
Adult Education and Community Development (OISE) (PhD)
Course at a Glance
- PhDDegree level
- 4 yearsDuration
- University of Toronto, St. George campus (downtown Toronto), CanadaLocation
- Leadership, Higher and Adult EducationField of study
- EnglishLanguage of instruction
- University of Toronto, St. George campus (downtown Toronto)Campus
- Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)Awards
- $30,340Fees
- AvailableScholarship
About this programme
The Department of Leadership, Higher and Adult Education at the Ontario Institute for Studies in Education (OISE) offers the Adult Education and Community Development program, leading to the Master of Arts , Master of Education , and Doctor of Philosophy degrees . The MA is a research-based degree and can be taken on a full-time or part-time basis.
Read more
During their program of study, MA students are expected to have exposure to both qualitative and quantitative approaches to research but can focus on either approaches or mixed-methods approaches for their thesis work. The MEd is a non-thesis degree program which can be taken on either a full-time or part-time basis. The PhD degree program is designed to provide opportunities for advanced study in the theoretical foundations of adult education and community development and in the application of such knowledge to practice. This program offers both full-time and flexible-time options. To be admitted to the flexible-time option, applicants should be active professionals who demonstrate connections between their professional work and their proposed course program, and/or between their professional work and their proposed research.
Is this course right for you?
Our counsellors check your profile against this programme's entry criteria and tell you where you stand — before you pay anything.
What we look at
- Your subject background and grades
- Your English score, or how to get one
- Budget, including living costs
University & programme
- Listed from the catalogueNot yet staff-verified — ask us to confirm the details.
- English requirementIELTS Overall 7.0
- Study modePhD Program (Full-Time Option); PhD Program (Flexible-Time Opti…
Admissions checklist
Entry requirements
School of Graduate Studies minimum: for master's programs, an appropriate bachelor's degree, or its equivalent, with a final-year average of at least mid-B from a recognized university; for doctoral programs, an appropriate master's degree, or its equivalent, with an average of at least B+, or demonstrated comparable research competence. Some departments admit directly to the doctoral program from a bachelor's degree for highly qualified candidates (minimum average A- required). "Many graduate units have higher minimum requirements than the minimum SGS requirements." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ || Graduate-unit requirement for this degree, from the SGS Graduate Calendar 2026-27 ("LHAE: Adult Education and Community Development PhD"): • Applicants are admitted under the General Regulations of the School of Graduate Studies. Applicants must also satisfy the Department of Leadership, Higher and Adult Education's additional admission requirements stated below. • An appropriate master's degree from a recognized university in a relevant discipline or professional program, with a minimum standing equivalent to a University of Toronto B+. • In addition to responses to the Faculty questions in the online admissions application, a sample of written work is required, which will help the admissions committee to assess an applicant's readiness to succeed in rigorous coursework and to conduct systematic research for the PhD. Applicants typically submit a master's-level Major Research Paper or thesis as their sample of written work. Applicants who do not have a Major Research Paper or thesis must provide a sample of written work that showcases their ability to write clearly and analytically about issues related to adult education and community development. The admissions committee will look for evidence that applicants understand how to craft an academic document, define a research problem, devise an appropriate focus for an inquiry, assemble and analyze evidence and/or academic literatures, and develop conclusions in a rigorous manner. Examples include a master's-level course paper or professional publication. || Minimum admission average published for international applicants: MA, MEd: Mid-B in final year of bachelor’s PhD: B+ average in Master’s || Direct entry option from bachelor's to PhD? PhD: No || Is a supervisor identified before or after admission? MA, PhD: After || Is a supervisor assigned by the graduate unit or secured by the applicant? MA, PhD: Applicant || If a supervisor is identified after admission (as per question above), is admission conditional upon securing a supervisor? MA, PhD: No || International credentials: U of T publishes the degree it requires from each country through the SGS international degree equivalencies tool at https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/international-credentials-equivalencies/ · English: IELTS 7.0 (no band below 6.5); TOEFL iBT 93 · English test waiver: Normally not required if: your native language is English (first learned and still used daily); you are a Canadian citizen who studied at a Canadian university where the language of instruction is French; you obtained your admitting degree from an institution recognised by U of T where the language of instruction and examination is uniformly English; or you completed your admitting degree in Australia, the Bahamas, Barbados, Botswana, Ghana, Guyana, Hong Kong, Ireland, Jamaica, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Malta, Namibia, New Zealand, Nigeria, Papua New Guinea, Sierra Leone, Singapore, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda, the United Kingdom, the United States, Zambia or Zimbabwe. Some applicants from those countries may still be asked for proof. Tests must have been taken within the last 24 months. Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/english-language-proficiency-testing/ · GRE/GMAT: MA, MEd, PhD: not stated (School of Graduate Studies programme page; SGS also states "Some graduate units require a Graduate Records Examination (GRE). Check with your graduate unit.") · Application fee: CDN $130, non-refundable and non-transferable. "A supplementary application fee may be assessed depending upon the program to which you are applying." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ · Deposit: University of Toronto does not publish a single admission-deposit amount. Its published rule is: "Review your offer letter if it indicates that you need to make a non-refundable admission deposit. You will pay your admission deposit through ACORN... Your Offer Letter has more information about the admission deposit." Refunds are "granted only in exceptional circumstances, such as the denial of a study permit". Source: https://future.utoronto.ca/fees and https://www.registrar.utoronto.ca/fees-payments/understanding-your-fees/
The usual set for this level. Your counsellor confirms the exact list for this university.
- Academic transcripts
- English test score (IELTS/TOEFL)
- Passport copy
- Statement of purpose (optional)
- Recommendation letters (optional)
Cost & scholarships
- Tuition$30,340 CAD / year≈ $22,309 / year
- Application feeNo application fee for this programme
- Living costsVary by city — see the destination guide.
- ScholarshipsU of T publishes graduate award and funding information through the School of Graduate Studies at. Many research-stream graduate programmes at U of T are funded; funding arrangements are set by the graduate unit, not by SGS, and U of T does not publish a single figure. International doctoral students are charged the DOMESTIC tuition rate (see fee_basis)View scholarship page
Application timeline
Typical timings. Deadlines differ per university and intake.
- 1Prepare documents1–2 weeks
- 2Submit application1–3 weeks
- 3Receive offer letter2–6 weeks
- 4Apply for visa4–8 weeks
Application deadline: MA, MEd, PhD: Application Deadlines & Closing Dates (published on the SGS programme page for international applicants: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/programs/adult-education-and-community-development/)
Visa & support journey
- Offer letterFrom the university
- Visa guidanceExpert support
- Pre-departureAccommodation & travel
- Ongoing supportEven after you arrive
Student stories
Real students. Real results.
- Average rating
- 4.9
- Google reviews
- 360+
- Rated five stars
- 95%
Average rating
Google reviews
Rated five stars
“I would like to express my gratitude for the excellent assistance provided during my student visa process. The team was responsive, knowledgeable, and supportive at every stage, from document preparation to submission guidance. Their clear communication and professional approach made the process much easier and more efficient.”
1 / 8
Nihad K, 5 out of 5 stars
Every review below is a real Google review — see all of them
Frequently asked questions
How much does Adult Education and Community Development (OISE) (PhD) cost?
CAD 30,340 / year.
What English score does it need?
IELTS 7.0 overall is the score listed for this programme.
How long is it?
4 years, as listed by the university.
What are the entry requirements?
School of Graduate Studies minimum: for master's programs, an appropriate bachelor's degree, or its equivalent, with a final-year average of at least mid-B from a recognized university; for doctoral programs, an appropriate master's degree, or its equivalent, with an average of at least B+, or demonstrated comparable research competence. Some departments admit directly to the doctoral program from a bachelor's degree for highly qualified candidates (minimum average A- required). "Many graduate units have higher minimum requirements than the minimum SGS requirements." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ || Graduate-unit requirement for this degree, from the SGS Graduate Calendar 2026-27 ("LHAE: Adult Education and Community Development PhD"): • Applicants are admitted under the General Regulations of the School of Graduate Studies. Applicants must also satisfy the Department of Leadership, Higher and Adult Education's additional admission requirements stated below. • An appropriate master's degree from a recognized university in a relevant discipline or professional program, with a minimum standing equivalent to a University of Toronto B+. • In addition to responses to the Faculty questions in the online admissions application, a sample of written work is required, which will help the admissions committee to assess an applicant's readiness to succeed in rigorous coursework and to conduct systematic research for the PhD. Applicants typically submit a master's-level Major Research Paper or thesis as their sample of written work. Applicants who do not have a Major Research Paper or thesis must provide a sample of written work that showcases their ability to write clearly and analytically about issues related to adult education and community development. The admissions committee will look for evidence that applicants understand how to craft an academic document, define a research problem, devise an appropriate focus for an inquiry, assemble and analyze evidence and/or academic literatures, and develop conclusions in a rigorous manner. Examples include a master's-level course paper or professional publication. || Minimum admission average published for international applicants: MA, MEd: Mid-B in final year of bachelor’s PhD: B+ average in Master’s || Direct entry option from bachelor's to PhD? PhD: No || Is a supervisor identified before or after admission? MA, PhD: After || Is a supervisor assigned by the graduate unit or secured by the applicant? MA, PhD: Applicant || If a supervisor is identified after admission (as per question above), is admission conditional upon securing a supervisor? MA, PhD: No || International credentials: U of T publishes the degree it requires from each country through the SGS international degree equivalencies tool at https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/international-credentials-equivalencies/ · English: IELTS 7.0 (no band below 6.5); TOEFL iBT 93 · English test waiver: Normally not required if: your native language is English (first learned and still used daily); you are a Canadian citizen who studied at a Canadian university where the language of instruction is French; you obtained your admitting degree from an institution recognised by U of T where the language of instruction and examination is uniformly English; or you completed your admitting degree in Australia, the Bahamas, Barbados, Botswana, Ghana, Guyana, Hong Kong, Ireland, Jamaica, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Malta, Namibia, New Zealand, Nigeria, Papua New Guinea, Sierra Leone, Singapore, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda, the United Kingdom, the United States, Zambia or Zimbabwe. Some applicants from those countries may still be asked for proof. Tests must have been taken within the last 24 months. Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/english-language-proficiency-testing/ · GRE/GMAT: MA, MEd, PhD: not stated (School of Graduate Studies programme page; SGS also states "Some graduate units require a Graduate Records Examination (GRE). Check with your graduate unit.") · Application fee: CDN $130, non-refundable and non-transferable. "A supplementary application fee may be assessed depending upon the program to which you are applying." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ · Deposit: University of Toronto does not publish a single admission-deposit amount. Its published rule is: "Review your offer letter if it indicates that you need to make a non-refundable admission deposit. You will pay your admission deposit through ACORN... Your Offer Letter has more information about the admission deposit." Refunds are "granted only in exceptional circumstances, such as the denial of a study permit". Source: https://future.utoronto.ca/fees and https://www.registrar.utoronto.ca/fees-payments/understanding-your-fees/
Is there a scholarship?
U of T publishes graduate award and funding information through the School of Graduate Studies at. Many research-stream graduate programmes at U of T are funded; funding arrangements are set by the graduate unit, not by SGS, and U of T does not publish a single figure. International doctoral students are charged the DOMESTIC tuition rate (see fee_basis) View scholarship page
Ready to apply?
Get expert guidance and take the first step towards your global education.
Free counselling · No application fee to enquire · Reply within 24h