
Course at a Glance
- MasterDegree level
- 6 sessions full-time (typical registration sequen…Duration
- University of Toronto, St. George campus (downtown Toronto), CanadaLocation
- Curriculum, Teaching and LearningField of study
- EnglishLanguage of instruction
- University of Toronto, St. George campus (downtown Toronto)Campus
- Master of Arts (MA)Awards
- $33,460Fees
- AvailableScholarship
About this programme
The Language and Literacies Education program is offered by the Department of Curriculum, Teaching and Learning at the Ontario Institute for Studies in Education (OISE), leading to the Master of Arts (MA) , Master of Education (MEd) , and Doctor of Philosophy degrees. This program investigates questions around the relationships of literacies in language and language in literacies across communities, societies, instructional environments, and informal learning settings.
Read more
The scope of the program encompasses the following within applied linguistics and literacies studies: • • the learning, teaching, and use of first and additional (non-native) languages in diverse settings; • curriculum, instruction, and assessment related to the development of first and additional language and K-12 literacy skills; • the development of bilingual, multilingual, and translinguistic abilities; • language and literacy education policies and planning; • pedagogy oriented towards multiliteracies development, including early literacy and adolescent reading, writing, and oral language development, and • children’s literature across the curriculum; • social justice issues related to plurilingualism and cultural and linguistic diversity; and • pedagogical implications of the fact that language and literacy are infused into all aspects of learning in contexts characterized by linguistic diversity. The Master of Education (MEd) Field in Language Teaching includes a structured focus on language teaching fou
Is this course right for you?
Our counsellors check your profile against this programme's entry criteria and tell you where you stand — before you pay anything.
What we look at
- Your subject background and grades
- Your English score, or how to get one
- Budget, including living costs
University & programme
- Listed from the catalogueNot yet staff-verified — ask us to confirm the details.
- English requirementIELTS Overall 7.0
- Study modeMaster of Arts
Admissions checklist
Entry requirements
School of Graduate Studies minimum: for master's programs, an appropriate bachelor's degree, or its equivalent, with a final-year average of at least mid-B from a recognized university; for doctoral programs, an appropriate master's degree, or its equivalent, with an average of at least B+, or demonstrated comparable research competence. Some departments admit directly to the doctoral program from a bachelor's degree for highly qualified candidates (minimum average A- required). "Many graduate units have higher minimum requirements than the minimum SGS requirements." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ || Graduate-unit requirement for this degree, from the SGS Graduate Calendar 2026-27 ("CTL: Language and Literacies Education MA"): • Applicants are admitted under the General Regulations of the School of Graduate Studies. Admission requires an appropriate bachelor's degree, with the equivalent of a University of Toronto mid-B or better in the final year, in a relevant discipline or professional program. Applicants must also satisfy the Department of Curriculum, Teaching and Learning's additional admission requirements stated below. • Ordinarily, applicants should have teacher certification and at least one year of relevant successful professional experience prior to applying. • Responses to Faculty questions in the online admissions application: for detailed information on presenting research interests while answering the Faculty questions, applicants should visit the Language and Literacies in Education MA degree program web page . || Minimum admission average published for international applicants: MA, MEd: B PhD: B+ || Direct entry option from bachelor's to PhD? PhD: No || Is a supervisor identified before or after admission? MA, PhD: After MEd: not stated || Is a supervisor assigned by the graduate unit or secured by the applicant? MA, PhD: Applicant MEd: not stated || If a supervisor is identified after admission (as per question above), is admission conditional upon securing a supervisor? MA, PhD: No MEd: not stated || International credentials: U of T publishes the degree it requires from each country through the SGS international degree equivalencies tool at https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/international-credentials-equivalencies/ · English: IELTS 7.0 (no band below 6.5); TOEFL iBT 93 · English test waiver: Normally not required if: your native language is English (first learned and still used daily); you are a Canadian citizen who studied at a Canadian university where the language of instruction is French; you obtained your admitting degree from an institution recognised by U of T where the language of instruction and examination is uniformly English; or you completed your admitting degree in Australia, the Bahamas, Barbados, Botswana, Ghana, Guyana, Hong Kong, Ireland, Jamaica, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Malta, Namibia, New Zealand, Nigeria, Papua New Guinea, Sierra Leone, Singapore, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda, the United Kingdom, the United States, Zambia or Zimbabwe. Some applicants from those countries may still be asked for proof. Tests must have been taken within the last 24 months. Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/english-language-proficiency-testing/ · GRE/GMAT: MA, MEd, PhD: not stated (School of Graduate Studies programme page; SGS also states "Some graduate units require a Graduate Records Examination (GRE). Check with your graduate unit.") · Application fee: CDN $130, non-refundable and non-transferable. "A supplementary application fee may be assessed depending upon the program to which you are applying." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ · Deposit: University of Toronto does not publish a single admission-deposit amount. Its published rule is: "Review your offer letter if it indicates that you need to make a non-refundable admission deposit. You will pay your admission deposit through ACORN... Your Offer Letter has more information about the admission deposit." Refunds are "granted only in exceptional circumstances, such as the denial of a study permit". Source: https://future.utoronto.ca/fees and https://www.registrar.utoronto.ca/fees-payments/understanding-your-fees/
The usual set for this level. Your counsellor confirms the exact list for this university.
- Academic transcripts
- English test score (IELTS/TOEFL)
- Passport copy
- Statement of purpose (optional)
- Recommendation letters (optional)
Cost & scholarships
- Tuition$33,460 CAD / year≈ $24,603 / year
- Application feeNo application fee for this programme
- Living costsVary by city — see the destination guide.
- ScholarshipsU of T publishes graduate award and funding information through the School of Graduate Studies at. Many research-stream graduate programmes at U of T are funded; funding arrangements are set by the graduate unit, not by SGS, and U of T does not publish a single figure. International doctoral students are charged the DOMESTIC tuition rate (see fee_basis)View scholarship page
Application timeline
Typical timings. Deadlines differ per university and intake.
- 1Prepare documents1–2 weeks
- 2Submit application1–3 weeks
- 3Receive offer letter2–6 weeks
- 4Apply for visa4–8 weeks
Application deadline: MA, MEd, PhD: Application Deadlines & Closing Dates (published on the SGS programme page for international applicants: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/programs/language-and-literacies-education/)
Visa & support journey
- Offer letterFrom the university
- Visa guidanceExpert support
- Pre-departureAccommodation & travel
- Ongoing supportEven after you arrive
Student stories
Real students. Real results.
- Average rating
- 4.9
- Google reviews
- 360+
- Rated five stars
- 95%
Average rating
Google reviews
Rated five stars
“I would like to express my gratitude for the excellent assistance provided during my student visa process. The team was responsive, knowledgeable, and supportive at every stage, from document preparation to submission guidance. Their clear communication and professional approach made the process much easier and more efficient.”
1 / 8
Nihad K, 5 out of 5 stars
Every review below is a real Google review — see all of them
Frequently asked questions
How much does Language and Literacies Education (MA) cost?
CAD 33,460 / year.
What English score does it need?
IELTS 7.0 overall is the score listed for this programme.
How long is it?
6 sessions full-time (typical registration sequen…, as listed by the university.
What are the entry requirements?
School of Graduate Studies minimum: for master's programs, an appropriate bachelor's degree, or its equivalent, with a final-year average of at least mid-B from a recognized university; for doctoral programs, an appropriate master's degree, or its equivalent, with an average of at least B+, or demonstrated comparable research competence. Some departments admit directly to the doctoral program from a bachelor's degree for highly qualified candidates (minimum average A- required). "Many graduate units have higher minimum requirements than the minimum SGS requirements." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ || Graduate-unit requirement for this degree, from the SGS Graduate Calendar 2026-27 ("CTL: Language and Literacies Education MA"): • Applicants are admitted under the General Regulations of the School of Graduate Studies. Admission requires an appropriate bachelor's degree, with the equivalent of a University of Toronto mid-B or better in the final year, in a relevant discipline or professional program. Applicants must also satisfy the Department of Curriculum, Teaching and Learning's additional admission requirements stated below. • Ordinarily, applicants should have teacher certification and at least one year of relevant successful professional experience prior to applying. • Responses to Faculty questions in the online admissions application: for detailed information on presenting research interests while answering the Faculty questions, applicants should visit the Language and Literacies in Education MA degree program web page . || Minimum admission average published for international applicants: MA, MEd: B PhD: B+ || Direct entry option from bachelor's to PhD? PhD: No || Is a supervisor identified before or after admission? MA, PhD: After MEd: not stated || Is a supervisor assigned by the graduate unit or secured by the applicant? MA, PhD: Applicant MEd: not stated || If a supervisor is identified after admission (as per question above), is admission conditional upon securing a supervisor? MA, PhD: No MEd: not stated || International credentials: U of T publishes the degree it requires from each country through the SGS international degree equivalencies tool at https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/international-credentials-equivalencies/ · English: IELTS 7.0 (no band below 6.5); TOEFL iBT 93 · English test waiver: Normally not required if: your native language is English (first learned and still used daily); you are a Canadian citizen who studied at a Canadian university where the language of instruction is French; you obtained your admitting degree from an institution recognised by U of T where the language of instruction and examination is uniformly English; or you completed your admitting degree in Australia, the Bahamas, Barbados, Botswana, Ghana, Guyana, Hong Kong, Ireland, Jamaica, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Malta, Namibia, New Zealand, Nigeria, Papua New Guinea, Sierra Leone, Singapore, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda, the United Kingdom, the United States, Zambia or Zimbabwe. Some applicants from those countries may still be asked for proof. Tests must have been taken within the last 24 months. Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/english-language-proficiency-testing/ · GRE/GMAT: MA, MEd, PhD: not stated (School of Graduate Studies programme page; SGS also states "Some graduate units require a Graduate Records Examination (GRE). Check with your graduate unit.") · Application fee: CDN $130, non-refundable and non-transferable. "A supplementary application fee may be assessed depending upon the program to which you are applying." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ · Deposit: University of Toronto does not publish a single admission-deposit amount. Its published rule is: "Review your offer letter if it indicates that you need to make a non-refundable admission deposit. You will pay your admission deposit through ACORN... Your Offer Letter has more information about the admission deposit." Refunds are "granted only in exceptional circumstances, such as the denial of a study permit". Source: https://future.utoronto.ca/fees and https://www.registrar.utoronto.ca/fees-payments/understanding-your-fees/
Is there a scholarship?
U of T publishes graduate award and funding information through the School of Graduate Studies at. Many research-stream graduate programmes at U of T are funded; funding arrangements are set by the graduate unit, not by SGS, and U of T does not publish a single figure. International doctoral students are charged the DOMESTIC tuition rate (see fee_basis) View scholarship page
Ready to apply?
Get expert guidance and take the first step towards your global education.
Free counselling · No application fee to enquire · Reply within 24h