
Counselling and Clinical Psychology – Field in Clinical Psychology (UTSC) (MA) - Scarborough campus
Course at a Glance
- MasterDegree level
- 6 sessions full-time (typical registration sequen…Duration
- University of Toronto Scarborough (UTSC), CanadaLocation
- Psychological Clinical ScienceField of study
- EnglishLanguage of instruction
- University of Toronto Scarborough (UTSC)Campus
- Master of Arts (MA)Awards
- $33,460Fees
- AvailableScholarship
About this programme
Clinical Psychology is one of two fields offered in the Counselling and Clinical Psychology program, leading to the Master of Arts and Doctor of Philosophy degrees. This program is intended for students seeking to pursue careers in research, teaching, and clinical practice.
Read more
At the time of application, prospective students will be required to identify a preference for this field and a potential supervisor with whom they would work if admitted to the program. The Clinical Psychology field is offered primarily by the Department of Psychological Clinical Science at the University of Toronto Scarborough (UTSC) campus. The other field, Clinical & Counselling Psychology, is offered primarily by the Department of Applied Psychology and Human Development (of the Ontario Institute for Studies in Education [OISE] at the downtown St. George campus).
Is this course right for you?
Our counsellors check your profile against this programme's entry criteria and tell you where you stand — before you pay anything.
What we look at
- Your subject background and grades
- Your English score, or how to get one
- Budget, including living costs
University & programme
- Listed from the catalogueNot yet staff-verified — ask us to confirm the details.
- English requirementIELTS Overall 7.0
- Study modeMA Program; Field: Clinical Psychology
Admissions checklist
Entry requirements
School of Graduate Studies minimum: for master's programs, an appropriate bachelor's degree, or its equivalent, with a final-year average of at least mid-B from a recognized university; for doctoral programs, an appropriate master's degree, or its equivalent, with an average of at least B+, or demonstrated comparable research competence. Some departments admit directly to the doctoral program from a bachelor's degree for highly qualified candidates (minimum average A- required). "Many graduate units have higher minimum requirements than the minimum SGS requirements." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ || Graduate-unit requirement for this degree, from the SGS Graduate Calendar 2026-27 ("Psychological Clinical Science: Counselling and Clinical Psychology MA; Field: Clinical Psychology"): • Applicants are admitted under the General Regulations of the School of Graduate Studies. Applicants must also satisfy the Department of Psychological Clinical Science's additional admission requirements stated below. • A four-year bachelor's degree from a recognized university with at least an A– (or first-class standing) in the final two years of undergraduate study, and at least 4.0 to 6.0 full-course equivalents (FCEs) in psychology including statistics and some laboratory research experience. Students who are admitted to the program without 4.0 to 6.0 FCEs in required undergraduate coursework may be required to complete additional courses in the master's program. Applicants with a strong background in mathematics, computer science, statistics, biological science, or neuroscience are encouraged to apply. • Two academic letters of reference. • A personal statement. • A curriculum vitae. • Completion of the Department Application Form. • Applicants whose primary language is not English and who graduated from a university where the language of instruction is not English must demonstrate proficiency in English. Applicants must complete the Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL), or its equivalent according to SGS regulations, prior to submitting the application. See General Regulations section 4.3 for requirements. || Minimum admission average published for international applicants: MA: A– (or first-class standing) in the final two years of undergraduate study PhD: A- || Direct entry option from bachelor's to PhD? PhD: No || Is a supervisor identified before or after admission? MA, PhD: After || Is a supervisor assigned by the graduate unit or secured by the applicant? MA, PhD: Graduate unit || If a supervisor is identified after admission (as per question above), is admission conditional upon securing a supervisor? MA, PhD: No || International credentials: U of T publishes the degree it requires from each country through the SGS international degree equivalencies tool at https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/international-credentials-equivalencies/ · English: IELTS 7.0 (no band below 6.5); TOEFL iBT 93 · English test waiver: Normally not required if: your native language is English (first learned and still used daily); you are a Canadian citizen who studied at a Canadian university where the language of instruction is French; you obtained your admitting degree from an institution recognised by U of T where the language of instruction and examination is uniformly English; or you completed your admitting degree in Australia, the Bahamas, Barbados, Botswana, Ghana, Guyana, Hong Kong, Ireland, Jamaica, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Malta, Namibia, New Zealand, Nigeria, Papua New Guinea, Sierra Leone, Singapore, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda, the United Kingdom, the United States, Zambia or Zimbabwe. Some applicants from those countries may still be asked for proof. Tests must have been taken within the last 24 months. Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/english-language-proficiency-testing/ · GRE/GMAT: MA, PhD: not stated (School of Graduate Studies programme page; SGS also states "Some graduate units require a Graduate Records Examination (GRE). Check with your graduate unit.") · Application fee: CDN $130, non-refundable and non-transferable. "A supplementary application fee may be assessed depending upon the program to which you are applying." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ · Deposit: University of Toronto does not publish a single admission-deposit amount. Its published rule is: "Review your offer letter if it indicates that you need to make a non-refundable admission deposit. You will pay your admission deposit through ACORN... Your Offer Letter has more information about the admission deposit." Refunds are "granted only in exceptional circumstances, such as the denial of a study permit". Source: https://future.utoronto.ca/fees and https://www.registrar.utoronto.ca/fees-payments/understanding-your-fees/
The usual set for this level. Your counsellor confirms the exact list for this university.
- Academic transcripts
- English test score (IELTS/TOEFL)
- Passport copy
- Statement of purpose (optional)
- Recommendation letters (optional)
Cost & scholarships
- Tuition$33,460 CAD / year≈ $24,603 / year
- Living costsVary by city — see the destination guide.
- ScholarshipsU of T publishes graduate award and funding information through the School of Graduate Studies at. Many research-stream graduate programmes at U of T are funded; funding arrangements are set by the graduate unit, not by SGS, and U of T does not publish a single figure. International doctoral students are charged the DOMESTIC tuition rate (see fee_basis)View scholarship page
Application timeline
Typical timings. Deadlines differ per university and intake.
- 1Prepare documents1–2 weeks
- 2Submit application1–3 weeks
- 3Receive offer letter2–6 weeks
- 4Apply for visa4–8 weeks
Application deadline: MA, PhD: Fall 2027 entry 01-Dec-2026 (published on the SGS programme page for international applicants: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/programs/counselling-and-clinical-psychology-utsc-field-clinical-psychology/)
Visa & support journey
- Offer letterFrom the university
- Visa guidanceExpert support
- Pre-departureAccommodation & travel
- Ongoing supportEven after you arrive
Student stories
Real students. Real results.
- Average rating
- 4.9
- Google reviews
- 360+
- Rated five stars
- 95%
Average rating
Google reviews
Rated five stars
“I would like to express my gratitude for the excellent assistance provided during my student visa process. The team was responsive, knowledgeable, and supportive at every stage, from document preparation to submission guidance. Their clear communication and professional approach made the process much easier and more efficient.”
1 / 8
Nihad K, 5 out of 5 stars
Every review below is a real Google review — see all of them
Frequently asked questions
How much does Counselling and Clinical Psychology – Field in Clinical Psychology (UTSC) (MA) - Scarborough campus cost?
CAD 33,460 / year.
What English score does it need?
IELTS 7.0 overall is the score listed for this programme.
How long is it?
6 sessions full-time (typical registration sequen…, as listed by the university.
What are the entry requirements?
School of Graduate Studies minimum: for master's programs, an appropriate bachelor's degree, or its equivalent, with a final-year average of at least mid-B from a recognized university; for doctoral programs, an appropriate master's degree, or its equivalent, with an average of at least B+, or demonstrated comparable research competence. Some departments admit directly to the doctoral program from a bachelor's degree for highly qualified candidates (minimum average A- required). "Many graduate units have higher minimum requirements than the minimum SGS requirements." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ || Graduate-unit requirement for this degree, from the SGS Graduate Calendar 2026-27 ("Psychological Clinical Science: Counselling and Clinical Psychology MA; Field: Clinical Psychology"): • Applicants are admitted under the General Regulations of the School of Graduate Studies. Applicants must also satisfy the Department of Psychological Clinical Science's additional admission requirements stated below. • A four-year bachelor's degree from a recognized university with at least an A– (or first-class standing) in the final two years of undergraduate study, and at least 4.0 to 6.0 full-course equivalents (FCEs) in psychology including statistics and some laboratory research experience. Students who are admitted to the program without 4.0 to 6.0 FCEs in required undergraduate coursework may be required to complete additional courses in the master's program. Applicants with a strong background in mathematics, computer science, statistics, biological science, or neuroscience are encouraged to apply. • Two academic letters of reference. • A personal statement. • A curriculum vitae. • Completion of the Department Application Form. • Applicants whose primary language is not English and who graduated from a university where the language of instruction is not English must demonstrate proficiency in English. Applicants must complete the Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL), or its equivalent according to SGS regulations, prior to submitting the application. See General Regulations section 4.3 for requirements. || Minimum admission average published for international applicants: MA: A– (or first-class standing) in the final two years of undergraduate study PhD: A- || Direct entry option from bachelor's to PhD? PhD: No || Is a supervisor identified before or after admission? MA, PhD: After || Is a supervisor assigned by the graduate unit or secured by the applicant? MA, PhD: Graduate unit || If a supervisor is identified after admission (as per question above), is admission conditional upon securing a supervisor? MA, PhD: No || International credentials: U of T publishes the degree it requires from each country through the SGS international degree equivalencies tool at https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/international-credentials-equivalencies/ · English: IELTS 7.0 (no band below 6.5); TOEFL iBT 93 · English test waiver: Normally not required if: your native language is English (first learned and still used daily); you are a Canadian citizen who studied at a Canadian university where the language of instruction is French; you obtained your admitting degree from an institution recognised by U of T where the language of instruction and examination is uniformly English; or you completed your admitting degree in Australia, the Bahamas, Barbados, Botswana, Ghana, Guyana, Hong Kong, Ireland, Jamaica, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Malta, Namibia, New Zealand, Nigeria, Papua New Guinea, Sierra Leone, Singapore, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda, the United Kingdom, the United States, Zambia or Zimbabwe. Some applicants from those countries may still be asked for proof. Tests must have been taken within the last 24 months. Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/english-language-proficiency-testing/ · GRE/GMAT: MA, PhD: not stated (School of Graduate Studies programme page; SGS also states "Some graduate units require a Graduate Records Examination (GRE). Check with your graduate unit.") · Application fee: CDN $130, non-refundable and non-transferable. "A supplementary application fee may be assessed depending upon the program to which you are applying." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ · Deposit: University of Toronto does not publish a single admission-deposit amount. Its published rule is: "Review your offer letter if it indicates that you need to make a non-refundable admission deposit. You will pay your admission deposit through ACORN... Your Offer Letter has more information about the admission deposit." Refunds are "granted only in exceptional circumstances, such as the denial of a study permit". Source: https://future.utoronto.ca/fees and https://www.registrar.utoronto.ca/fees-payments/understanding-your-fees/
Is there a scholarship?
U of T publishes graduate award and funding information through the School of Graduate Studies at. Many research-stream graduate programmes at U of T are funded; funding arrangements are set by the graduate unit, not by SGS, and U of T does not publish a single figure. International doctoral students are charged the DOMESTIC tuition rate (see fee_basis) View scholarship page
Ready to apply?
Get expert guidance and take the first step towards your global education.
Free counselling · No application fee to enquire · Reply within 24h