
Course at a Glance
- PhDDegree level
- 3 yearsDuration
- University of Toronto, St. George campus (downtown Toronto), CanadaLocation
- LawField of study
- EnglishLanguage of instruction
- University of Toronto, St. George campus (downtown Toronto)Campus
- Doctor of Juridical Science (SJD)Awards
- $6,330Fees
- AvailableScholarship
About this programme
The Master of Laws (LLM) is a one-year degree program that provides students with an opportunity for more profound study beyond their first law degree. (Please note: the LLM program is an academic program and is not designed to meet National Committee on Accreditation [NCA] requirements.) The LLM program can be thesis intensive (with either a shorter or longer thesis) or coursework only. The longer thesis option is for law students who have demonstrated a strong potential for advanced research and writing in a common law system.
Read more
The shorter thesis option and coursework-only formats are for law students who wish to specialize in a specific area of law or explore common law at an advanced level. Within the LLM program, students also have the option of applying to pursue one of four areas of concentration: Business Law; Criminal Law; Health Law, Ethics and Policy; or Legal Theory. Students accepted into a concentration will receive a designation on their transcript. The number of places available for students in each of the areas of concentration will be limited, and acceptance into the concentrations will be on a competitive basis. The Master of Studies in Law (MSL) is designed for scholars with no prior training in law who wish to acquire knowledge of law in order to add a legal dimension to scholarship in their own discipline. The Doctor of Juridical Science (SJD), a thesis degree program which normally takes three years to complete, is for outstanding law students seeking t
Is this course right for you?
Our counsellors check your profile against this programme's entry criteria and tell you where you stand — before you pay anything.
What we look at
- Your subject background and grades
- Your English score, or how to get one
- Budget, including living costs
University & programme
- Listed from the catalogueNot yet staff-verified — ask us to confirm the details.
- English requirementIELTS Overall 7.0
- Study modeSJD Program; SJD Program (Direct-Entry)
Admissions checklist
Entry requirements
School of Graduate Studies minimum: for master's programs, an appropriate bachelor's degree, or its equivalent, with a final-year average of at least mid-B from a recognized university; for doctoral programs, an appropriate master's degree, or its equivalent, with an average of at least B+, or demonstrated comparable research competence. Some departments admit directly to the doctoral program from a bachelor's degree for highly qualified candidates (minimum average A- required). "Many graduate units have higher minimum requirements than the minimum SGS requirements." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ || Graduate-unit requirement for this degree, from the SGS Graduate Calendar 2026-27 ("Law: Law SJD"): • Applicants are admitted under the General Regulations of the School of Graduate Studies. Applicants must also satisfy the Faculty of Law's additional admission requirements stated below. • Applicants must have obtained a Bachelor of Laws or Juris Doctor degree and a Master of Laws, or the equivalent of each degree, from a recognized university. Applicants must have a minimum B+ average in their Master of Laws. Preference will be given to applicants who maintain this average throughout their legal studies. • Applicants whose primary language is not English and who obtained their admitting degree (Bachelor of Laws, Juris Doctor, or equivalent) from a university where the language of instruction and examination was not English must show evidence of English proficiency by submitting English-language test scores. Several English-language testing services are acceptable. • The Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL): Internet-based minimum overall score of 5.5/6 and at least 5/6 on each section. • The International English Language Testing System (IELTS), Academic module : overall score of 7.5 with at least 7.0 in each component. • The University of Toronto Academic English preparation course : overall grade of A in Level 60. • Canadian Academic English Language (CAEL) Online: overall score of 70 with at least 70 in each component. • Cambridge English Qualifications: overall score of 191 with at least 185 on each section. • No conditional offers of admission will be given based on successful completion of an English language test. || Minimum admission average published for international applicants: LLM: B+ MSL: B+ SJD: SJD: B+ SJD U: A- || Direct entry option from bachelor's to PhD? SJD: Yes – SJD Direct Entry (SJD U) || Is a supervisor assigned by the graduate unit or secured by the applicant? LLM: Graduate unit SJD: Graduate unit || If a supervisor is identified after admission (as per question above), is admission conditional upon securing a supervisor? LLM: Supervisor identified during the admission process SJD: Supervisor identified during the admission process || International credentials: U of T publishes the degree it requires from each country through the SGS international degree equivalencies tool at https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/international-credentials-equivalencies/ · English: IELTS 7.0 (no band below 6.5); TOEFL iBT 93 · English test waiver: Normally not required if: your native language is English (first learned and still used daily); you are a Canadian citizen who studied at a Canadian university where the language of instruction is French; you obtained your admitting degree from an institution recognised by U of T where the language of instruction and examination is uniformly English; or you completed your admitting degree in Australia, the Bahamas, Barbados, Botswana, Ghana, Guyana, Hong Kong, Ireland, Jamaica, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Malta, Namibia, New Zealand, Nigeria, Papua New Guinea, Sierra Leone, Singapore, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda, the United Kingdom, the United States, Zambia or Zimbabwe. Some applicants from those countries may still be asked for proof. Tests must have been taken within the last 24 months. Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/english-language-proficiency-testing/ · GRE/GMAT: LLM, MSL, SJD: not stated (School of Graduate Studies programme page; SGS also states "Some graduate units require a Graduate Records Examination (GRE). Check with your graduate unit.") · Application fee: CDN $130, non-refundable and non-transferable. "A supplementary application fee may be assessed depending upon the program to which you are applying." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ · Deposit: University of Toronto does not publish a single admission-deposit amount. Its published rule is: "Review your offer letter if it indicates that you need to make a non-refundable admission deposit. You will pay your admission deposit through ACORN... Your Offer Letter has more information about the admission deposit." Refunds are "granted only in exceptional circumstances, such as the denial of a study permit". Source: https://future.utoronto.ca/fees and https://www.registrar.utoronto.ca/fees-payments/understanding-your-fees/
The usual set for this level. Your counsellor confirms the exact list for this university.
- Academic transcripts
- English test score (IELTS/TOEFL)
- Passport copy
- Statement of purpose (optional)
- Recommendation letters (optional)
Cost & scholarships
- Tuition$6,330 CAD / year≈ $4,654 / year
- Living costsVary by city — see the destination guide.
- ScholarshipsU of T publishes graduate award and funding information through the School of Graduate Studies at. Many research-stream graduate programmes at U of T are funded; funding arrangements are set by the graduate unit, not by SGS, and U of T does not publish a single figure. International doctoral students are charged the DOMESTIC tuition rate (see fee_basis)View scholarship page
Application timeline
Typical timings. Deadlines differ per university and intake.
- 1Prepare documents1–2 weeks
- 2Submit application1–3 weeks
- 3Receive offer letter2–6 weeks
- 4Apply for visa4–8 weeks
Application deadline: LLM: Application Deadlines MSL: Application Deadline SJD: Application Deadline (published on the SGS programme page for international applicants: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/programs/law/)
Visa & support journey
- Offer letterFrom the university
- Visa guidanceExpert support
- Pre-departureAccommodation & travel
- Ongoing supportEven after you arrive
Student stories
Real students. Real results.
- Average rating
- 4.9
- Google reviews
- 360+
- Rated five stars
- 95%
Average rating
Google reviews
Rated five stars
“I would like to express my gratitude for the excellent assistance provided during my student visa process. The team was responsive, knowledgeable, and supportive at every stage, from document preparation to submission guidance. Their clear communication and professional approach made the process much easier and more efficient.”
1 / 8
Nihad K, 5 out of 5 stars
Every review below is a real Google review — see all of them
Frequently asked questions
How much does Law (SJD) cost?
CAD 6,330 / year.
What English score does it need?
IELTS 7.0 overall is the score listed for this programme.
How long is it?
3 years, as listed by the university.
What are the entry requirements?
School of Graduate Studies minimum: for master's programs, an appropriate bachelor's degree, or its equivalent, with a final-year average of at least mid-B from a recognized university; for doctoral programs, an appropriate master's degree, or its equivalent, with an average of at least B+, or demonstrated comparable research competence. Some departments admit directly to the doctoral program from a bachelor's degree for highly qualified candidates (minimum average A- required). "Many graduate units have higher minimum requirements than the minimum SGS requirements." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ || Graduate-unit requirement for this degree, from the SGS Graduate Calendar 2026-27 ("Law: Law SJD"): • Applicants are admitted under the General Regulations of the School of Graduate Studies. Applicants must also satisfy the Faculty of Law's additional admission requirements stated below. • Applicants must have obtained a Bachelor of Laws or Juris Doctor degree and a Master of Laws, or the equivalent of each degree, from a recognized university. Applicants must have a minimum B+ average in their Master of Laws. Preference will be given to applicants who maintain this average throughout their legal studies. • Applicants whose primary language is not English and who obtained their admitting degree (Bachelor of Laws, Juris Doctor, or equivalent) from a university where the language of instruction and examination was not English must show evidence of English proficiency by submitting English-language test scores. Several English-language testing services are acceptable. • The Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL): Internet-based minimum overall score of 5.5/6 and at least 5/6 on each section. • The International English Language Testing System (IELTS), Academic module : overall score of 7.5 with at least 7.0 in each component. • The University of Toronto Academic English preparation course : overall grade of A in Level 60. • Canadian Academic English Language (CAEL) Online: overall score of 70 with at least 70 in each component. • Cambridge English Qualifications: overall score of 191 with at least 185 on each section. • No conditional offers of admission will be given based on successful completion of an English language test. || Minimum admission average published for international applicants: LLM: B+ MSL: B+ SJD: SJD: B+ SJD U: A- || Direct entry option from bachelor's to PhD? SJD: Yes – SJD Direct Entry (SJD U) || Is a supervisor assigned by the graduate unit or secured by the applicant? LLM: Graduate unit SJD: Graduate unit || If a supervisor is identified after admission (as per question above), is admission conditional upon securing a supervisor? LLM: Supervisor identified during the admission process SJD: Supervisor identified during the admission process || International credentials: U of T publishes the degree it requires from each country through the SGS international degree equivalencies tool at https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/international-credentials-equivalencies/ · English: IELTS 7.0 (no band below 6.5); TOEFL iBT 93 · English test waiver: Normally not required if: your native language is English (first learned and still used daily); you are a Canadian citizen who studied at a Canadian university where the language of instruction is French; you obtained your admitting degree from an institution recognised by U of T where the language of instruction and examination is uniformly English; or you completed your admitting degree in Australia, the Bahamas, Barbados, Botswana, Ghana, Guyana, Hong Kong, Ireland, Jamaica, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Malta, Namibia, New Zealand, Nigeria, Papua New Guinea, Sierra Leone, Singapore, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda, the United Kingdom, the United States, Zambia or Zimbabwe. Some applicants from those countries may still be asked for proof. Tests must have been taken within the last 24 months. Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/english-language-proficiency-testing/ · GRE/GMAT: LLM, MSL, SJD: not stated (School of Graduate Studies programme page; SGS also states "Some graduate units require a Graduate Records Examination (GRE). Check with your graduate unit.") · Application fee: CDN $130, non-refundable and non-transferable. "A supplementary application fee may be assessed depending upon the program to which you are applying." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ · Deposit: University of Toronto does not publish a single admission-deposit amount. Its published rule is: "Review your offer letter if it indicates that you need to make a non-refundable admission deposit. You will pay your admission deposit through ACORN... Your Offer Letter has more information about the admission deposit." Refunds are "granted only in exceptional circumstances, such as the denial of a study permit". Source: https://future.utoronto.ca/fees and https://www.registrar.utoronto.ca/fees-payments/understanding-your-fees/
Is there a scholarship?
U of T publishes graduate award and funding information through the School of Graduate Studies at. Many research-stream graduate programmes at U of T are funded; funding arrangements are set by the graduate unit, not by SGS, and U of T does not publish a single figure. International doctoral students are charged the DOMESTIC tuition rate (see fee_basis) View scholarship page
Ready to apply?
Get expert guidance and take the first step towards your global education.
Free counselling · No application fee to enquire · Reply within 24h