
Course at a Glance
- MasterDegree level
- 5 sessions full-time (typical registration sequen…Duration
- University of Toronto, St. George campus (downtown Toronto), CanadaLocation
- Architecture, Landscape, and DesignField of study
- EnglishLanguage of instruction
- University of Toronto, St. George campus (downtown Toronto)Campus
- Master of Visual Studies (MVS)Awards
- $49,510Fees
- AvailableScholarship
About this programme
The John H. Daniels Faculty of Architecture, Landscape, and Design offers the Master of Visual Studies (MVS) degree program.
Read more
This two-year, full-time professional program has two fields: • Curatorial Studies • Studio. The MVS Curatorial Studies experience evolves within a rich environment structured around historical and contemporary approaches to curatorial practices, in conjunction with developments in the visual art, theory, and critical writing. In particular, MVS Curatorial Studies students will focus on the presentational challenges arising from complex modes of visual expression—from object to installation, from text and image combination, temporal as well as audio and new electronic media—within the increasingly dominant forces of the culture industry. The course of study is designed to offer students ample opportunity for the in-depth development of the subject and contents of the Graduating Exhibition, its full realization for public presentation, and the Qualifying Paper in the form of a Catalogue Essay. The MVS Studio experience evolves within a rich environment structured around new approaches to visual art production, art theory, critical writing, and professional practice. The MVS Studio is concerned with the increasingly complex modes of visual expression through combinations of text, image, movement, sound, and dynamic new electronic media. Accordingly, the participants will examine contemporary art practice and theory through core courses that will give them
Is this course right for you?
Our counsellors check your profile against this programme's entry criteria and tell you where you stand — before you pay anything.
What we look at
- Your subject background and grades
- Your English score, or how to get one
- Budget, including living costs
University & programme
- Listed from the catalogueNot yet staff-verified — ask us to confirm the details.
- English requirementIELTS Overall 7.0
- Study modeField: Curatorial Studies
Admissions checklist
Entry requirements
School of Graduate Studies minimum: for master's programs, an appropriate bachelor's degree, or its equivalent, with a final-year average of at least mid-B from a recognized university; for doctoral programs, an appropriate master's degree, or its equivalent, with an average of at least B+, or demonstrated comparable research competence. Some departments admit directly to the doctoral program from a bachelor's degree for highly qualified candidates (minimum average A- required). "Many graduate units have higher minimum requirements than the minimum SGS requirements." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ || Graduate-unit requirement for this degree, from the SGS Graduate Calendar 2026-27 ("Architecture, Landscape, and Design: Visual Studies MVS"): • Applicants are admitted under the General Regulations of the School of Graduate Studies. Applicants must also satisfy the Faculty of Architecture, Landscape, and Design's additional admission requirements stated below. • An appropriate bachelor's degree with significant coursework in humanities and cultural theory from a recognized university, or an appropriate BFA degree from a recognized university. • Overall average of at least a B+. • Applications must include: • artist's statement that includes a description of the proposed body of work in curatorial to be undertaken during the two-year program; • full curriculum vitae (CV) with details of exhibition, professional activity, and education; • documentation of recent curatorial work; • three letters of recommendation; • a critical writing sample; • transcripts; • a portfolio of previous work dependent on the field of future study. • Applicants must present a portfolio with documentation of exhibitions including exhibition brochures, curatorial essays, announcement cards, and/or catalogues from curatorial work. • Applicants whose primary language is not English and who graduated from a university where the language of instruction and examination was not English must demonstrate proficiency in English. See General Regulations section 4.3 for requirements. || Minimum admission average published for international applicants: MVS: Mid-B in final year of Bachelor’s || Direct entry option from bachelor's to PhD? MVS: not stated || Is a supervisor identified before or after admission? MVS: not stated || Is a supervisor assigned by the graduate unit or secured by the applicant? MVS: not stated || If a supervisor is identified after admission (as per question above), is admission conditional upon securing a supervisor? MVS: not stated || International credentials: U of T publishes the degree it requires from each country through the SGS international degree equivalencies tool at https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/international-credentials-equivalencies/ · English: IELTS 7.0 (no band below 6.5); TOEFL iBT 93 · English test waiver: Normally not required if: your native language is English (first learned and still used daily); you are a Canadian citizen who studied at a Canadian university where the language of instruction is French; you obtained your admitting degree from an institution recognised by U of T where the language of instruction and examination is uniformly English; or you completed your admitting degree in Australia, the Bahamas, Barbados, Botswana, Ghana, Guyana, Hong Kong, Ireland, Jamaica, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Malta, Namibia, New Zealand, Nigeria, Papua New Guinea, Sierra Leone, Singapore, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda, the United Kingdom, the United States, Zambia or Zimbabwe. Some applicants from those countries may still be asked for proof. Tests must have been taken within the last 24 months. Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/english-language-proficiency-testing/ · GRE/GMAT: MVS: not stated (School of Graduate Studies programme page; SGS also states "Some graduate units require a Graduate Records Examination (GRE). Check with your graduate unit.") · Application fee: CDN $130, non-refundable and non-transferable. "A supplementary application fee may be assessed depending upon the program to which you are applying." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ · Deposit: University of Toronto does not publish a single admission-deposit amount. Its published rule is: "Review your offer letter if it indicates that you need to make a non-refundable admission deposit. You will pay your admission deposit through ACORN... Your Offer Letter has more information about the admission deposit." Refunds are "granted only in exceptional circumstances, such as the denial of a study permit". Source: https://future.utoronto.ca/fees and https://www.registrar.utoronto.ca/fees-payments/understanding-your-fees/
The usual set for this level. Your counsellor confirms the exact list for this university.
- Academic transcripts
- English test score (IELTS/TOEFL)
- Passport copy
- Statement of purpose (optional)
- Recommendation letters (optional)
Cost & scholarships
- Tuition$49,510 CAD / year≈ $36,404 / year
- Living costsVary by city — see the destination guide.
- ScholarshipsU of T publishes graduate award and funding information through the School of Graduate Studies at. Many research-stream graduate programmes at U of T are funded; funding arrangements are set by the graduate unit, not by SGS, and U of T does not publish a single figure. International doctoral students are charged the DOMESTIC tuition rate (see fee_basis)View scholarship page
Application timeline
Typical timings. Deadlines differ per university and intake.
- 1Prepare documents1–2 weeks
- 2Submit application1–3 weeks
- 3Receive offer letter2–6 weeks
- 4Apply for visa4–8 weeks
Application deadline: MVS: Fall 2026 Entry 05-Jan-2026 (published on the SGS programme page for international applicants: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/programs/visual-studies/)
Visa & support journey
- Offer letterFrom the university
- Visa guidanceExpert support
- Pre-departureAccommodation & travel
- Ongoing supportEven after you arrive
Student stories
Real students. Real results.
- Average rating
- 4.9
- Google reviews
- 360+
- Rated five stars
- 95%
Average rating
Google reviews
Rated five stars
“I would like to express my gratitude for the excellent assistance provided during my student visa process. The team was responsive, knowledgeable, and supportive at every stage, from document preparation to submission guidance. Their clear communication and professional approach made the process much easier and more efficient.”
1 / 8
Nihad K, 5 out of 5 stars
Every review below is a real Google review — see all of them
Frequently asked questions
How much does Visual Studies (MVS) cost?
CAD 49,510 / year.
What English score does it need?
IELTS 7.0 overall is the score listed for this programme.
How long is it?
5 sessions full-time (typical registration sequen…, as listed by the university.
What are the entry requirements?
School of Graduate Studies minimum: for master's programs, an appropriate bachelor's degree, or its equivalent, with a final-year average of at least mid-B from a recognized university; for doctoral programs, an appropriate master's degree, or its equivalent, with an average of at least B+, or demonstrated comparable research competence. Some departments admit directly to the doctoral program from a bachelor's degree for highly qualified candidates (minimum average A- required). "Many graduate units have higher minimum requirements than the minimum SGS requirements." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ || Graduate-unit requirement for this degree, from the SGS Graduate Calendar 2026-27 ("Architecture, Landscape, and Design: Visual Studies MVS"): • Applicants are admitted under the General Regulations of the School of Graduate Studies. Applicants must also satisfy the Faculty of Architecture, Landscape, and Design's additional admission requirements stated below. • An appropriate bachelor's degree with significant coursework in humanities and cultural theory from a recognized university, or an appropriate BFA degree from a recognized university. • Overall average of at least a B+. • Applications must include: • artist's statement that includes a description of the proposed body of work in curatorial to be undertaken during the two-year program; • full curriculum vitae (CV) with details of exhibition, professional activity, and education; • documentation of recent curatorial work; • three letters of recommendation; • a critical writing sample; • transcripts; • a portfolio of previous work dependent on the field of future study. • Applicants must present a portfolio with documentation of exhibitions including exhibition brochures, curatorial essays, announcement cards, and/or catalogues from curatorial work. • Applicants whose primary language is not English and who graduated from a university where the language of instruction and examination was not English must demonstrate proficiency in English. See General Regulations section 4.3 for requirements. || Minimum admission average published for international applicants: MVS: Mid-B in final year of Bachelor’s || Direct entry option from bachelor's to PhD? MVS: not stated || Is a supervisor identified before or after admission? MVS: not stated || Is a supervisor assigned by the graduate unit or secured by the applicant? MVS: not stated || If a supervisor is identified after admission (as per question above), is admission conditional upon securing a supervisor? MVS: not stated || International credentials: U of T publishes the degree it requires from each country through the SGS international degree equivalencies tool at https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/international-credentials-equivalencies/ · English: IELTS 7.0 (no band below 6.5); TOEFL iBT 93 · English test waiver: Normally not required if: your native language is English (first learned and still used daily); you are a Canadian citizen who studied at a Canadian university where the language of instruction is French; you obtained your admitting degree from an institution recognised by U of T where the language of instruction and examination is uniformly English; or you completed your admitting degree in Australia, the Bahamas, Barbados, Botswana, Ghana, Guyana, Hong Kong, Ireland, Jamaica, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Malta, Namibia, New Zealand, Nigeria, Papua New Guinea, Sierra Leone, Singapore, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda, the United Kingdom, the United States, Zambia or Zimbabwe. Some applicants from those countries may still be asked for proof. Tests must have been taken within the last 24 months. Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/english-language-proficiency-testing/ · GRE/GMAT: MVS: not stated (School of Graduate Studies programme page; SGS also states "Some graduate units require a Graduate Records Examination (GRE). Check with your graduate unit.") · Application fee: CDN $130, non-refundable and non-transferable. "A supplementary application fee may be assessed depending upon the program to which you are applying." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ · Deposit: University of Toronto does not publish a single admission-deposit amount. Its published rule is: "Review your offer letter if it indicates that you need to make a non-refundable admission deposit. You will pay your admission deposit through ACORN... Your Offer Letter has more information about the admission deposit." Refunds are "granted only in exceptional circumstances, such as the denial of a study permit". Source: https://future.utoronto.ca/fees and https://www.registrar.utoronto.ca/fees-payments/understanding-your-fees/
Is there a scholarship?
U of T publishes graduate award and funding information through the School of Graduate Studies at. Many research-stream graduate programmes at U of T are funded; funding arrangements are set by the graduate unit, not by SGS, and U of T does not publish a single figure. International doctoral students are charged the DOMESTIC tuition rate (see fee_basis) View scholarship page
Ready to apply?
Get expert guidance and take the first step towards your global education.
Free counselling · No application fee to enquire · Reply within 24h