
Course at a Glance
- MasterDegree level
- 4 sessions full-time (typical registration sequen…Duration
- University of Toronto, St. George campus (downtown Toronto), CanadaLocation
- Museum StudiesField of study
- EnglishLanguage of instruction
- University of Toronto, St. George campus (downtown Toronto)Campus
- Master of Museum Studies (MMSt)Awards
- $46,080Fees
- AvailableScholarship
About this programme
The Master of Museum Studies (MMSt) is a two-year professional program that brings together researchers and practitioners to offer students the theory and professional experience they need to play a role in a wide variety of cultural institutions, from museums and galleries to science centres and heritage sites. Museum Studies faculty members participate in ground-breaking, interdisciplinary research in areas covering history, anthropology, visual studies, communication, education, sociology and food studies.
Read more
The program’s instructors include directors, managers, curators, conservators, interpretive planners and education specialists at museum and heritage institutions. The Faculty of Information also provides a combined degree program option whereby students may register concurrently in the Master of Information and Master of Museum Studies programs.
Is this course right for you?
Our counsellors check your profile against this programme's entry criteria and tell you where you stand — before you pay anything.
What we look at
- Your subject background and grades
- Your English score, or how to get one
- Budget, including living costs
University & programme
- Listed from the catalogueNot yet staff-verified — ask us to confirm the details.
- English requirementIELTS Overall 7.0
- Study modeMMSt Program (Coursework Option); MMSt Program (Thesis Option)
Admissions checklist
Entry requirements
School of Graduate Studies minimum: for master's programs, an appropriate bachelor's degree, or its equivalent, with a final-year average of at least mid-B from a recognized university; for doctoral programs, an appropriate master's degree, or its equivalent, with an average of at least B+, or demonstrated comparable research competence. Some departments admit directly to the doctoral program from a bachelor's degree for highly qualified candidates (minimum average A- required). "Many graduate units have higher minimum requirements than the minimum SGS requirements." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ || Graduate-unit requirement for this degree, from the SGS Graduate Calendar 2026-27 ("Information: Museum Studies MMSt (Effective Fall 2026)"): • Applicants are admitted under the General Regulations of the School of Graduate Studies. Application deadlines are available on the Master of Museum Studies web page . Applicants must also satisfy the Faculty's additional admission requirements stated below. Meeting the minimum requirements does not guarantee admission. • An appropriate bachelor's degree with an overall grade of at least a B+ average (grade point average 3.3) from a recognized university. • Demonstrated previous experience in museums or related cultural organizations will also be considered. Admission to this program is competitive. • All incoming graduate students must have a good command of English. All applicants educated outside Canada whose primary language is not English must demonstrate proficiency in the English language. This requirement is a condition of admission and must be met before an offer of admission is made. The English language requirement may be satisfied using one of the following tests: • Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) with the following minimum scores: 5.5/6.0 overall with 4.5/6.0 in speaking and 5.5/6.0 in writing. • International English Language Testing System (IELTS): a minimum required score of 7.5 overall with 7.5 on the writing section and 7.0 on the speaking section. • Certificate of Proficiency in English (COPE): a minimum required score of 95 overall with 41 on the writing component, 27 on the reading component, and 27 on the listening component. • English Language Program, U of T School of Continuing Studies with an overall score of A in Academic English L || Minimum admission average published for international applicants: MMSt: B (successful applicants generally hold a minimum of a B+) || International credentials: U of T publishes the degree it requires from each country through the SGS international degree equivalencies tool at https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/international-credentials-equivalencies/ · English: IELTS 7.0 (no band below 6.5); TOEFL iBT 93 · English test waiver: Normally not required if: your native language is English (first learned and still used daily); you are a Canadian citizen who studied at a Canadian university where the language of instruction is French; you obtained your admitting degree from an institution recognised by U of T where the language of instruction and examination is uniformly English; or you completed your admitting degree in Australia, the Bahamas, Barbados, Botswana, Ghana, Guyana, Hong Kong, Ireland, Jamaica, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Malta, Namibia, New Zealand, Nigeria, Papua New Guinea, Sierra Leone, Singapore, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda, the United Kingdom, the United States, Zambia or Zimbabwe. Some applicants from those countries may still be asked for proof. Tests must have been taken within the last 24 months. Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/english-language-proficiency-testing/ · GRE/GMAT: MMSt: not stated (School of Graduate Studies programme page; SGS also states "Some graduate units require a Graduate Records Examination (GRE). Check with your graduate unit.") · Application fee: CDN $130, non-refundable and non-transferable. "A supplementary application fee may be assessed depending upon the program to which you are applying." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ · Deposit: University of Toronto does not publish a single admission-deposit amount. Its published rule is: "Review your offer letter if it indicates that you need to make a non-refundable admission deposit. You will pay your admission deposit through ACORN... Your Offer Letter has more information about the admission deposit." Refunds are "granted only in exceptional circumstances, such as the denial of a study permit". Source: https://future.utoronto.ca/fees and https://www.registrar.utoronto.ca/fees-payments/understanding-your-fees/
The usual set for this level. Your counsellor confirms the exact list for this university.
- Academic transcripts
- English test score (IELTS/TOEFL)
- Passport copy
- Statement of purpose (optional)
- Recommendation letters (optional)
Cost & scholarships
- Tuition$46,080 CAD / year≈ $33,882 / year
- Living costsVary by city — see the destination guide.
- ScholarshipsU of T publishes graduate award and funding information through the School of Graduate Studies at. Many research-stream graduate programmes at U of T are funded; funding arrangements are set by the graduate unit, not by SGS, and U of T does not publish a single figure. International doctoral students are charged the DOMESTIC tuition rate (see fee_basis)View scholarship page
Application timeline
Typical timings. Deadlines differ per university and intake.
- 1Prepare documents1–2 weeks
- 2Submit application1–3 weeks
- 3Receive offer letter2–6 weeks
- 4Apply for visa4–8 weeks
Application deadline: MMSt: Fall 2026 entry 31-Jan-2026 (published on the SGS programme page for international applicants: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/programs/museum-studies/)
Visa & support journey
- Offer letterFrom the university
- Visa guidanceExpert support
- Pre-departureAccommodation & travel
- Ongoing supportEven after you arrive
Student stories
Real students. Real results.
- Average rating
- 4.9
- Google reviews
- 360+
- Rated five stars
- 95%
Average rating
Google reviews
Rated five stars
“I would like to express my gratitude for the excellent assistance provided during my student visa process. The team was responsive, knowledgeable, and supportive at every stage, from document preparation to submission guidance. Their clear communication and professional approach made the process much easier and more efficient.”
1 / 8
Nihad K, 5 out of 5 stars
Every review below is a real Google review — see all of them
Frequently asked questions
How much does Museum Studies (MMSt) cost?
CAD 46,080 / year.
What English score does it need?
IELTS 7.0 overall is the score listed for this programme.
How long is it?
4 sessions full-time (typical registration sequen…, as listed by the university.
What are the entry requirements?
School of Graduate Studies minimum: for master's programs, an appropriate bachelor's degree, or its equivalent, with a final-year average of at least mid-B from a recognized university; for doctoral programs, an appropriate master's degree, or its equivalent, with an average of at least B+, or demonstrated comparable research competence. Some departments admit directly to the doctoral program from a bachelor's degree for highly qualified candidates (minimum average A- required). "Many graduate units have higher minimum requirements than the minimum SGS requirements." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ || Graduate-unit requirement for this degree, from the SGS Graduate Calendar 2026-27 ("Information: Museum Studies MMSt (Effective Fall 2026)"): • Applicants are admitted under the General Regulations of the School of Graduate Studies. Application deadlines are available on the Master of Museum Studies web page . Applicants must also satisfy the Faculty's additional admission requirements stated below. Meeting the minimum requirements does not guarantee admission. • An appropriate bachelor's degree with an overall grade of at least a B+ average (grade point average 3.3) from a recognized university. • Demonstrated previous experience in museums or related cultural organizations will also be considered. Admission to this program is competitive. • All incoming graduate students must have a good command of English. All applicants educated outside Canada whose primary language is not English must demonstrate proficiency in the English language. This requirement is a condition of admission and must be met before an offer of admission is made. The English language requirement may be satisfied using one of the following tests: • Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) with the following minimum scores: 5.5/6.0 overall with 4.5/6.0 in speaking and 5.5/6.0 in writing. • International English Language Testing System (IELTS): a minimum required score of 7.5 overall with 7.5 on the writing section and 7.0 on the speaking section. • Certificate of Proficiency in English (COPE): a minimum required score of 95 overall with 41 on the writing component, 27 on the reading component, and 27 on the listening component. • English Language Program, U of T School of Continuing Studies with an overall score of A in Academic English L || Minimum admission average published for international applicants: MMSt: B (successful applicants generally hold a minimum of a B+) || International credentials: U of T publishes the degree it requires from each country through the SGS international degree equivalencies tool at https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/international-credentials-equivalencies/ · English: IELTS 7.0 (no band below 6.5); TOEFL iBT 93 · English test waiver: Normally not required if: your native language is English (first learned and still used daily); you are a Canadian citizen who studied at a Canadian university where the language of instruction is French; you obtained your admitting degree from an institution recognised by U of T where the language of instruction and examination is uniformly English; or you completed your admitting degree in Australia, the Bahamas, Barbados, Botswana, Ghana, Guyana, Hong Kong, Ireland, Jamaica, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Malta, Namibia, New Zealand, Nigeria, Papua New Guinea, Sierra Leone, Singapore, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda, the United Kingdom, the United States, Zambia or Zimbabwe. Some applicants from those countries may still be asked for proof. Tests must have been taken within the last 24 months. Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/english-language-proficiency-testing/ · GRE/GMAT: MMSt: not stated (School of Graduate Studies programme page; SGS also states "Some graduate units require a Graduate Records Examination (GRE). Check with your graduate unit.") · Application fee: CDN $130, non-refundable and non-transferable. "A supplementary application fee may be assessed depending upon the program to which you are applying." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ · Deposit: University of Toronto does not publish a single admission-deposit amount. Its published rule is: "Review your offer letter if it indicates that you need to make a non-refundable admission deposit. You will pay your admission deposit through ACORN... Your Offer Letter has more information about the admission deposit." Refunds are "granted only in exceptional circumstances, such as the denial of a study permit". Source: https://future.utoronto.ca/fees and https://www.registrar.utoronto.ca/fees-payments/understanding-your-fees/
Is there a scholarship?
U of T publishes graduate award and funding information through the School of Graduate Studies at. Many research-stream graduate programmes at U of T are funded; funding arrangements are set by the graduate unit, not by SGS, and U of T does not publish a single figure. International doctoral students are charged the DOMESTIC tuition rate (see fee_basis) View scholarship page
Ready to apply?
Get expert guidance and take the first step towards your global education.
Free counselling · No application fee to enquire · Reply within 24h