
Management of Innovation (MMI) - Mississauga campus
Course at a Glance
- MasterDegree level
- 3 sessions full-time (typical registration sequen…Duration
- University of Toronto Mississauga (UTM), CanadaLocation
- Management & InnovationField of study
- EnglishLanguage of instruction
- University of Toronto Mississauga (UTM)Campus
- Master of Management in Innovation (MMI)Awards
- $56,180Fees
- AvailableScholarship
About this programme
The Master of Management of Innovation (MMI) program attracts students with science, engineering, and technology backgrounds. The program prepares students with the knowledge, skills, and strategic perspectives required to become leaders and senior managers.
Read more
The curriculum provides a strong foundation in economic analysis, technology management, business strategy, finance, accounting, marketing, and policy. The required academic core courses focus on management and economics; students select three electives tailored to their interests and goals. Students must complete a four-month internship in order to be eligible for graduation. The internship allows students to gain valuable, real-world work experience and an opportunity to demonstrate the key competencies the MMI program has taught them.
Is this course right for you?
Our counsellors check your profile against this programme's entry criteria and tell you where you stand — before you pay anything.
What we look at
- Your subject background and grades
- Your English score, or how to get one
- Budget, including living costs
University & programme
- Listed from the catalogueNot yet staff-verified — ask us to confirm the details.
- English requirementIELTS Overall 7.0
- Study modeMaster of Management of Innovation
Admissions checklist
Entry requirements
School of Graduate Studies minimum: for master's programs, an appropriate bachelor's degree, or its equivalent, with a final-year average of at least mid-B from a recognized university; for doctoral programs, an appropriate master's degree, or its equivalent, with an average of at least B+, or demonstrated comparable research competence. Some departments admit directly to the doctoral program from a bachelor's degree for highly qualified candidates (minimum average A- required). "Many graduate units have higher minimum requirements than the minimum SGS requirements." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ || Graduate-unit requirement for this degree, from the SGS Graduate Calendar 2026-27 ("Management & Innovation: Management of Innovation MMI"): • Applicants are admitted under the General Regulations of the School of Graduate Studies. Applicants must also satisfy the Institute for Management & Innovation's additional admission requirements stated below. • Bachelor's degree in sciences or engineering or equivalent from a recognized university. Minimum overall average grade of B+ over the last two years of full-time academic study. • Although not a formal requirement, the MMI program recommends that applicants take a statistics or calculus course in their undergraduate studies. • Resumé/curriculum vitae (CV), two pages maximum. • Letter of intent outlining the applicant's interest in Management and Innovation, one page (500 words). • Two academic letters of reference must be submitted by the applicant (or at least one academic and one professional reference). One reference must be provided directly from a faculty member familiar with the applicant's work and who holds an appointment in the program where the applicant most recently graduated. • Applicants who obtained a degree outside North America must submit a competitive GMAT or GRE (General) examination result to be sent to the department. • Applicants whose primary language is not English and who graduated from a university where the language of instruction and examination was not English must also demonstrate proficiency in English. See General Regulations section 4.3 for requirements. • Attend an interview where fit, problem-solving capabilities, and communication skills are assessed. || Minimum admission average published for international applicants: MMI: B+ average (GPA 3.3) || International credentials: U of T publishes the degree it requires from each country through the SGS international degree equivalencies tool at https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/international-credentials-equivalencies/ · English: IELTS 7.0 (no band below 6.5); TOEFL iBT 93 · English test waiver: Normally not required if: your native language is English (first learned and still used daily); you are a Canadian citizen who studied at a Canadian university where the language of instruction is French; you obtained your admitting degree from an institution recognised by U of T where the language of instruction and examination is uniformly English; or you completed your admitting degree in Australia, the Bahamas, Barbados, Botswana, Ghana, Guyana, Hong Kong, Ireland, Jamaica, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Malta, Namibia, New Zealand, Nigeria, Papua New Guinea, Sierra Leone, Singapore, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda, the United Kingdom, the United States, Zambia or Zimbabwe. Some applicants from those countries may still be asked for proof. Tests must have been taken within the last 24 months. Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/english-language-proficiency-testing/ · GRE/GMAT: MMI: not stated (School of Graduate Studies programme page; SGS also states "Some graduate units require a Graduate Records Examination (GRE). Check with your graduate unit.") · Application fee: CDN $130, non-refundable and non-transferable. "A supplementary application fee may be assessed depending upon the program to which you are applying." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ · Deposit: University of Toronto does not publish a single admission-deposit amount. Its published rule is: "Review your offer letter if it indicates that you need to make a non-refundable admission deposit. You will pay your admission deposit through ACORN... Your Offer Letter has more information about the admission deposit." Refunds are "granted only in exceptional circumstances, such as the denial of a study permit". Source: https://future.utoronto.ca/fees and https://www.registrar.utoronto.ca/fees-payments/understanding-your-fees/
The usual set for this level. Your counsellor confirms the exact list for this university.
- Academic transcripts
- English test score (IELTS/TOEFL)
- Passport copy
- Statement of purpose (optional)
- Recommendation letters (optional)
Cost & scholarships
- Tuition$56,180 CAD / year≈ $41,309 / year
- Application feeNo application fee for this programme
- Living costsVary by city — see the destination guide.
- ScholarshipsU of T publishes graduate award and funding information through the School of Graduate Studies at. Many research-stream graduate programmes at U of T are funded; funding arrangements are set by the graduate unit, not by SGS, and U of T does not publish a single figure. International doctoral students are charged the DOMESTIC tuition rate (see fee_basis)View scholarship page
Application timeline
Typical timings. Deadlines differ per university and intake.
- 1Prepare documents1–2 weeks
- 2Submit application1–3 weeks
- 3Receive offer letter2–6 weeks
- 4Apply for visa4–8 weeks
Application deadline: The School of Graduate Studies programme page prints no date and refers applicants to the graduate unit's own deadline page: https://mmpa.utoronto.ca/admissions/admissions-intake-update . Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/programs/management-of-innovat…
Visa & support journey
- Offer letterFrom the university
- Visa guidanceExpert support
- Pre-departureAccommodation & travel
- Ongoing supportEven after you arrive
Student stories
Real students. Real results.
- Average rating
- 4.9
- Google reviews
- 360+
- Rated five stars
- 95%
Average rating
Google reviews
Rated five stars
“I would like to express my gratitude for the excellent assistance provided during my student visa process. The team was responsive, knowledgeable, and supportive at every stage, from document preparation to submission guidance. Their clear communication and professional approach made the process much easier and more efficient.”
1 / 8
Nihad K, 5 out of 5 stars
Every review below is a real Google review — see all of them
Frequently asked questions
How much does Management of Innovation (MMI) - Mississauga campus cost?
CAD 56,180 / year.
What English score does it need?
IELTS 7.0 overall is the score listed for this programme.
How long is it?
3 sessions full-time (typical registration sequen…, as listed by the university.
What are the entry requirements?
School of Graduate Studies minimum: for master's programs, an appropriate bachelor's degree, or its equivalent, with a final-year average of at least mid-B from a recognized university; for doctoral programs, an appropriate master's degree, or its equivalent, with an average of at least B+, or demonstrated comparable research competence. Some departments admit directly to the doctoral program from a bachelor's degree for highly qualified candidates (minimum average A- required). "Many graduate units have higher minimum requirements than the minimum SGS requirements." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ || Graduate-unit requirement for this degree, from the SGS Graduate Calendar 2026-27 ("Management & Innovation: Management of Innovation MMI"): • Applicants are admitted under the General Regulations of the School of Graduate Studies. Applicants must also satisfy the Institute for Management & Innovation's additional admission requirements stated below. • Bachelor's degree in sciences or engineering or equivalent from a recognized university. Minimum overall average grade of B+ over the last two years of full-time academic study. • Although not a formal requirement, the MMI program recommends that applicants take a statistics or calculus course in their undergraduate studies. • Resumé/curriculum vitae (CV), two pages maximum. • Letter of intent outlining the applicant's interest in Management and Innovation, one page (500 words). • Two academic letters of reference must be submitted by the applicant (or at least one academic and one professional reference). One reference must be provided directly from a faculty member familiar with the applicant's work and who holds an appointment in the program where the applicant most recently graduated. • Applicants who obtained a degree outside North America must submit a competitive GMAT or GRE (General) examination result to be sent to the department. • Applicants whose primary language is not English and who graduated from a university where the language of instruction and examination was not English must also demonstrate proficiency in English. See General Regulations section 4.3 for requirements. • Attend an interview where fit, problem-solving capabilities, and communication skills are assessed. || Minimum admission average published for international applicants: MMI: B+ average (GPA 3.3) || International credentials: U of T publishes the degree it requires from each country through the SGS international degree equivalencies tool at https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/international-credentials-equivalencies/ · English: IELTS 7.0 (no band below 6.5); TOEFL iBT 93 · English test waiver: Normally not required if: your native language is English (first learned and still used daily); you are a Canadian citizen who studied at a Canadian university where the language of instruction is French; you obtained your admitting degree from an institution recognised by U of T where the language of instruction and examination is uniformly English; or you completed your admitting degree in Australia, the Bahamas, Barbados, Botswana, Ghana, Guyana, Hong Kong, Ireland, Jamaica, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Malta, Namibia, New Zealand, Nigeria, Papua New Guinea, Sierra Leone, Singapore, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda, the United Kingdom, the United States, Zambia or Zimbabwe. Some applicants from those countries may still be asked for proof. Tests must have been taken within the last 24 months. Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/english-language-proficiency-testing/ · GRE/GMAT: MMI: not stated (School of Graduate Studies programme page; SGS also states "Some graduate units require a Graduate Records Examination (GRE). Check with your graduate unit.") · Application fee: CDN $130, non-refundable and non-transferable. "A supplementary application fee may be assessed depending upon the program to which you are applying." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ · Deposit: University of Toronto does not publish a single admission-deposit amount. Its published rule is: "Review your offer letter if it indicates that you need to make a non-refundable admission deposit. You will pay your admission deposit through ACORN... Your Offer Letter has more information about the admission deposit." Refunds are "granted only in exceptional circumstances, such as the denial of a study permit". Source: https://future.utoronto.ca/fees and https://www.registrar.utoronto.ca/fees-payments/understanding-your-fees/
Is there a scholarship?
U of T publishes graduate award and funding information through the School of Graduate Studies at. Many research-stream graduate programmes at U of T are funded; funding arrangements are set by the graduate unit, not by SGS, and U of T does not publish a single figure. International doctoral students are charged the DOMESTIC tuition rate (see fee_basis) View scholarship page
Ready to apply?
Get expert guidance and take the first step towards your global education.
Free counselling · No application fee to enquire · Reply within 24h