
Course at a Glance
- MasterDegree level
- 4 sessions full-time (typical registration sequen…Duration
- University of Toronto, St. George campus (downtown Toronto), CanadaLocation
- Social Justice EducationField of study
- EnglishLanguage of instruction
- University of Toronto, St. George campus (downtown Toronto)Campus
- Master of Education (MEd)Awards
- $51,040Fees
- AvailableScholarship
About this programme
Social Justice Education is a multi- and interdisciplinary graduate program leading to the Master of Arts (MA) , Master of Education (MEd) , Doctor of Education (EdD) , and Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) degrees. The program is offered by the Department of Social Justice Education at the Ontario Institute for Studies in Education (OISE), providing students with critical understandings of the social, historical, cultural, political, economic, and ethical contexts of education, broadly conceived.
Read more
Based on the diverse intellectual traditions of the humanities and social sciences, the department is committed to multi- and interdisciplinary studies in education, with a focus on equity and social justice in educational studies from a variety of perspectives including history, philosophy, sociology, and social justice education. Through humanities, social sciences, and/or social justice education, faculty and students may pursue studies including anti-racism, critical race theory, and Indigenous studies; aesthetics, media, and communication; feminist and gender studies; class and poverty studies; francophone studies; post-colonial, diaspora, and transnational studies; queer and disability studies; cultural and philosophical contexts in education; and democracy, ethics, and social class and/or may follow traditional disciplinary inquiry. The department’s vision is to enable students to explore such questions as “What was, what is, and what should be the relationship between education and
Is this course right for you?
Our counsellors check your profile against this programme's entry criteria and tell you where you stand — before you pay anything.
What we look at
- Your subject background and grades
- Your English score, or how to get one
- Budget, including living costs
University & programme
- Listed from the catalogueNot yet staff-verified — ask us to confirm the details.
- English requirementIELTS Overall 7.0
- Study modeMEd Program (Coursework Only Option); MEd Program (Coursework P…
Admissions checklist
Entry requirements
School of Graduate Studies minimum: for master's programs, an appropriate bachelor's degree, or its equivalent, with a final-year average of at least mid-B from a recognized university; for doctoral programs, an appropriate master's degree, or its equivalent, with an average of at least B+, or demonstrated comparable research competence. Some departments admit directly to the doctoral program from a bachelor's degree for highly qualified candidates (minimum average A- required). "Many graduate units have higher minimum requirements than the minimum SGS requirements." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ || Graduate-unit requirement for this degree, from the SGS Graduate Calendar 2026-27 ("Social Justice Education: Social Justice Education MEd"): • Applicants are admitted under the General Regulations of the School of Graduate Studies. Applicants must also satisfy the department's additional admission requirements stated below. • Admission to the MEd program requires an appropriate bachelor's degree from a recognized university, with a standing equivalent to a University of Toronto mid-B or better in the final year. • Applicants must have the equivalent of 12 months of professional experience. • Applicants must submit the following through the online application system ; incomplete applications may be subject to processing delays or rejection: • A careful response to all Faculty questions in the online admissions application that demonstrates intellectual interests and concerns relevant to the humanities, or social sciences, and social justice in education as well as reasons for undertaking a program in the department. Include a statement of preference for one or more faculty members whose research is best matched to the student's research interests. • Two letters of reference, preferably from university instructors with whom the applicant has studied or worked; the second letter of reference may be written by a work or community-based supervisor. • At least one sample of written work that demonstrates engagement with the humanities or social sciences, and social justice in education. • Resumé that provides clear and complete information about the applicant's work or field experience related to their proposed studies. || Minimum admission average published for international applicants: MA, MEd: mid-B or better in the final year EdD, PhD: B+ or better in master’s courses || Is a supervisor identified before or after admission? EdD, MA, MEd, PhD: Supervisor interest identified || Is a supervisor assigned by the graduate unit or secured by the applicant? MA: Advisor assigned likely to be supervisor. After coursework completed, advisor either signs to be supervisor or helps student find thesis supervisor MEd: Advisor assigned for non-thesis M.Ed. Admission. No supervisor required for all coursework M.Ed. EdD, PhD: Advisor assigned likely to be supervisor. After coursework completed, advisor either signs to be supervisor or helps student find thesis supervisor || If a supervisor is identified after admission (as per question above), is admission conditional upon securing a supervisor? EdD, MA, MEd, PhD: No || International credentials: U of T publishes the degree it requires from each country through the SGS international degree equivalencies tool at https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/international-credentials-equivalencies/ · English: IELTS 7.0 (no band below 6.5); TOEFL iBT 93 · English test waiver: Normally not required if: your native language is English (first learned and still used daily); you are a Canadian citizen who studied at a Canadian university where the language of instruction is French; you obtained your admitting degree from an institution recognised by U of T where the language of instruction and examination is uniformly English; or you completed your admitting degree in Australia, the Bahamas, Barbados, Botswana, Ghana, Guyana, Hong Kong, Ireland, Jamaica, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Malta, Namibia, New Zealand, Nigeria, Papua New Guinea, Sierra Leone, Singapore, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda, the United Kingdom, the United States, Zambia or Zimbabwe. Some applicants from those countries may still be asked for proof. Tests must have been taken within the last 24 months. Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/english-language-proficiency-testing/ · GRE/GMAT: EdD, MA, MEd, PhD: not stated (School of Graduate Studies programme page; SGS also states "Some graduate units require a Graduate Records Examination (GRE). Check with your graduate unit.") · Application fee: CDN $130, non-refundable and non-transferable. "A supplementary application fee may be assessed depending upon the program to which you are applying." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ · Deposit: University of Toronto does not publish a single admission-deposit amount. Its published rule is: "Review your offer letter if it indicates that you need to make a non-refundable admission deposit. You will pay your admission deposit through ACORN... Your Offer Letter has more information about the admission deposit." Refunds are "granted only in exceptional circumstances, such as the denial of a study permit". Source: https://future.utoronto.ca/fees and https://www.registrar.utoronto.ca/fees-payments/understanding-your-fees/
The usual set for this level. Your counsellor confirms the exact list for this university.
- Academic transcripts
- English test score (IELTS/TOEFL)
- Passport copy
- Statement of purpose (optional)
- Recommendation letters (optional)
Cost & scholarships
- Tuition$51,040 CAD / year≈ $37,529 / year
- Living costsVary by city — see the destination guide.
- ScholarshipsU of T publishes graduate award and funding information through the School of Graduate Studies at. Many research-stream graduate programmes at U of T are funded; funding arrangements are set by the graduate unit, not by SGS, and U of T does not publish a single figure. International doctoral students are charged the DOMESTIC tuition rate (see fee_basis)View scholarship page
Application timeline
Typical timings. Deadlines differ per university and intake.
- 1Prepare documents1–2 weeks
- 2Submit application1–3 weeks
- 3Receive offer letter2–6 weeks
- 4Apply for visa4–8 weeks
Application deadline: Application payment deadline: EdD, MA, MEd, PhD: Application Deadlines & Closing Dates
Visa & support journey
- Offer letterFrom the university
- Visa guidanceExpert support
- Pre-departureAccommodation & travel
- Ongoing supportEven after you arrive
Student stories
Real students. Real results.
- Average rating
- 4.9
- Google reviews
- 360+
- Rated five stars
- 95%
Average rating
Google reviews
Rated five stars
“I would like to express my gratitude for the excellent assistance provided during my student visa process. The team was responsive, knowledgeable, and supportive at every stage, from document preparation to submission guidance. Their clear communication and professional approach made the process much easier and more efficient.”
1 / 8
Nihad K, 5 out of 5 stars
Every review below is a real Google review — see all of them
Frequently asked questions
How much does Social Justice Education (MEd) cost?
CAD 51,040 / year.
What English score does it need?
IELTS 7.0 overall is the score listed for this programme.
How long is it?
4 sessions full-time (typical registration sequen…, as listed by the university.
What are the entry requirements?
School of Graduate Studies minimum: for master's programs, an appropriate bachelor's degree, or its equivalent, with a final-year average of at least mid-B from a recognized university; for doctoral programs, an appropriate master's degree, or its equivalent, with an average of at least B+, or demonstrated comparable research competence. Some departments admit directly to the doctoral program from a bachelor's degree for highly qualified candidates (minimum average A- required). "Many graduate units have higher minimum requirements than the minimum SGS requirements." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ || Graduate-unit requirement for this degree, from the SGS Graduate Calendar 2026-27 ("Social Justice Education: Social Justice Education MEd"): • Applicants are admitted under the General Regulations of the School of Graduate Studies. Applicants must also satisfy the department's additional admission requirements stated below. • Admission to the MEd program requires an appropriate bachelor's degree from a recognized university, with a standing equivalent to a University of Toronto mid-B or better in the final year. • Applicants must have the equivalent of 12 months of professional experience. • Applicants must submit the following through the online application system ; incomplete applications may be subject to processing delays or rejection: • A careful response to all Faculty questions in the online admissions application that demonstrates intellectual interests and concerns relevant to the humanities, or social sciences, and social justice in education as well as reasons for undertaking a program in the department. Include a statement of preference for one or more faculty members whose research is best matched to the student's research interests. • Two letters of reference, preferably from university instructors with whom the applicant has studied or worked; the second letter of reference may be written by a work or community-based supervisor. • At least one sample of written work that demonstrates engagement with the humanities or social sciences, and social justice in education. • Resumé that provides clear and complete information about the applicant's work or field experience related to their proposed studies. || Minimum admission average published for international applicants: MA, MEd: mid-B or better in the final year EdD, PhD: B+ or better in master’s courses || Is a supervisor identified before or after admission? EdD, MA, MEd, PhD: Supervisor interest identified || Is a supervisor assigned by the graduate unit or secured by the applicant? MA: Advisor assigned likely to be supervisor. After coursework completed, advisor either signs to be supervisor or helps student find thesis supervisor MEd: Advisor assigned for non-thesis M.Ed. Admission. No supervisor required for all coursework M.Ed. EdD, PhD: Advisor assigned likely to be supervisor. After coursework completed, advisor either signs to be supervisor or helps student find thesis supervisor || If a supervisor is identified after admission (as per question above), is admission conditional upon securing a supervisor? EdD, MA, MEd, PhD: No || International credentials: U of T publishes the degree it requires from each country through the SGS international degree equivalencies tool at https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/international-credentials-equivalencies/ · English: IELTS 7.0 (no band below 6.5); TOEFL iBT 93 · English test waiver: Normally not required if: your native language is English (first learned and still used daily); you are a Canadian citizen who studied at a Canadian university where the language of instruction is French; you obtained your admitting degree from an institution recognised by U of T where the language of instruction and examination is uniformly English; or you completed your admitting degree in Australia, the Bahamas, Barbados, Botswana, Ghana, Guyana, Hong Kong, Ireland, Jamaica, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Malta, Namibia, New Zealand, Nigeria, Papua New Guinea, Sierra Leone, Singapore, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda, the United Kingdom, the United States, Zambia or Zimbabwe. Some applicants from those countries may still be asked for proof. Tests must have been taken within the last 24 months. Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/english-language-proficiency-testing/ · GRE/GMAT: EdD, MA, MEd, PhD: not stated (School of Graduate Studies programme page; SGS also states "Some graduate units require a Graduate Records Examination (GRE). Check with your graduate unit.") · Application fee: CDN $130, non-refundable and non-transferable. "A supplementary application fee may be assessed depending upon the program to which you are applying." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ · Deposit: University of Toronto does not publish a single admission-deposit amount. Its published rule is: "Review your offer letter if it indicates that you need to make a non-refundable admission deposit. You will pay your admission deposit through ACORN... Your Offer Letter has more information about the admission deposit." Refunds are "granted only in exceptional circumstances, such as the denial of a study permit". Source: https://future.utoronto.ca/fees and https://www.registrar.utoronto.ca/fees-payments/understanding-your-fees/
Is there a scholarship?
U of T publishes graduate award and funding information through the School of Graduate Studies at. Many research-stream graduate programmes at U of T are funded; funding arrangements are set by the graduate unit, not by SGS, and U of T does not publish a single figure. International doctoral students are charged the DOMESTIC tuition rate (see fee_basis) View scholarship page
Ready to apply?
Get expert guidance and take the first step towards your global education.
Free counselling · No application fee to enquire · Reply within 24h