
Sustainability Management (MScSM) - Mississauga campus
Course at a Glance
- MasterDegree level
- 5 sessions full-time (typical registration sequen…Duration
- University of Toronto Mississauga (UTM), CanadaLocation
- Management & InnovationField of study
- EnglishLanguage of instruction
- University of Toronto Mississauga (UTM)Campus
- Master of Science in Sustainability Management (MScSM)Awards
- $36,520Fees
- AvailableScholarship
About this programme
The Master of Science in Sustainability Management (MScSM) program provides the training for graduates to act outside the traditional disciplinary black boxes; integrate knowledge from management, social, and natural sciences to address sustainability issues; and make contributions and lasting advances in sustainability management. The program provides a strong foundation in sustainability management while offering an opportunity to specialize in a management or science concentration.
Read more
The program is designed for students from diverse backgrounds such as management science, social science, natural science, and engineering. The program was developed in consultation with leaders and future employers in business, non-profit, research, and government organizations. The MScSM degree is for individuals who want to pursue management careers in sustainability-related divisions and organizations. Students may also be interested in combined degree programs: • Environmental Management (Major), Honours Bachelor of Arts / Sustainability Management, Master of Science (HBA/MScSM) • Environmental Management (Specialist), Honours Bachelor of Arts / Sustainability Management, Master of Science (HBA/MScSM) • Environmental Science (Major), Honours Bachelor of Science / Sustainability Management, Master of Science (HBSc/MScSM) • Environmental Science (Specialist), Honours Bachelor of Science / Sustainability Management, Master of
Is this course right for you?
Our counsellors check your profile against this programme's entry criteria and tell you where you stand — before you pay anything.
What we look at
- Your subject background and grades
- Your English score, or how to get one
- Budget, including living costs
University & programme
- Listed from the catalogueNot yet staff-verified — ask us to confirm the details.
- English requirementIELTS Overall 7.0
- Study modeMScSM; Concentration: Management
Admissions checklist
Entry requirements
School of Graduate Studies minimum: for master's programs, an appropriate bachelor's degree, or its equivalent, with a final-year average of at least mid-B from a recognized university; for doctoral programs, an appropriate master's degree, or its equivalent, with an average of at least B+, or demonstrated comparable research competence. Some departments admit directly to the doctoral program from a bachelor's degree for highly qualified candidates (minimum average A- required). "Many graduate units have higher minimum requirements than the minimum SGS requirements." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ || Graduate-unit requirement for this degree, from the SGS Graduate Calendar 2026-27 ("Management & Innovation: Sustainability Management MScSM"): • Applicants are admitted under the General Regulations of the School of Graduate Studies. Applicants must also satisfy the Institute for Management & Innovation's additional admission requirements stated below. • An appropriate undergraduate degree from a recognized university in any area of natural science, environmental science, social science, management, and engineering with a standing equivalent to at least a mid-B in the final year of the program. • Successful completion of an undergraduate statistics or mathematics course (0.5 full-course equivalent [FCE] or equivalent). • Resumé/curriculum vitae (CV). • Letter of intent outlining the applicant's interest in sustainability issues (750 words). || Minimum admission average published for international applicants: MScSM: mid B (3.0/4.0) || Direct entry option from bachelor's to PhD? MScSM: not stated || Is a supervisor identified before or after admission? MScSM: not stated || Is a supervisor assigned by the graduate unit or secured by the applicant? MScSM: not stated || If a supervisor is identified after admission (as per question above), is admission conditional upon securing a supervisor? MScSM: not stated || International credentials: U of T publishes the degree it requires from each country through the SGS international degree equivalencies tool at https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/international-credentials-equivalencies/ · English: IELTS 7.0 (no band below 6.5); TOEFL iBT 93 · English test waiver: Normally not required if: your native language is English (first learned and still used daily); you are a Canadian citizen who studied at a Canadian university where the language of instruction is French; you obtained your admitting degree from an institution recognised by U of T where the language of instruction and examination is uniformly English; or you completed your admitting degree in Australia, the Bahamas, Barbados, Botswana, Ghana, Guyana, Hong Kong, Ireland, Jamaica, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Malta, Namibia, New Zealand, Nigeria, Papua New Guinea, Sierra Leone, Singapore, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda, the United Kingdom, the United States, Zambia or Zimbabwe. Some applicants from those countries may still be asked for proof. Tests must have been taken within the last 24 months. Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/english-language-proficiency-testing/ · GRE/GMAT: MScSM: IELTS/TOEFL (School of Graduate Studies programme page; SGS also states "Some graduate units require a Graduate Records Examination (GRE). Check with your graduate unit.") · Application fee: CDN $130, non-refundable and non-transferable. "A supplementary application fee may be assessed depending upon the program to which you are applying." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ · Deposit: University of Toronto does not publish a single admission-deposit amount. Its published rule is: "Review your offer letter if it indicates that you need to make a non-refundable admission deposit. You will pay your admission deposit through ACORN... Your Offer Letter has more information about the admission deposit." Refunds are "granted only in exceptional circumstances, such as the denial of a study permit". Source: https://future.utoronto.ca/fees and https://www.registrar.utoronto.ca/fees-payments/understanding-your-fees/
The usual set for this level. Your counsellor confirms the exact list for this university.
- Academic transcripts
- English test score (IELTS/TOEFL)
- Passport copy
- Statement of purpose (optional)
- Recommendation letters (optional)
Cost & scholarships
- Tuition$36,520 CAD / year≈ $26,853 / year
- Living costsVary by city — see the destination guide.
- ScholarshipsU of T publishes graduate award and funding information through the School of Graduate Studies at. Many research-stream graduate programmes at U of T are funded; funding arrangements are set by the graduate unit, not by SGS, and U of T does not publish a single figure. International doctoral students are charged the DOMESTIC tuition rate (see fee_basis)View scholarship page
Application timeline
Typical timings. Deadlines differ per university and intake.
- 1Prepare documents1–2 weeks
- 2Submit application1–3 weeks
- 3Receive offer letter2–6 weeks
- 4Apply for visa4–8 weeks
Application deadline: The School of Graduate Studies programme page prints no date and refers applicants to the graduate unit's own deadline page: https://www.utm.utoronto.ca/mscsm/admissions/mscsm-general-information-process . Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/programs/sus…
Visa & support journey
- Offer letterFrom the university
- Visa guidanceExpert support
- Pre-departureAccommodation & travel
- Ongoing supportEven after you arrive
Student stories
Real students. Real results.
- Average rating
- 4.9
- Google reviews
- 360+
- Rated five stars
- 95%
Average rating
Google reviews
Rated five stars
“I would like to express my gratitude for the excellent assistance provided during my student visa process. The team was responsive, knowledgeable, and supportive at every stage, from document preparation to submission guidance. Their clear communication and professional approach made the process much easier and more efficient.”
1 / 8
Nihad K, 5 out of 5 stars
Every review below is a real Google review — see all of them
Frequently asked questions
How much does Sustainability Management (MScSM) - Mississauga campus cost?
CAD 36,520 / year.
What English score does it need?
IELTS 7.0 overall is the score listed for this programme.
How long is it?
5 sessions full-time (typical registration sequen…, as listed by the university.
What are the entry requirements?
School of Graduate Studies minimum: for master's programs, an appropriate bachelor's degree, or its equivalent, with a final-year average of at least mid-B from a recognized university; for doctoral programs, an appropriate master's degree, or its equivalent, with an average of at least B+, or demonstrated comparable research competence. Some departments admit directly to the doctoral program from a bachelor's degree for highly qualified candidates (minimum average A- required). "Many graduate units have higher minimum requirements than the minimum SGS requirements." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ || Graduate-unit requirement for this degree, from the SGS Graduate Calendar 2026-27 ("Management & Innovation: Sustainability Management MScSM"): • Applicants are admitted under the General Regulations of the School of Graduate Studies. Applicants must also satisfy the Institute for Management & Innovation's additional admission requirements stated below. • An appropriate undergraduate degree from a recognized university in any area of natural science, environmental science, social science, management, and engineering with a standing equivalent to at least a mid-B in the final year of the program. • Successful completion of an undergraduate statistics or mathematics course (0.5 full-course equivalent [FCE] or equivalent). • Resumé/curriculum vitae (CV). • Letter of intent outlining the applicant's interest in sustainability issues (750 words). || Minimum admission average published for international applicants: MScSM: mid B (3.0/4.0) || Direct entry option from bachelor's to PhD? MScSM: not stated || Is a supervisor identified before or after admission? MScSM: not stated || Is a supervisor assigned by the graduate unit or secured by the applicant? MScSM: not stated || If a supervisor is identified after admission (as per question above), is admission conditional upon securing a supervisor? MScSM: not stated || International credentials: U of T publishes the degree it requires from each country through the SGS international degree equivalencies tool at https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/international-credentials-equivalencies/ · English: IELTS 7.0 (no band below 6.5); TOEFL iBT 93 · English test waiver: Normally not required if: your native language is English (first learned and still used daily); you are a Canadian citizen who studied at a Canadian university where the language of instruction is French; you obtained your admitting degree from an institution recognised by U of T where the language of instruction and examination is uniformly English; or you completed your admitting degree in Australia, the Bahamas, Barbados, Botswana, Ghana, Guyana, Hong Kong, Ireland, Jamaica, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Malta, Namibia, New Zealand, Nigeria, Papua New Guinea, Sierra Leone, Singapore, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda, the United Kingdom, the United States, Zambia or Zimbabwe. Some applicants from those countries may still be asked for proof. Tests must have been taken within the last 24 months. Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/english-language-proficiency-testing/ · GRE/GMAT: MScSM: IELTS/TOEFL (School of Graduate Studies programme page; SGS also states "Some graduate units require a Graduate Records Examination (GRE). Check with your graduate unit.") · Application fee: CDN $130, non-refundable and non-transferable. "A supplementary application fee may be assessed depending upon the program to which you are applying." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ · Deposit: University of Toronto does not publish a single admission-deposit amount. Its published rule is: "Review your offer letter if it indicates that you need to make a non-refundable admission deposit. You will pay your admission deposit through ACORN... Your Offer Letter has more information about the admission deposit." Refunds are "granted only in exceptional circumstances, such as the denial of a study permit". Source: https://future.utoronto.ca/fees and https://www.registrar.utoronto.ca/fees-payments/understanding-your-fees/
Is there a scholarship?
U of T publishes graduate award and funding information through the School of Graduate Studies at. Many research-stream graduate programmes at U of T are funded; funding arrangements are set by the graduate unit, not by SGS, and U of T does not publish a single figure. International doctoral students are charged the DOMESTIC tuition rate (see fee_basis) View scholarship page
Ready to apply?
Get expert guidance and take the first step towards your global education.
Free counselling · No application fee to enquire · Reply within 24h