
Course at a Glance
- MasterDegree level
- 5 sessions full-time (typical registration sequen…Duration
- University of Toronto, St. George campus (downtown Toronto), CanadaLocation
- Global Affairs and Public PolicyField of study
- EnglishLanguage of instruction
- University of Toronto, St. George campus (downtown Toronto)Campus
- Master of Public Policy (MPP)Awards
- $52,960Fees
- AvailableScholarship
About this programme
The Master of Public Policy (MPP) is an intensive, full-time two-year professional program. Founded in 2006, it continues the University of Toronto’s internationally recognized tradition of academic excellence and combines it with practical, real-world policy experience.
Read more
Students graduate with a strong foundation of analytical and quantitative skills, core policy concepts, and overall management and leadership skills. A mandatory and comprehensive policy internship program means that all MPP students at the Munk School of Global Affairs and Public Policy have the opportunity to transfer classroom theory into practical experience developing and implementing policy. Internship positions are available in a variety of organizations. Please note that admissions selection to the MPP program is competitive and meeting this minimum requirement does not guarantee admission. Final-year grades are based on the last 5.0 full-course equivalents or 10.0 half-course equivalents of 300 and 400 level courses. Students may also be interested in the combined degree program in Law, Juris Doctor/Master of Public Policy (JD/MPP) .
Is this course right for you?
Our counsellors check your profile against this programme's entry criteria and tell you where you stand — before you pay anything.
What we look at
- Your subject background and grades
- Your English score, or how to get one
- Budget, including living costs
University & programme
- Listed from the catalogueNot yet staff-verified — ask us to confirm the details.
- English requirementIELTS Overall 7.0
- Study modeMaster of Public Policy
Admissions checklist
Entry requirements
School of Graduate Studies minimum: for master's programs, an appropriate bachelor's degree, or its equivalent, with a final-year average of at least mid-B from a recognized university; for doctoral programs, an appropriate master's degree, or its equivalent, with an average of at least B+, or demonstrated comparable research competence. Some departments admit directly to the doctoral program from a bachelor's degree for highly qualified candidates (minimum average A- required). "Many graduate units have higher minimum requirements than the minimum SGS requirements." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ || Graduate-unit requirement for this degree, from the SGS Graduate Calendar 2026-27 ("Global Affairs and Public Policy: Public Policy MPP"): • Applicants are admitted under the General Regulations of the School of Graduate Studies. Applicants must also satisfy the Munk School of Global Affairs and Public Policy's additional admission requirements stated below. • A four-year bachelor's degree (or equivalent as recognized by the University of Toronto). • A minimum cumulative grade point average (CGPA) of a B and a minimum GPA of a B+ standing in the final year of undergraduate studies (3.3 out of a possible 4.0 grading scale). Admissions selection to the MPP program is competitive and meeting this minimum requirement does not guarantee admission. Final-year grades are based on the last 5.0 full-course equivalents (FCEs) or 10.0 half-course equivalents. • Applicants whose primary language is not English and who graduated from a university where the language of instruction and examination was not English must demonstrate proficiency in English. See General Regulations section 4.3 for requirements. • International applicants must submit a Graduate Record Examination (GRE) (general) score. • International applicants must also submit a translation of transcripts from non-English speaking universities. • The Munk School offers an in-depth Math-Statistics as well as an Economics Prep course for students prior to starting Year 1 of the MPP. Details regarding the prep course are available to incoming students in the summer before Year 1. While participation is voluntary, students are encouraged to attend. All incoming students are required to complete the Math-Stats diagnostic. || Minimum admission average published for international applicants: MPP: CGPA: B (3.0/4.0); Final year GPA: B+ (3.3/4.0) || Direct entry option from bachelor's to PhD? MPP: not stated || Is a supervisor identified before or after admission? MPP: not stated || Is a supervisor assigned by the graduate unit or secured by the applicant? MPP: not stated || If a supervisor is identified after admission (as per question above), is admission conditional upon securing a supervisor? MPP: not stated || International credentials: U of T publishes the degree it requires from each country through the SGS international degree equivalencies tool at https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/international-credentials-equivalencies/ · English: IELTS 7.0 (no band below 6.5); TOEFL iBT 93 · English test waiver: Normally not required if: your native language is English (first learned and still used daily); you are a Canadian citizen who studied at a Canadian university where the language of instruction is French; you obtained your admitting degree from an institution recognised by U of T where the language of instruction and examination is uniformly English; or you completed your admitting degree in Australia, the Bahamas, Barbados, Botswana, Ghana, Guyana, Hong Kong, Ireland, Jamaica, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Malta, Namibia, New Zealand, Nigeria, Papua New Guinea, Sierra Leone, Singapore, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda, the United Kingdom, the United States, Zambia or Zimbabwe. Some applicants from those countries may still be asked for proof. Tests must have been taken within the last 24 months. Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/english-language-proficiency-testing/ · GRE/GMAT: MPP: GRE if undergraduate degree is outside of Canada (School of Graduate Studies programme page; SGS also states "Some graduate units require a Graduate Records Examination (GRE). Check with your graduate unit.") · Application fee: CDN $130, non-refundable and non-transferable. "A supplementary application fee may be assessed depending upon the program to which you are applying." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ · Deposit: University of Toronto does not publish a single admission-deposit amount. Its published rule is: "Review your offer letter if it indicates that you need to make a non-refundable admission deposit. You will pay your admission deposit through ACORN... Your Offer Letter has more information about the admission deposit." Refunds are "granted only in exceptional circumstances, such as the denial of a study permit". Source: https://future.utoronto.ca/fees and https://www.registrar.utoronto.ca/fees-payments/understanding-your-fees/
The usual set for this level. Your counsellor confirms the exact list for this university.
- Academic transcripts
- English test score (IELTS/TOEFL)
- Passport copy
- Statement of purpose (optional)
- Recommendation letters (optional)
Cost & scholarships
- Tuition$52,960 CAD / year≈ $38,941 / year
- Living costsVary by city — see the destination guide.
- ScholarshipsU of T publishes graduate award and funding information through the School of Graduate Studies at. Many research-stream graduate programmes at U of T are funded; funding arrangements are set by the graduate unit, not by SGS, and U of T does not publish a single figure. International doctoral students are charged the DOMESTIC tuition rate (see fee_basis)View scholarship page
Application timeline
Typical timings. Deadlines differ per university and intake.
- 1Prepare documents1–2 weeks
- 2Submit application1–3 weeks
- 3Receive offer letter2–6 weeks
- 4Apply for visa4–8 weeks
Application deadline: MPP: Fall 2025 entry 27-Jan-2025 (published on the SGS programme page for international applicants: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/programs/public-policy/)
Visa & support journey
- Offer letterFrom the university
- Visa guidanceExpert support
- Pre-departureAccommodation & travel
- Ongoing supportEven after you arrive
Student stories
Real students. Real results.
- Average rating
- 4.9
- Google reviews
- 360+
- Rated five stars
- 95%
Average rating
Google reviews
Rated five stars
“I would like to express my gratitude for the excellent assistance provided during my student visa process. The team was responsive, knowledgeable, and supportive at every stage, from document preparation to submission guidance. Their clear communication and professional approach made the process much easier and more efficient.”
1 / 8
Nihad K, 5 out of 5 stars
Every review below is a real Google review — see all of them
Frequently asked questions
How much does Public Policy (MPP) cost?
CAD 52,960 / year.
What English score does it need?
IELTS 7.0 overall is the score listed for this programme.
How long is it?
5 sessions full-time (typical registration sequen…, as listed by the university.
What are the entry requirements?
School of Graduate Studies minimum: for master's programs, an appropriate bachelor's degree, or its equivalent, with a final-year average of at least mid-B from a recognized university; for doctoral programs, an appropriate master's degree, or its equivalent, with an average of at least B+, or demonstrated comparable research competence. Some departments admit directly to the doctoral program from a bachelor's degree for highly qualified candidates (minimum average A- required). "Many graduate units have higher minimum requirements than the minimum SGS requirements." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ || Graduate-unit requirement for this degree, from the SGS Graduate Calendar 2026-27 ("Global Affairs and Public Policy: Public Policy MPP"): • Applicants are admitted under the General Regulations of the School of Graduate Studies. Applicants must also satisfy the Munk School of Global Affairs and Public Policy's additional admission requirements stated below. • A four-year bachelor's degree (or equivalent as recognized by the University of Toronto). • A minimum cumulative grade point average (CGPA) of a B and a minimum GPA of a B+ standing in the final year of undergraduate studies (3.3 out of a possible 4.0 grading scale). Admissions selection to the MPP program is competitive and meeting this minimum requirement does not guarantee admission. Final-year grades are based on the last 5.0 full-course equivalents (FCEs) or 10.0 half-course equivalents. • Applicants whose primary language is not English and who graduated from a university where the language of instruction and examination was not English must demonstrate proficiency in English. See General Regulations section 4.3 for requirements. • International applicants must submit a Graduate Record Examination (GRE) (general) score. • International applicants must also submit a translation of transcripts from non-English speaking universities. • The Munk School offers an in-depth Math-Statistics as well as an Economics Prep course for students prior to starting Year 1 of the MPP. Details regarding the prep course are available to incoming students in the summer before Year 1. While participation is voluntary, students are encouraged to attend. All incoming students are required to complete the Math-Stats diagnostic. || Minimum admission average published for international applicants: MPP: CGPA: B (3.0/4.0); Final year GPA: B+ (3.3/4.0) || Direct entry option from bachelor's to PhD? MPP: not stated || Is a supervisor identified before or after admission? MPP: not stated || Is a supervisor assigned by the graduate unit or secured by the applicant? MPP: not stated || If a supervisor is identified after admission (as per question above), is admission conditional upon securing a supervisor? MPP: not stated || International credentials: U of T publishes the degree it requires from each country through the SGS international degree equivalencies tool at https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/international-credentials-equivalencies/ · English: IELTS 7.0 (no band below 6.5); TOEFL iBT 93 · English test waiver: Normally not required if: your native language is English (first learned and still used daily); you are a Canadian citizen who studied at a Canadian university where the language of instruction is French; you obtained your admitting degree from an institution recognised by U of T where the language of instruction and examination is uniformly English; or you completed your admitting degree in Australia, the Bahamas, Barbados, Botswana, Ghana, Guyana, Hong Kong, Ireland, Jamaica, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Malta, Namibia, New Zealand, Nigeria, Papua New Guinea, Sierra Leone, Singapore, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda, the United Kingdom, the United States, Zambia or Zimbabwe. Some applicants from those countries may still be asked for proof. Tests must have been taken within the last 24 months. Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/english-language-proficiency-testing/ · GRE/GMAT: MPP: GRE if undergraduate degree is outside of Canada (School of Graduate Studies programme page; SGS also states "Some graduate units require a Graduate Records Examination (GRE). Check with your graduate unit.") · Application fee: CDN $130, non-refundable and non-transferable. "A supplementary application fee may be assessed depending upon the program to which you are applying." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ · Deposit: University of Toronto does not publish a single admission-deposit amount. Its published rule is: "Review your offer letter if it indicates that you need to make a non-refundable admission deposit. You will pay your admission deposit through ACORN... Your Offer Letter has more information about the admission deposit." Refunds are "granted only in exceptional circumstances, such as the denial of a study permit". Source: https://future.utoronto.ca/fees and https://www.registrar.utoronto.ca/fees-payments/understanding-your-fees/
Is there a scholarship?
U of T publishes graduate award and funding information through the School of Graduate Studies at. Many research-stream graduate programmes at U of T are funded; funding arrangements are set by the graduate unit, not by SGS, and U of T does not publish a single figure. International doctoral students are charged the DOMESTIC tuition rate (see fee_basis) View scholarship page
Ready to apply?
Get expert guidance and take the first step towards your global education.
Free counselling · No application fee to enquire · Reply within 24h