
Biomedical Communications (MScBMC) - Mississauga campus
Course at a Glance
- MasterDegree level
- 6 sessions full-time (typical registration sequen…Duration
- University of Toronto Mississauga (UTM), CanadaLocation
- Medical ScienceField of study
- EnglishLanguage of instruction
- University of Toronto Mississauga (UTM)Campus
- Master of Science in Biomedical Communications (MScBMC)Awards
- $44,770Fees
- AvailableScholarship
About this programme
Interdisciplinary, research-based, and unique. The Master of Science in Biomedical Communications (MScBMC) is an accredited program.
Read more
This two-year professional graduate program prepares students for careers in the visual communication of science, medicine, and health. Students in this interdisciplinary program explore the use of images, interactive technologies, and animation/simulation to effectively communicate complex science and health topics to a range of audiences. Graduates of the program are leaders in biocommunications across a number of fields, including pharma and biotech visualization, medical-legal visualization, health communication, research dissemination, textbook publishing, and more. There are two fields: • Biomedical Media Design and • Biomedical Visualization Design. This program is offered by the Institute of Medical Science, which serves as the primary graduate unit for the clinical departments of the Faculty of Medicine.
Is this course right for you?
Our counsellors check your profile against this programme's entry criteria and tell you where you stand — before you pay anything.
What we look at
- Your subject background and grades
- Your English score, or how to get one
- Budget, including living costs
University & programme
- Listed from the catalogueNot yet staff-verified — ask us to confirm the details.
- English requirementIELTS Overall 7.0
- Study modeMScBMC; Field: Biomedical Media Design
Admissions checklist
Entry requirements
School of Graduate Studies minimum: for master's programs, an appropriate bachelor's degree, or its equivalent, with a final-year average of at least mid-B from a recognized university; for doctoral programs, an appropriate master's degree, or its equivalent, with an average of at least B+, or demonstrated comparable research competence. Some departments admit directly to the doctoral program from a bachelor's degree for highly qualified candidates (minimum average A- required). "Many graduate units have higher minimum requirements than the minimum SGS requirements." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ || Graduate-unit requirement for this degree, from the SGS Graduate Calendar 2026-27 ("Medical Science: Biomedical Communications MScBMC"): • Applicants are admitted under the General Regulations of the School of Graduate Studies. Applicants must also satisfy the Institute of Medical Science's additional admission requirements stated below. • Graduation from a recognized university with an appropriate four-year bachelor's degree that includes a variety of courses in the arts, sciences, and humanities. • Minimum mid-B standing in the final two years of undergraduate study. • Prerequisite courses: English (or an effective writing substitute); a humanities or social science course; biology; cell and molecular biology and/or histology; introductory physiology. • At least one third- or fourth-year undergraduate course, or graduate course, from one or more of the following subject areas: Biochemistry, Cell Biology, Embryology, Genetics, Histology, Immunology, Molecular Biology, Pharmacology, or Physiology. • Completion of a first-year undergraduate chemistry course with a lab and lecture component (for example, CHM135H1 or its equivalent). • A high-quality portfolio of visual material ; consult the MScBMC website for guidance. || Minimum admission average published for international applicants: MScBMC: Mid-B in the final two years of a four-year bachelor’s degree || Direct entry option from bachelor's to PhD? MScBMC: not stated || Is a supervisor identified before or after admission? MScBMC: not stated || Is a supervisor assigned by the graduate unit or secured by the applicant? MScBMC: not stated || If a supervisor is identified after admission (as per question above), is admission conditional upon securing a supervisor? MScBMC: not stated || International credentials: U of T publishes the degree it requires from each country through the SGS international degree equivalencies tool at https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/international-credentials-equivalencies/ · English: IELTS 7.0 (no band below 6.5); TOEFL iBT 93 · English test waiver: Normally not required if: your native language is English (first learned and still used daily); you are a Canadian citizen who studied at a Canadian university where the language of instruction is French; you obtained your admitting degree from an institution recognised by U of T where the language of instruction and examination is uniformly English; or you completed your admitting degree in Australia, the Bahamas, Barbados, Botswana, Ghana, Guyana, Hong Kong, Ireland, Jamaica, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Malta, Namibia, New Zealand, Nigeria, Papua New Guinea, Sierra Leone, Singapore, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda, the United Kingdom, the United States, Zambia or Zimbabwe. Some applicants from those countries may still be asked for proof. Tests must have been taken within the last 24 months. Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/english-language-proficiency-testing/ · GRE/GMAT: MScBMC: • Applicants whose primary language is not English, and who graduated from a university where the language of instruction was not English, must demonstrate proficiency in the English language through the successful completion of one of the following English language proficiency tests. Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL): • a minimum score of 600 on the paper-based test and 5 on the Test of Written English (TWE); or • a minimum score of 100 on the Internet-based test and 25 on the writing and speaking sections. International English Language Testing System (IELTS): minimum overall score of 7.5 with at least 6.5 in each component. Certificate of Proficiency in English (COPE): minimum total of 86 including a minimum writing score of 32 and reading and listening scores of 22. Test of Oral Proficiency assessment band should be equivalent to a 7. (School of Graduate Studies programme page; SGS also states "Some graduate units require a Graduate Records Examination (GRE). Check with your graduate unit.") · Application fee: CDN $130, non-refundable and non-transferable. "A supplementary application fee may be assessed depending upon the program to which you are applying." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ · Deposit: University of Toronto does not publish a single admission-deposit amount. Its published rule is: "Review your offer letter if it indicates that you need to make a non-refundable admission deposit. You will pay your admission deposit through ACORN... Your Offer Letter has more information about the admission deposit." Refunds are "granted only in exceptional circumstances, such as the denial of a study permit". Source: https://future.utoronto.ca/fees and https://www.registrar.utoronto.ca/fees-payments/understanding-your-fees/
The usual set for this level. Your counsellor confirms the exact list for this university.
- Academic transcripts
- English test score (IELTS/TOEFL)
- Passport copy
- Statement of purpose (optional)
- Recommendation letters (optional)
Cost & scholarships
- Tuition$44,770 CAD / year≈ $32,919 / year
- Living costsVary by city — see the destination guide.
- ScholarshipsU of T publishes graduate award and funding information through the School of Graduate Studies at. Many research-stream graduate programmes at U of T are funded; funding arrangements are set by the graduate unit, not by SGS, and U of T does not publish a single figure. International doctoral students are charged the DOMESTIC tuition rate (see fee_basis)View scholarship page
Application timeline
Typical timings. Deadlines differ per university and intake.
- 1Prepare documents1–2 weeks
- 2Submit application1–3 weeks
- 3Receive offer letter2–6 weeks
- 4Apply for visa4–8 weeks
Application deadline: The School of Graduate Studies programme page prints no date and refers applicants to the graduate unit's own deadline page: https://bmc.med.utoronto.ca/important-dates . Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/programs/biomedical-communications/
Visa & support journey
- Offer letterFrom the university
- Visa guidanceExpert support
- Pre-departureAccommodation & travel
- Ongoing supportEven after you arrive
Student stories
Real students. Real results.
- Average rating
- 4.9
- Google reviews
- 360+
- Rated five stars
- 95%
Average rating
Google reviews
Rated five stars
“I would like to express my gratitude for the excellent assistance provided during my student visa process. The team was responsive, knowledgeable, and supportive at every stage, from document preparation to submission guidance. Their clear communication and professional approach made the process much easier and more efficient.”
1 / 8
Nihad K, 5 out of 5 stars
Every review below is a real Google review — see all of them
Frequently asked questions
How much does Biomedical Communications (MScBMC) - Mississauga campus cost?
CAD 44,770 / year.
What English score does it need?
IELTS 7.0 overall is the score listed for this programme.
How long is it?
6 sessions full-time (typical registration sequen…, as listed by the university.
What are the entry requirements?
School of Graduate Studies minimum: for master's programs, an appropriate bachelor's degree, or its equivalent, with a final-year average of at least mid-B from a recognized university; for doctoral programs, an appropriate master's degree, or its equivalent, with an average of at least B+, or demonstrated comparable research competence. Some departments admit directly to the doctoral program from a bachelor's degree for highly qualified candidates (minimum average A- required). "Many graduate units have higher minimum requirements than the minimum SGS requirements." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ || Graduate-unit requirement for this degree, from the SGS Graduate Calendar 2026-27 ("Medical Science: Biomedical Communications MScBMC"): • Applicants are admitted under the General Regulations of the School of Graduate Studies. Applicants must also satisfy the Institute of Medical Science's additional admission requirements stated below. • Graduation from a recognized university with an appropriate four-year bachelor's degree that includes a variety of courses in the arts, sciences, and humanities. • Minimum mid-B standing in the final two years of undergraduate study. • Prerequisite courses: English (or an effective writing substitute); a humanities or social science course; biology; cell and molecular biology and/or histology; introductory physiology. • At least one third- or fourth-year undergraduate course, or graduate course, from one or more of the following subject areas: Biochemistry, Cell Biology, Embryology, Genetics, Histology, Immunology, Molecular Biology, Pharmacology, or Physiology. • Completion of a first-year undergraduate chemistry course with a lab and lecture component (for example, CHM135H1 or its equivalent). • A high-quality portfolio of visual material ; consult the MScBMC website for guidance. || Minimum admission average published for international applicants: MScBMC: Mid-B in the final two years of a four-year bachelor’s degree || Direct entry option from bachelor's to PhD? MScBMC: not stated || Is a supervisor identified before or after admission? MScBMC: not stated || Is a supervisor assigned by the graduate unit or secured by the applicant? MScBMC: not stated || If a supervisor is identified after admission (as per question above), is admission conditional upon securing a supervisor? MScBMC: not stated || International credentials: U of T publishes the degree it requires from each country through the SGS international degree equivalencies tool at https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/international-credentials-equivalencies/ · English: IELTS 7.0 (no band below 6.5); TOEFL iBT 93 · English test waiver: Normally not required if: your native language is English (first learned and still used daily); you are a Canadian citizen who studied at a Canadian university where the language of instruction is French; you obtained your admitting degree from an institution recognised by U of T where the language of instruction and examination is uniformly English; or you completed your admitting degree in Australia, the Bahamas, Barbados, Botswana, Ghana, Guyana, Hong Kong, Ireland, Jamaica, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Malta, Namibia, New Zealand, Nigeria, Papua New Guinea, Sierra Leone, Singapore, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda, the United Kingdom, the United States, Zambia or Zimbabwe. Some applicants from those countries may still be asked for proof. Tests must have been taken within the last 24 months. Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/english-language-proficiency-testing/ · GRE/GMAT: MScBMC: • Applicants whose primary language is not English, and who graduated from a university where the language of instruction was not English, must demonstrate proficiency in the English language through the successful completion of one of the following English language proficiency tests. Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL): • a minimum score of 600 on the paper-based test and 5 on the Test of Written English (TWE); or • a minimum score of 100 on the Internet-based test and 25 on the writing and speaking sections. International English Language Testing System (IELTS): minimum overall score of 7.5 with at least 6.5 in each component. Certificate of Proficiency in English (COPE): minimum total of 86 including a minimum writing score of 32 and reading and listening scores of 22. Test of Oral Proficiency assessment band should be equivalent to a 7. (School of Graduate Studies programme page; SGS also states "Some graduate units require a Graduate Records Examination (GRE). Check with your graduate unit.") · Application fee: CDN $130, non-refundable and non-transferable. "A supplementary application fee may be assessed depending upon the program to which you are applying." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ · Deposit: University of Toronto does not publish a single admission-deposit amount. Its published rule is: "Review your offer letter if it indicates that you need to make a non-refundable admission deposit. You will pay your admission deposit through ACORN... Your Offer Letter has more information about the admission deposit." Refunds are "granted only in exceptional circumstances, such as the denial of a study permit". Source: https://future.utoronto.ca/fees and https://www.registrar.utoronto.ca/fees-payments/understanding-your-fees/
Is there a scholarship?
U of T publishes graduate award and funding information through the School of Graduate Studies at. Many research-stream graduate programmes at U of T are funded; funding arrangements are set by the graduate unit, not by SGS, and U of T does not publish a single figure. International doctoral students are charged the DOMESTIC tuition rate (see fee_basis) View scholarship page
Ready to apply?
Get expert guidance and take the first step towards your global education.
Free counselling · No application fee to enquire · Reply within 24h