
Course at a Glance
- MasterDegree level
- 3 sessions full-time (typical registration sequen…Duration
- University of Toronto, St. George campus (downtown Toronto), CanadaLocation
- EnvironmentField of study
- EnglishLanguage of instruction
- University of Toronto, St. George campus (downtown Toronto)Campus
- Master of Environment and Sustainability (MES)Awards
- $33,460Fees
- AvailableScholarship
About this programme
The School of the Environment offers the Master of Environment and Sustainability (MES) degree program. The MES is a full-time, 12-month program that responds to the growing need of society to understand and develop solutions to the environmental and human well-being challenges facing us in the 21st century.
Read more
Upon graduation, MES graduates will have acquired a transdisciplinary perspective on environmental issues, learned to use methodologies and tools relevant to environmental protection and sustainability solutions, and will be well prepared for a variety of careers in the private and public sectors, or for further studies at the doctoral level. Students undertake research leading to the preparation of a thesis, in conjunction with four core courses, and three electives that are organized in four concentrations (Adaptation and Resilience, Global Change Science, Social Sustainability, and the Sustainability Transition). Following completion of their thesis, students also present their work at an annual Research Showcase. By working closely with their individual thesis advisor and advisory committees on an extended project, students can anticipate a strong and effective learning environment. To encourage transdisciplinary perspectives, each MES student will have an advisory committee comprised of a primary supervisor and two other faculty members from at least two disciplines or departments.
Is this course right for you?
Our counsellors check your profile against this programme's entry criteria and tell you where you stand — before you pay anything.
What we look at
- Your subject background and grades
- Your English score, or how to get one
- Budget, including living costs
University & programme
- Listed from the catalogueNot yet staff-verified — ask us to confirm the details.
- English requirementIELTS Overall 7.0
- Study modeMaster of Environment and Sustainability
Admissions checklist
Entry requirements
School of Graduate Studies minimum: for master's programs, an appropriate bachelor's degree, or its equivalent, with a final-year average of at least mid-B from a recognized university; for doctoral programs, an appropriate master's degree, or its equivalent, with an average of at least B+, or demonstrated comparable research competence. Some departments admit directly to the doctoral program from a bachelor's degree for highly qualified candidates (minimum average A- required). "Many graduate units have higher minimum requirements than the minimum SGS requirements." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ || Graduate-unit requirement for this degree, from the SGS Graduate Calendar 2026-27 ("Environment: Environment and Sustainability MES"): • Applicants are admitted under the General Regulations of the School of Graduate Studies. Applicants must also satisfy the School of the Environment's additional admission requirements stated below. • An appropriate honours bachelor's degree that includes at least a minor in environment, sustainability, or a closely related field from a recognized university with a minimum standing equivalent to at least a University of Toronto B+ in each of the final two years of study. • Applicants should have completed a combination of major(s) and minor(s) spanning more than one discipline or have equivalent interdisciplinary experience. • A letter of intent. • Resumé or CV. • Two letters of reference. || Minimum admission average published for international applicants: MES: B+ in final two years of study || Is a supervisor identified before or after admission? MES: Before || Is a supervisor assigned by the graduate unit or secured by the applicant? MES: Applicants should secure prior to applying but final assignment is by the Graduate Unit || International credentials: U of T publishes the degree it requires from each country through the SGS international degree equivalencies tool at https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/international-credentials-equivalencies/ · English: IELTS 7.0 (no band below 6.5); TOEFL iBT 93 · English test waiver: Normally not required if: your native language is English (first learned and still used daily); you are a Canadian citizen who studied at a Canadian university where the language of instruction is French; you obtained your admitting degree from an institution recognised by U of T where the language of instruction and examination is uniformly English; or you completed your admitting degree in Australia, the Bahamas, Barbados, Botswana, Ghana, Guyana, Hong Kong, Ireland, Jamaica, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Malta, Namibia, New Zealand, Nigeria, Papua New Guinea, Sierra Leone, Singapore, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda, the United Kingdom, the United States, Zambia or Zimbabwe. Some applicants from those countries may still be asked for proof. Tests must have been taken within the last 24 months. Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/english-language-proficiency-testing/ · GRE/GMAT: MES: not stated (School of Graduate Studies programme page; SGS also states "Some graduate units require a Graduate Records Examination (GRE). Check with your graduate unit.") · Application fee: CDN $130, non-refundable and non-transferable. "A supplementary application fee may be assessed depending upon the program to which you are applying." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ · Deposit: University of Toronto does not publish a single admission-deposit amount. Its published rule is: "Review your offer letter if it indicates that you need to make a non-refundable admission deposit. You will pay your admission deposit through ACORN... Your Offer Letter has more information about the admission deposit." Refunds are "granted only in exceptional circumstances, such as the denial of a study permit". Source: https://future.utoronto.ca/fees and https://www.registrar.utoronto.ca/fees-payments/understanding-your-fees/
The usual set for this level. Your counsellor confirms the exact list for this university.
- Academic transcripts
- English test score (IELTS/TOEFL)
- Passport copy
- Statement of purpose (optional)
- Recommendation letters (optional)
Cost & scholarships
- Tuition$33,460 CAD / year≈ $24,603 / year
- Living costsVary by city — see the destination guide.
- ScholarshipsU of T publishes graduate award and funding information through the School of Graduate Studies at. Many research-stream graduate programmes at U of T are funded; funding arrangements are set by the graduate unit, not by SGS, and U of T does not publish a single figure. International doctoral students are charged the DOMESTIC tuition rate (see fee_basis)View scholarship page
Application timeline
Typical timings. Deadlines differ per university and intake.
- 1Prepare documents1–2 weeks
- 2Submit application1–3 weeks
- 3Receive offer letter2–6 weeks
- 4Apply for visa4–8 weeks
Application deadline: The School of Graduate Studies programme page prints no date and refers applicants to the graduate unit's own deadline page: https://www.environment.utoronto.ca/graduate/mes/application-procedure . Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/programs/environment…
Visa & support journey
- Offer letterFrom the university
- Visa guidanceExpert support
- Pre-departureAccommodation & travel
- Ongoing supportEven after you arrive
Student stories
Real students. Real results.
- Average rating
- 4.9
- Google reviews
- 360+
- Rated five stars
- 95%
Average rating
Google reviews
Rated five stars
“I would like to express my gratitude for the excellent assistance provided during my student visa process. The team was responsive, knowledgeable, and supportive at every stage, from document preparation to submission guidance. Their clear communication and professional approach made the process much easier and more efficient.”
1 / 8
Nihad K, 5 out of 5 stars
Every review below is a real Google review — see all of them
Frequently asked questions
How much does Environment and Sustainability (MES) cost?
CAD 33,460 / year.
What English score does it need?
IELTS 7.0 overall is the score listed for this programme.
How long is it?
3 sessions full-time (typical registration sequen…, as listed by the university.
What are the entry requirements?
School of Graduate Studies minimum: for master's programs, an appropriate bachelor's degree, or its equivalent, with a final-year average of at least mid-B from a recognized university; for doctoral programs, an appropriate master's degree, or its equivalent, with an average of at least B+, or demonstrated comparable research competence. Some departments admit directly to the doctoral program from a bachelor's degree for highly qualified candidates (minimum average A- required). "Many graduate units have higher minimum requirements than the minimum SGS requirements." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ || Graduate-unit requirement for this degree, from the SGS Graduate Calendar 2026-27 ("Environment: Environment and Sustainability MES"): • Applicants are admitted under the General Regulations of the School of Graduate Studies. Applicants must also satisfy the School of the Environment's additional admission requirements stated below. • An appropriate honours bachelor's degree that includes at least a minor in environment, sustainability, or a closely related field from a recognized university with a minimum standing equivalent to at least a University of Toronto B+ in each of the final two years of study. • Applicants should have completed a combination of major(s) and minor(s) spanning more than one discipline or have equivalent interdisciplinary experience. • A letter of intent. • Resumé or CV. • Two letters of reference. || Minimum admission average published for international applicants: MES: B+ in final two years of study || Is a supervisor identified before or after admission? MES: Before || Is a supervisor assigned by the graduate unit or secured by the applicant? MES: Applicants should secure prior to applying but final assignment is by the Graduate Unit || International credentials: U of T publishes the degree it requires from each country through the SGS international degree equivalencies tool at https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/international-credentials-equivalencies/ · English: IELTS 7.0 (no band below 6.5); TOEFL iBT 93 · English test waiver: Normally not required if: your native language is English (first learned and still used daily); you are a Canadian citizen who studied at a Canadian university where the language of instruction is French; you obtained your admitting degree from an institution recognised by U of T where the language of instruction and examination is uniformly English; or you completed your admitting degree in Australia, the Bahamas, Barbados, Botswana, Ghana, Guyana, Hong Kong, Ireland, Jamaica, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Malta, Namibia, New Zealand, Nigeria, Papua New Guinea, Sierra Leone, Singapore, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda, the United Kingdom, the United States, Zambia or Zimbabwe. Some applicants from those countries may still be asked for proof. Tests must have been taken within the last 24 months. Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/english-language-proficiency-testing/ · GRE/GMAT: MES: not stated (School of Graduate Studies programme page; SGS also states "Some graduate units require a Graduate Records Examination (GRE). Check with your graduate unit.") · Application fee: CDN $130, non-refundable and non-transferable. "A supplementary application fee may be assessed depending upon the program to which you are applying." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ · Deposit: University of Toronto does not publish a single admission-deposit amount. Its published rule is: "Review your offer letter if it indicates that you need to make a non-refundable admission deposit. You will pay your admission deposit through ACORN... Your Offer Letter has more information about the admission deposit." Refunds are "granted only in exceptional circumstances, such as the denial of a study permit". Source: https://future.utoronto.ca/fees and https://www.registrar.utoronto.ca/fees-payments/understanding-your-fees/
Is there a scholarship?
U of T publishes graduate award and funding information through the School of Graduate Studies at. Many research-stream graduate programmes at U of T are funded; funding arrangements are set by the graduate unit, not by SGS, and U of T does not publish a single figure. International doctoral students are charged the DOMESTIC tuition rate (see fee_basis) View scholarship page
Ready to apply?
Get expert guidance and take the first step towards your global education.
Free counselling · No application fee to enquire · Reply within 24h