
Course at a Glance
- BachelorDegree level
- 4 yearsDuration
- Campus principal, CanadaLocation
- English (Faculty of Arts)Field of study
- EnglishLanguage of instruction
- Campus principalCampus
- Bachelor of Arts (B.A.)Awards
- $54,000Fees
- AvailableScholarship
About this programme
Entry to Honours is by application, normally after two terms in a Departmental program, including at least 18 credits of English. The Faculty of Arts requires that all students admitted to Honours programs complete a second program minor in addition to their Honours program.
Read more
Admission to the Honours program is limited to a small number of students with excellent records. The minimum CGPA for application to the Honours program is 3.30. Students with a CGPA lower than 3.3 and at or above 3.0 (but with the requisite 3.5 program GPA) may consult the Director of the Honours program for special permission to apply. Students with a program GPA lower than 3.5 and at or above 3.3 (but with the requisite CGPA of 3.3) may also consult the Director of the Honours program for special permission to apply. In neither instance is admission guaranteed. After admission into the Honours program, the student is required to maintain a CGPA at a level set by the Faculty for graduation with Honours and a program GPA at the level set by the Department. The Honours program in English requires 54 credits. Students intending to apply for Honours should plan to complete as many of the specific requirements of their option as possible within the first two years. With the written approval of an adviser, up to 9 credits may be taken outside the Department. All Honours students must complete at least 6 of their complementary credits at the 500 level. Ideally, 500-level seminars chosen will be relevant to the area of the student's independent study in the Honours Essay course ( ENGL 491D1 Honours Essay. / ENGL 491D2 Honours Essay. ), taken without exception in the final year of the program. The Honours Essay is first planned in consultation with a supervisor at the time of application to the Honours program; it is then guided and evaluated by that supervisor during the completion of ENGL 491. Graduation with Honours requires 54 credits of English, a minimum mark of B+ on the Honours Essay, a minimum CGPA of 3.00, and a minimum program GPA of 3.50. Graduation with First Class Honours requires a mark of A on the Honours Essay, a minimum CGPA of 3.50, and a minimum program GPA of 3.70.
Is this course right for you?
Our counsellors check your profile against this programme's entry criteria and tell you where you stand — before you pay anything.
What we look at
- Your subject background and grades
- Your English score, or how to get one
- Budget, including living costs
University & programme
- Listed from the catalogueNot yet staff-verified — ask us to confirm the details.
- English requirementIELTS Overall 6.5
- Study modefull-time
Admissions checklist
Entry requirements
McGill's published basis for applicants from high schools outside Canada: completion of the credentials that lead to university admission in your country of study (studies in applied programs or at vocational or technical high schools are not normally considered). The minimum is the equivalent of a B+ average and most programs have higher requirements; the high school transcript is reviewed with emphasis on yearly averages and results in prerequisite subjects, which must have been completed in the last two years of high school. Prerequisites: Arts: no specific prerequisites. Curriculum-specific rules (IB Diploma, A-Levels / AS / CAPE, French Baccalaureate, and others) are published at https://www.mcgill.ca/undergraduate-admissions/apply/requirements/international. Source: https://www.mcgill.ca/undergraduate-admissions/apply/requirements/international/other · English: IELTS 6.5 (no band below 6.0); TOEFL iBT 90; PTE Academic 65; Duolingo English Test 125 · English test waiver: No English test is required if any of the following applies (McGill's published exemptions): you have lived and attended high school and/or university for at least four consecutive years in a country where English is the acknowledged primary language (McGill lists: American Samoa, Anguilla, Antigua & Barbuda, Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, Botswana, British Virgin Islands, Canada (including Quebec), Cayman Islands, Dominica, Falkland Islands, Fiji, Gambia, Ghana, Gibraltar, Grenada, Guam, Guyana, Ireland, Jamaica, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Malta, Marshall Islands, Montserrat, Namibia, New Zealand, Nigeria, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Solomon Islands, South Africa, St. Helena, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent & the Grenadines, Tanzania, Trinidad & Tobago, Turks & Caicos Islands, Uganda, United Kingdom, USA, US Virgin Islands, Zambia, Zimbabwe); or you completed a DEC at a French CEGEP in Quebec plus the Quebec Secondary V diploma, or a DEC at an English CEGEP in Quebec; or the International French Baccalaureate (BFI, American or British section) or the former Option Internationale (OIB); or IB Group 1 English (Language A: Literature, Language A: Language and Literature, or Literature and Performance) with a 5 or better; or English as Language 1 or Language 2 in the European Baccalaureate; or British Curriculum A-Level English with a final grade of C or better; or GCSE / IGCSE / GCE O-Level English, English Language, English First Language or English as a Second Language with a final grade of B (or 5) or better. Otherwise proof is required even if you consider English your first language or attended an English-medium school in a non-English country. Other accepted proofs: Cambridge C2 Proficiency (grade C or better), Cambridge C1 Advanced (grade B or better), CAEL 70 overall with components of 60 or better, McGill Certificate of Proficiency in English. Institutional versions of tests are not accepted and the IELTS One Skill Retake is not accepted. The Admissions Office may request proof from any applicant. Source: https://www.mcgill.ca/undergraduate-admissions/apply/english-proficiency · Application fee: CAD 140.16, non-refundable, payable by credit card when the online application is submitted. A second application (same term and level) costs nothing extra; each further application costs CAD 140.16. Source: https://www.mcgill.ca/undergraduate-admissions/apply · Deposit: CAD 1,000 confirmation deposit for international students (CAD 500 for Canadian citizens and permanent residents), paid when accepting the offer of admission in the McGill Applicant Portal. International students must accept and pay it to access the official letter of acceptance needed for the CAQ and study permit applications. Refund terms are not stated on this page. Source: https://www.mcgill.ca/accepted/nextsteps/accepting
The usual set for this level. Your counsellor confirms the exact list for this university.
- Academic transcripts
- English test score (IELTS/TOEFL)
- Passport copy
- Statement of purpose (optional)
- Recommendation letters (optional)
Cost & scholarships
- Tuition$54,000 CAD / year≈ $39,706 / year
- Application feeNo application fee for this programme
- Living costsVary by city — see the destination guide.
- ScholarshipsMcGill centrally-administered entrance scholarships are open to first-time university students entering a full-time undergraduate degree programme, regardless of citizenship: a one-year scholarship of $3,000 (all applicants automatically considered if they meet the minimum academic requirements; no separate application) and Major Entrance Scholarships of $3,000, $5,000 or $10,000 renewable (the $12,000 level is only for Canadian citizens and permanent residents), which need a separate application by January 21. Transfer, Mature, Diploma, Exchange, Special, Part-time and Visiting students are not eligible. Faculty-specific entrance scholarships also exist in Music, Dental Medicine and Oral Health Sciences, Law and Medicine. SourcesView scholarship page
Application timeline
Typical timings. Deadlines differ per university and intake.
- 1Prepare documents1–2 weeks
- 2Submit application1–3 weeks
- 3Receive offer letter2–6 weeks
- 4Apply for visa4–8 weeks
Application deadline: Fall (September) entry. High school applicants from outside Canada (International Baccalaureate, A-Levels and other international high school diplomas) and U.S. high schools: application January 15, supporting documents March 1; Major Entrance Scholarshi…
Visa & support journey
- Offer letterFrom the university
- Visa guidanceExpert support
- Pre-departureAccommodation & travel
- Ongoing supportEven after you arrive
Student stories
Real students. Real results.
- Average rating
- 4.9
- Google reviews
- 360+
- Rated five stars
- 95%
Average rating
Google reviews
Rated five stars
“I would like to express my gratitude for the excellent assistance provided during my student visa process. The team was responsive, knowledgeable, and supportive at every stage, from document preparation to submission guidance. Their clear communication and professional approach made the process much easier and more efficient.”
1 / 8
Nihad K, 5 out of 5 stars
Every review below is a real Google review — see all of them
Frequently asked questions
How much does English - Literature Honours (B.A.) cost?
CAD 54,000 / year.
What English score does it need?
IELTS 6.5 overall is the score listed for this programme.
How long is it?
4 years, as listed by the university.
What are the entry requirements?
McGill's published basis for applicants from high schools outside Canada: completion of the credentials that lead to university admission in your country of study (studies in applied programs or at vocational or technical high schools are not normally considered). The minimum is the equivalent of a B+ average and most programs have higher requirements; the high school transcript is reviewed with emphasis on yearly averages and results in prerequisite subjects, which must have been completed in the last two years of high school. Prerequisites: Arts: no specific prerequisites. Curriculum-specific rules (IB Diploma, A-Levels / AS / CAPE, French Baccalaureate, and others) are published at https://www.mcgill.ca/undergraduate-admissions/apply/requirements/international. Source: https://www.mcgill.ca/undergraduate-admissions/apply/requirements/international/other · English: IELTS 6.5 (no band below 6.0); TOEFL iBT 90; PTE Academic 65; Duolingo English Test 125 · English test waiver: No English test is required if any of the following applies (McGill's published exemptions): you have lived and attended high school and/or university for at least four consecutive years in a country where English is the acknowledged primary language (McGill lists: American Samoa, Anguilla, Antigua & Barbuda, Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, Botswana, British Virgin Islands, Canada (including Quebec), Cayman Islands, Dominica, Falkland Islands, Fiji, Gambia, Ghana, Gibraltar, Grenada, Guam, Guyana, Ireland, Jamaica, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Malta, Marshall Islands, Montserrat, Namibia, New Zealand, Nigeria, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Solomon Islands, South Africa, St. Helena, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent & the Grenadines, Tanzania, Trinidad & Tobago, Turks & Caicos Islands, Uganda, United Kingdom, USA, US Virgin Islands, Zambia, Zimbabwe); or you completed a DEC at a French CEGEP in Quebec plus the Quebec Secondary V diploma, or a DEC at an English CEGEP in Quebec; or the International French Baccalaureate (BFI, American or British section) or the former Option Internationale (OIB); or IB Group 1 English (Language A: Literature, Language A: Language and Literature, or Literature and Performance) with a 5 or better; or English as Language 1 or Language 2 in the European Baccalaureate; or British Curriculum A-Level English with a final grade of C or better; or GCSE / IGCSE / GCE O-Level English, English Language, English First Language or English as a Second Language with a final grade of B (or 5) or better. Otherwise proof is required even if you consider English your first language or attended an English-medium school in a non-English country. Other accepted proofs: Cambridge C2 Proficiency (grade C or better), Cambridge C1 Advanced (grade B or better), CAEL 70 overall with components of 60 or better, McGill Certificate of Proficiency in English. Institutional versions of tests are not accepted and the IELTS One Skill Retake is not accepted. The Admissions Office may request proof from any applicant. Source: https://www.mcgill.ca/undergraduate-admissions/apply/english-proficiency · Application fee: CAD 140.16, non-refundable, payable by credit card when the online application is submitted. A second application (same term and level) costs nothing extra; each further application costs CAD 140.16. Source: https://www.mcgill.ca/undergraduate-admissions/apply · Deposit: CAD 1,000 confirmation deposit for international students (CAD 500 for Canadian citizens and permanent residents), paid when accepting the offer of admission in the McGill Applicant Portal. International students must accept and pay it to access the official letter of acceptance needed for the CAQ and study permit applications. Refund terms are not stated on this page. Source: https://www.mcgill.ca/accepted/nextsteps/accepting
Is there a scholarship?
McGill centrally-administered entrance scholarships are open to first-time university students entering a full-time undergraduate degree programme, regardless of citizenship: a one-year scholarship of $3,000 (all applicants automatically considered if they meet the minimum academic requirements; no separate application) and Major Entrance Scholarships of $3,000, $5,000 or $10,000 renewable (the $12,000 level is only for Canadian citizens and permanent residents), which need a separate application by January 21. Transfer, Mature, Diploma, Exchange, Special, Part-time and Visiting students are not eligible. Faculty-specific entrance scholarships also exist in Music, Dental Medicine and Oral Health Sciences, Law and Medicine. Sources View scholarship page
Ready to apply?
Get expert guidance and take the first step towards your global education.
Free counselling · No application fee to enquire · Reply within 24h