4.9
- Google reviews
- 360+
- Rated five stars
- 95%
Average rating
Google reviews
Rated five stars
“I would like to express my gratitude for the excellent assistance provided during my student visa process. The team was responsive, knowledgeable, and supportive at every stage, from document preparation to submission guidance. Their clear communication and professional approach made the process much easier and more efficient.”
1 / 8
Nihad K, 5 out of 5 stars
Every review below is a real Google review — see all of them
Frequently asked questions
How much does Environment Major - Food Production and Environment (B.Sc.(Ag.Env.Sc.)) cost?
CAD 35,561 / year.
What English score does it need?
IELTS 6.5 overall is the score listed for this programme.
How long is it?
4 years, as listed by the university.
What are the entry requirements?
McGill's published basis for applicants from high schools outside Canada: completion of the credentials that lead to university admission in your country of study (studies in applied programs or at vocational or technical high schools are not normally considered). The minimum is the equivalent of a B+ average and most programs have higher requirements; the high school transcript is reviewed with emphasis on yearly averages and results in prerequisite subjects, which must have been completed in the last two years of high school. Prerequisites: All B.Sc.(Ag.Env.Sc.) programs: Math (minimum of pre-calculus) and normally two of biology, chemistry or physics at the senior high school level. Curriculum-specific rules (IB Diploma, A-Levels / AS / CAPE, French Baccalaureate, and others) are published at https://www.mcgill.ca/undergraduate-admissions/apply/requirements/international. Source: https://www.mcgill.ca/undergraduate-admissions/apply/requirements/international/other · English: IELTS 6.5 (no band below 6.0); TOEFL iBT 90; PTE Academic 65; Duolingo English Test 125 · English test waiver: No English test is required if any of the following applies (McGill's published exemptions): you have lived and attended high school and/or university for at least four consecutive years in a country where English is the acknowledged primary language (McGill lists: American Samoa, Anguilla, Antigua & Barbuda, Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, Botswana, British Virgin Islands, Canada (including Quebec), Cayman Islands, Dominica, Falkland Islands, Fiji, Gambia, Ghana, Gibraltar, Grenada, Guam, Guyana, Ireland, Jamaica, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Malta, Marshall Islands, Montserrat, Namibia, New Zealand, Nigeria, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Solomon Islands, South Africa, St. Helena, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent & the Grenadines, Tanzania, Trinidad & Tobago, Turks & Caicos Islands, Uganda, United Kingdom, USA, US Virgin Islands, Zambia, Zimbabwe); or you completed a DEC at a French CEGEP in Quebec plus the Quebec Secondary V diploma, or a DEC at an English CEGEP in Quebec; or the International French Baccalaureate (BFI, American or British section) or the former Option Internationale (OIB); or IB Group 1 English (Language A: Literature, Language A: Language and Literature, or Literature and Performance) with a 5 or better; or English as Language 1 or Language 2 in the European Baccalaureate; or British Curriculum A-Level English with a final grade of C or better; or GCSE / IGCSE / GCE O-Level English, English Language, English First Language or English as a Second Language with a final grade of B (or 5) or better. Otherwise proof is required even if you consider English your first language or attended an English-medium school in a non-English country. Other accepted proofs: Cambridge C2 Proficiency (grade C or better), Cambridge C1 Advanced (grade B or better), CAEL 70 overall with components of 60 or better, McGill Certificate of Proficiency in English. Institutional versions of tests are not accepted and the IELTS One Skill Retake is not accepted. The Admissions Office may request proof from any applicant. Source: https://www.mcgill.ca/undergraduate-admissions/apply/english-proficiency · Application fee: CAD 140.16, non-refundable, payable by credit card when the online application is submitted. A second application (same term and level) costs nothing extra; each further application costs CAD 140.16. Source: https://www.mcgill.ca/undergraduate-admissions/apply · Deposit: CAD 1,000 confirmation deposit for international students (CAD 500 for Canadian citizens and permanent residents), paid when accepting the offer of admission in the McGill Applicant Portal. International students must accept and pay it to access the official letter of acceptance needed for the CAQ and study permit applications. Refund terms are not stated on this page. Source: https://www.mcgill.ca/accepted/nextsteps/accepting
Is there a scholarship?
McGill centrally-administered entrance scholarships are open to first-time university students entering a full-time undergraduate degree programme, regardless of citizenship: a one-year scholarship of $3,000 (all applicants automatically considered if they meet the minimum academic requirements; no separate application) and Major Entrance Scholarships of $3,000, $5,000 or $10,000 renewable (the $12,000 level is only for Canadian citizens and permanent residents), which need a separate application by January 21. Transfer, Mature, Diploma, Exchange, Special, Part-time and Visiting students are not eligible. Faculty-specific entrance scholarships also exist in Music, Dental Medicine and Oral Health Sciences, Law and Medicine. Sources View scholarship page
Ready to apply?
Get expert guidance and take the first step towards your global education.
Free counselling · No application fee to enquire · Reply within 24h