
Course at a Glance
- PhDDegree level
- 4 yearsDuration
- University of Toronto, St. George campus (downtown Toronto), CanadaLocation
- BiochemistryField of study
- EnglishLanguage of instruction
- University of Toronto, St. George campus (downtown Toronto)Campus
- Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)Awards
- $30,340Fees
- AvailableScholarship
About this programme
Biochemistry is the study of the molecular events underlying biological processes. Consequently, it makes fundamental contributions to all disciplines concerned with living systems.
Read more
The graduate program in Biochemistry enables students to conduct research in modern facilities, leading to the Master of Science and Doctor of Philosophy degrees in a wide variety of areas including the relationship between structure and biological function in proteins, nucleic acids, and lipids as well as complex multi-component systems such as membranes and sub-cellular organelles. Students may also be interested in the combined degree program in Medicine, Doctor of / Doctor of Philosophy (MD/PhD) . See video: Explore Graduate Programs at the Faculty of Medicine . Please note: the Department of Biochemistry will not be able to consider international applicants to the MSc BCH program.
Is this course right for you?
Our counsellors check your profile against this programme's entry criteria and tell you where you stand — before you pay anything.
What we look at
- Your subject background and grades
- Your English score, or how to get one
- Budget, including living costs
University & programme
- Listed from the catalogueNot yet staff-verified — ask us to confirm the details.
- English requirementIELTS Overall 7.0
- Study modePhD Program; PhD Program (Transfer); PhD Program (Direct-Entry)
Admissions checklist
Entry requirements
School of Graduate Studies minimum: for master's programs, an appropriate bachelor's degree, or its equivalent, with a final-year average of at least mid-B from a recognized university; for doctoral programs, an appropriate master's degree, or its equivalent, with an average of at least B+, or demonstrated comparable research competence. Some departments admit directly to the doctoral program from a bachelor's degree for highly qualified candidates (minimum average A- required). "Many graduate units have higher minimum requirements than the minimum SGS requirements." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ || Graduate-unit requirement for this degree, from the SGS Graduate Calendar 2026-27 ("Biochemistry: Biochemistry PhD"): • Applicants are admitted under the General Regulations of the School of Graduate Studies. Applicants must also satisfy the Department of Biochemistry's additional admission requirements stated below. • Applicants must arrange for personal reference forms from three individuals familiar with their academic performance. • Applicants are generally required to have an MSc degree in biochemistry or in a closely related subject area with high academic standing. • Applicants whose primary language is not English and who graduated from a non-Canadian university where the language of instruction was not English must provide Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) Internet-based test scores: minimum overall score of 4.5/6.0 with 4.5/6.0 in writing and 4.5/6.0 in speaking. • In the absence of TOEFL results, an International English Language Testing System (IELTS) score of at least 7.0 (Academic) with at least 6.5 for each component is also acceptable. || Minimum admission average published for international applicants: PhD: B+ average in Master’s A- average in the final two years of study (for direct entry PhD) || Direct entry option from bachelor's to PhD? PhD: Yes. Applicants must have an A-minus average in the final two years of study. || Is a supervisor identified before or after admission? PhD: Before. Applicants need to secure a faculty sponsor BEFORE submitting an application. Exception for Students who received their BSc degree from U of T. || Is a supervisor assigned by the graduate unit or secured by the applicant? PhD: Applicant || If a supervisor is identified after admission (as per question above), is admission conditional upon securing a supervisor? PhD: In the event that the student is unable to secure a placement in a different lab after the rotation process, they will join the lab of their faculty sponsor. || International credentials: U of T publishes the degree it requires from each country through the SGS international degree equivalencies tool at https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/international-credentials-equivalencies/ · English: IELTS 7.0 (no band below 6.5); TOEFL iBT 93 · English test waiver: Normally not required if: your native language is English (first learned and still used daily); you are a Canadian citizen who studied at a Canadian university where the language of instruction is French; you obtained your admitting degree from an institution recognised by U of T where the language of instruction and examination is uniformly English; or you completed your admitting degree in Australia, the Bahamas, Barbados, Botswana, Ghana, Guyana, Hong Kong, Ireland, Jamaica, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Malta, Namibia, New Zealand, Nigeria, Papua New Guinea, Sierra Leone, Singapore, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda, the United Kingdom, the United States, Zambia or Zimbabwe. Some applicants from those countries may still be asked for proof. Tests must have been taken within the last 24 months. Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/english-language-proficiency-testing/ · GRE/GMAT: MSc, PhD: not stated (School of Graduate Studies programme page; SGS also states "Some graduate units require a Graduate Records Examination (GRE). Check with your graduate unit.") · Application fee: CDN $130, non-refundable and non-transferable. "A supplementary application fee may be assessed depending upon the program to which you are applying." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ · Deposit: University of Toronto does not publish a single admission-deposit amount. Its published rule is: "Review your offer letter if it indicates that you need to make a non-refundable admission deposit. You will pay your admission deposit through ACORN... Your Offer Letter has more information about the admission deposit." Refunds are "granted only in exceptional circumstances, such as the denial of a study permit". Source: https://future.utoronto.ca/fees and https://www.registrar.utoronto.ca/fees-payments/understanding-your-fees/
The usual set for this level. Your counsellor confirms the exact list for this university.
- Academic transcripts
- English test score (IELTS/TOEFL)
- Passport copy
- Statement of purpose (optional)
- Recommendation letters (optional)
Cost & scholarships
- Tuition$30,340 CAD / year≈ $22,309 / year
- Living costsVary by city — see the destination guide.
- ScholarshipsU of T publishes graduate award and funding information through the School of Graduate Studies at. Many research-stream graduate programmes at U of T are funded; funding arrangements are set by the graduate unit, not by SGS, and U of T does not publish a single figure. International doctoral students are charged the DOMESTIC tuition rate (see fee_basis)View scholarship page
Application timeline
Typical timings. Deadlines differ per university and intake.
- 1Prepare documents1–2 weeks
- 2Submit application1–3 weeks
- 3Receive offer letter2–6 weeks
- 4Apply for visa4–8 weeks
Application deadline: MSc, PhD: Fall 2026 entry Fall Session (September start) early deadline: 15-Jan-2026 Fall Session (September start) regular deadline: 31-Mar-2026 (published on the SGS programme page for international applicants: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/programs/bioc…
Visa & support journey
- Offer letterFrom the university
- Visa guidanceExpert support
- Pre-departureAccommodation & travel
- Ongoing supportEven after you arrive
Student stories
Real students. Real results.
- Average rating
- 4.9
- Google reviews
- 360+
- Rated five stars
- 95%
Average rating
Google reviews
Rated five stars
“I would like to express my gratitude for the excellent assistance provided during my student visa process. The team was responsive, knowledgeable, and supportive at every stage, from document preparation to submission guidance. Their clear communication and professional approach made the process much easier and more efficient.”
1 / 8
Nihad K, 5 out of 5 stars
Every review below is a real Google review — see all of them
Frequently asked questions
How much does Biochemistry (PhD) cost?
CAD 30,340 / year.
What English score does it need?
IELTS 7.0 overall is the score listed for this programme.
How long is it?
4 years, as listed by the university.
What are the entry requirements?
School of Graduate Studies minimum: for master's programs, an appropriate bachelor's degree, or its equivalent, with a final-year average of at least mid-B from a recognized university; for doctoral programs, an appropriate master's degree, or its equivalent, with an average of at least B+, or demonstrated comparable research competence. Some departments admit directly to the doctoral program from a bachelor's degree for highly qualified candidates (minimum average A- required). "Many graduate units have higher minimum requirements than the minimum SGS requirements." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ || Graduate-unit requirement for this degree, from the SGS Graduate Calendar 2026-27 ("Biochemistry: Biochemistry PhD"): • Applicants are admitted under the General Regulations of the School of Graduate Studies. Applicants must also satisfy the Department of Biochemistry's additional admission requirements stated below. • Applicants must arrange for personal reference forms from three individuals familiar with their academic performance. • Applicants are generally required to have an MSc degree in biochemistry or in a closely related subject area with high academic standing. • Applicants whose primary language is not English and who graduated from a non-Canadian university where the language of instruction was not English must provide Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) Internet-based test scores: minimum overall score of 4.5/6.0 with 4.5/6.0 in writing and 4.5/6.0 in speaking. • In the absence of TOEFL results, an International English Language Testing System (IELTS) score of at least 7.0 (Academic) with at least 6.5 for each component is also acceptable. || Minimum admission average published for international applicants: PhD: B+ average in Master’s A- average in the final two years of study (for direct entry PhD) || Direct entry option from bachelor's to PhD? PhD: Yes. Applicants must have an A-minus average in the final two years of study. || Is a supervisor identified before or after admission? PhD: Before. Applicants need to secure a faculty sponsor BEFORE submitting an application. Exception for Students who received their BSc degree from U of T. || Is a supervisor assigned by the graduate unit or secured by the applicant? PhD: Applicant || If a supervisor is identified after admission (as per question above), is admission conditional upon securing a supervisor? PhD: In the event that the student is unable to secure a placement in a different lab after the rotation process, they will join the lab of their faculty sponsor. || International credentials: U of T publishes the degree it requires from each country through the SGS international degree equivalencies tool at https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/international-credentials-equivalencies/ · English: IELTS 7.0 (no band below 6.5); TOEFL iBT 93 · English test waiver: Normally not required if: your native language is English (first learned and still used daily); you are a Canadian citizen who studied at a Canadian university where the language of instruction is French; you obtained your admitting degree from an institution recognised by U of T where the language of instruction and examination is uniformly English; or you completed your admitting degree in Australia, the Bahamas, Barbados, Botswana, Ghana, Guyana, Hong Kong, Ireland, Jamaica, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Malta, Namibia, New Zealand, Nigeria, Papua New Guinea, Sierra Leone, Singapore, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda, the United Kingdom, the United States, Zambia or Zimbabwe. Some applicants from those countries may still be asked for proof. Tests must have been taken within the last 24 months. Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/english-language-proficiency-testing/ · GRE/GMAT: MSc, PhD: not stated (School of Graduate Studies programme page; SGS also states "Some graduate units require a Graduate Records Examination (GRE). Check with your graduate unit.") · Application fee: CDN $130, non-refundable and non-transferable. "A supplementary application fee may be assessed depending upon the program to which you are applying." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ · Deposit: University of Toronto does not publish a single admission-deposit amount. Its published rule is: "Review your offer letter if it indicates that you need to make a non-refundable admission deposit. You will pay your admission deposit through ACORN... Your Offer Letter has more information about the admission deposit." Refunds are "granted only in exceptional circumstances, such as the denial of a study permit". Source: https://future.utoronto.ca/fees and https://www.registrar.utoronto.ca/fees-payments/understanding-your-fees/
Is there a scholarship?
U of T publishes graduate award and funding information through the School of Graduate Studies at. Many research-stream graduate programmes at U of T are funded; funding arrangements are set by the graduate unit, not by SGS, and U of T does not publish a single figure. International doctoral students are charged the DOMESTIC tuition rate (see fee_basis) View scholarship page
Ready to apply?
Get expert guidance and take the first step towards your global education.
Free counselling · No application fee to enquire · Reply within 24h