
Health Policy, Management and Evaluation (PhD)
Course at a Glance
- PhDDegree level
- 4 yearsDuration
- University of Toronto, St. George campus (downtown Toronto), CanadaLocation
- Health Policy, Management and EvaluationField of study
- EnglishLanguage of instruction
- University of Toronto, St. George campus (downtown Toronto)Campus
- Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)Awards
- $30,340Fees
- AvailableScholarship
About this programme
The Institute of Health Policy, Management and Evaluation (IHPME) is training Canada’s future health leaders and researchers through its outstanding degree programs: Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in Health Policy, Management and Evaluation concentrations: • Clinical Epidemiology and Health Care Research • Health Professions Education Research • Health Services Research Master of Science (MSc) in Health Policy, Management and Evaluation concentrations: • Clinical Epidemiology and Health Care Research • Health Services Research • Quality Improvement and Patient Safety • System Leadership and Innovation Multidisciplinary collaborative specializations with other University of Toronto graduate departments allow further specialization. See a complete description of all IHPME programs .
Read more
Please note the application deadlines.
Is this course right for you?
Our counsellors check your profile against this programme's entry criteria and tell you where you stand — before you pay anything.
What we look at
- Your subject background and grades
- Your English score, or how to get one
- Budget, including living costs
University & programme
- Listed from the catalogueNot yet staff-verified — ask us to confirm the details.
- English requirementIELTS Overall 7.0
- Study modePhD Program; Concentration: Clinical Epidemiology and Health Ca…
Admissions checklist
Entry requirements
School of Graduate Studies minimum: for master's programs, an appropriate bachelor's degree, or its equivalent, with a final-year average of at least mid-B from a recognized university; for doctoral programs, an appropriate master's degree, or its equivalent, with an average of at least B+, or demonstrated comparable research competence. Some departments admit directly to the doctoral program from a bachelor's degree for highly qualified candidates (minimum average A- required). "Many graduate units have higher minimum requirements than the minimum SGS requirements." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ || Graduate-unit requirement for this degree, from the SGS Graduate Calendar 2026-27 ("HPME: Health Policy, Management and Evaluation PhD"): • Applicants are admitted under the General Regulations of the School of Graduate Studies. Applicants must also satisfy the IHPME's additional admission requirements stated below. • Applicants to this concentration must have a degree in a health profession (for example, MD, BScN, BScOT, BScPT, DDM, MScN, or equivalent). • Satisfactory references pertaining to the applicant's academic and research abilities. • Outstanding students with a non-thesis master's degree may be admitted to the full-time PhD upon the recommendation of the appropriate IHPME committee, if the applicant has the appropriate background preparation and research experience or publications which can be considered equivalent to a master's thesis. || Minimum admission average published for international applicants: MSc: B+ in final year of bachelor’s PhD: B+ average in Master’s || Direct entry option from bachelor's to PhD? PhD: Concentration in Clinical Epidemiology and Health Care Research (CEHCR) Only (minimum A-minus average in courses in the relevant discipline) No direct entry option for other concentration || Is a supervisor identified before or after admission? MSc, PhD: MSc (Clin Epi)-After PhD(Clin Epi)-After MSc (health serv)-Either PhD (health serv)-Either PhD (HPER) – Either || Is a supervisor assigned by the graduate unit or secured by the applicant? MSc, PhD: Either PhD (HPER) – by applicant || If a supervisor is identified after admission (as per question above), is admission conditional upon securing a supervisor? MSc, PhD: MSc (Clin Epi)-No PhD(Clin Epi)-No MSc (health serv)-not stated PhD (health serv)-not stated PhD (HPER) – yes || International credentials: U of T publishes the degree it requires from each country through the SGS international degree equivalencies tool at https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/international-credentials-equivalencies/ · English: IELTS 7.0 (no band below 6.5); TOEFL iBT 93 · English test waiver: Normally not required if: your native language is English (first learned and still used daily); you are a Canadian citizen who studied at a Canadian university where the language of instruction is French; you obtained your admitting degree from an institution recognised by U of T where the language of instruction and examination is uniformly English; or you completed your admitting degree in Australia, the Bahamas, Barbados, Botswana, Ghana, Guyana, Hong Kong, Ireland, Jamaica, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Malta, Namibia, New Zealand, Nigeria, Papua New Guinea, Sierra Leone, Singapore, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda, the United Kingdom, the United States, Zambia or Zimbabwe. Some applicants from those countries may still be asked for proof. Tests must have been taken within the last 24 months. Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/english-language-proficiency-testing/ · GRE/GMAT: MSc, PhD: not stated (School of Graduate Studies programme page; SGS also states "Some graduate units require a Graduate Records Examination (GRE). Check with your graduate unit.") · Application fee: CDN $130, non-refundable and non-transferable. "A supplementary application fee may be assessed depending upon the program to which you are applying." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ · Deposit: University of Toronto does not publish a single admission-deposit amount. Its published rule is: "Review your offer letter if it indicates that you need to make a non-refundable admission deposit. You will pay your admission deposit through ACORN... Your Offer Letter has more information about the admission deposit." Refunds are "granted only in exceptional circumstances, such as the denial of a study permit". Source: https://future.utoronto.ca/fees and https://www.registrar.utoronto.ca/fees-payments/understanding-your-fees/
The usual set for this level. Your counsellor confirms the exact list for this university.
- Academic transcripts
- English test score (IELTS/TOEFL)
- Passport copy
- Statement of purpose (optional)
- Recommendation letters (optional)
Cost & scholarships
- Tuition$30,340 CAD / year≈ $22,309 / year
- Living costsVary by city — see the destination guide.
- ScholarshipsU of T publishes graduate award and funding information through the School of Graduate Studies at. Many research-stream graduate programmes at U of T are funded; funding arrangements are set by the graduate unit, not by SGS, and U of T does not publish a single figure. International doctoral students are charged the DOMESTIC tuition rate (see fee_basis)View scholarship page
Application timeline
Typical timings. Deadlines differ per university and intake.
- 1Prepare documents1–2 weeks
- 2Submit application1–3 weeks
- 3Receive offer letter2–6 weeks
- 4Apply for visa4–8 weeks
Application deadline: The School of Graduate Studies programme page prints no date and refers applicants to the graduate unit's own deadline page: https://ihpme.utoronto.ca/future-students/apply-now/ . Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/programs/health-policy-management-and-…
Visa & support journey
- Offer letterFrom the university
- Visa guidanceExpert support
- Pre-departureAccommodation & travel
- Ongoing supportEven after you arrive
Student stories
Real students. Real results.
- Average rating
- 4.9
- Google reviews
- 360+
- Rated five stars
- 95%
Average rating
Google reviews
Rated five stars
“I would like to express my gratitude for the excellent assistance provided during my student visa process. The team was responsive, knowledgeable, and supportive at every stage, from document preparation to submission guidance. Their clear communication and professional approach made the process much easier and more efficient.”
1 / 8
Nihad K, 5 out of 5 stars
Every review below is a real Google review — see all of them
Frequently asked questions
How much does Health Policy, Management and Evaluation (PhD) cost?
CAD 30,340 / year.
What English score does it need?
IELTS 7.0 overall is the score listed for this programme.
How long is it?
4 years, as listed by the university.
What are the entry requirements?
School of Graduate Studies minimum: for master's programs, an appropriate bachelor's degree, or its equivalent, with a final-year average of at least mid-B from a recognized university; for doctoral programs, an appropriate master's degree, or its equivalent, with an average of at least B+, or demonstrated comparable research competence. Some departments admit directly to the doctoral program from a bachelor's degree for highly qualified candidates (minimum average A- required). "Many graduate units have higher minimum requirements than the minimum SGS requirements." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ || Graduate-unit requirement for this degree, from the SGS Graduate Calendar 2026-27 ("HPME: Health Policy, Management and Evaluation PhD"): • Applicants are admitted under the General Regulations of the School of Graduate Studies. Applicants must also satisfy the IHPME's additional admission requirements stated below. • Applicants to this concentration must have a degree in a health profession (for example, MD, BScN, BScOT, BScPT, DDM, MScN, or equivalent). • Satisfactory references pertaining to the applicant's academic and research abilities. • Outstanding students with a non-thesis master's degree may be admitted to the full-time PhD upon the recommendation of the appropriate IHPME committee, if the applicant has the appropriate background preparation and research experience or publications which can be considered equivalent to a master's thesis. || Minimum admission average published for international applicants: MSc: B+ in final year of bachelor’s PhD: B+ average in Master’s || Direct entry option from bachelor's to PhD? PhD: Concentration in Clinical Epidemiology and Health Care Research (CEHCR) Only (minimum A-minus average in courses in the relevant discipline) No direct entry option for other concentration || Is a supervisor identified before or after admission? MSc, PhD: MSc (Clin Epi)-After PhD(Clin Epi)-After MSc (health serv)-Either PhD (health serv)-Either PhD (HPER) – Either || Is a supervisor assigned by the graduate unit or secured by the applicant? MSc, PhD: Either PhD (HPER) – by applicant || If a supervisor is identified after admission (as per question above), is admission conditional upon securing a supervisor? MSc, PhD: MSc (Clin Epi)-No PhD(Clin Epi)-No MSc (health serv)-not stated PhD (health serv)-not stated PhD (HPER) – yes || International credentials: U of T publishes the degree it requires from each country through the SGS international degree equivalencies tool at https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/international-credentials-equivalencies/ · English: IELTS 7.0 (no band below 6.5); TOEFL iBT 93 · English test waiver: Normally not required if: your native language is English (first learned and still used daily); you are a Canadian citizen who studied at a Canadian university where the language of instruction is French; you obtained your admitting degree from an institution recognised by U of T where the language of instruction and examination is uniformly English; or you completed your admitting degree in Australia, the Bahamas, Barbados, Botswana, Ghana, Guyana, Hong Kong, Ireland, Jamaica, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Malta, Namibia, New Zealand, Nigeria, Papua New Guinea, Sierra Leone, Singapore, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda, the United Kingdom, the United States, Zambia or Zimbabwe. Some applicants from those countries may still be asked for proof. Tests must have been taken within the last 24 months. Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/english-language-proficiency-testing/ · GRE/GMAT: MSc, PhD: not stated (School of Graduate Studies programme page; SGS also states "Some graduate units require a Graduate Records Examination (GRE). Check with your graduate unit.") · Application fee: CDN $130, non-refundable and non-transferable. "A supplementary application fee may be assessed depending upon the program to which you are applying." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ · Deposit: University of Toronto does not publish a single admission-deposit amount. Its published rule is: "Review your offer letter if it indicates that you need to make a non-refundable admission deposit. You will pay your admission deposit through ACORN... Your Offer Letter has more information about the admission deposit." Refunds are "granted only in exceptional circumstances, such as the denial of a study permit". Source: https://future.utoronto.ca/fees and https://www.registrar.utoronto.ca/fees-payments/understanding-your-fees/
Is there a scholarship?
U of T publishes graduate award and funding information through the School of Graduate Studies at. Many research-stream graduate programmes at U of T are funded; funding arrangements are set by the graduate unit, not by SGS, and U of T does not publish a single figure. International doctoral students are charged the DOMESTIC tuition rate (see fee_basis) View scholarship page
Ready to apply?
Get expert guidance and take the first step towards your global education.
Free counselling · No application fee to enquire · Reply within 24h