
History and Philosophy of Science and Technology (PhD)
Course at a Glance
- PhDDegree level
- 4 yearsDuration
- University of Toronto, St. George campus (downtown Toronto), CanadaLocation
- History and Philosophy of Science and TechnologyField of study
- EnglishLanguage of instruction
- University of Toronto, St. George campus (downtown Toronto)Campus
- Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)Awards
- $30,340Fees
- AvailableScholarship
About this programme
The Institute for the History and Philosophy of Science and Technology (IHPST) offers graduate training in the field of the history and philosophy of science (HPS). The IHPST is committed to engaging deeply with contemporary political and social issues, including in the areas of ethics and technology, identity-based social disparity, and the ongoing role of science and technology in generating and challenging global and regional disparities.
Read more
Graduate training at the IHPST leads to the Master of Arts and Doctor of Philosophy. The IHPST is not currently accepting international applicants to its Master’s program. International applicants without an MA in a relevant field of study should consider our direct entry PhD program.
Is this course right for you?
Our counsellors check your profile against this programme's entry criteria and tell you where you stand — before you pay anything.
What we look at
- Your subject background and grades
- Your English score, or how to get one
- Budget, including living costs
University & programme
- Listed from the catalogueNot yet staff-verified — ask us to confirm the details.
- English requirementIELTS Overall 7.0
- Study modePhD Program; PhD Program (Direct-Entry); PhD Program (Flexible-…
Admissions checklist
Entry requirements
School of Graduate Studies minimum: for master's programs, an appropriate bachelor's degree, or its equivalent, with a final-year average of at least mid-B from a recognized university; for doctoral programs, an appropriate master's degree, or its equivalent, with an average of at least B+, or demonstrated comparable research competence. Some departments admit directly to the doctoral program from a bachelor's degree for highly qualified candidates (minimum average A- required). "Many graduate units have higher minimum requirements than the minimum SGS requirements." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ || Graduate-unit requirement for this degree, from the SGS Graduate Calendar 2026-27 ("HPST: History and Philosophy of Science and Technology PhD"): • Applicants are admitted under the General Regulations of the School of Graduate Studies. Applicants must also satisfy IHPST's additional admission requirements stated below. • A University of Toronto master's degree in History and Philosophy of Science and Technology or its equivalent from a recognized university with an average grade of at least an A– in the applicant's program and with no individual grade less than B+. While the majority of accepted students exceed this standard, the very broad scope of the field and the variety of fruitful approaches to it also imply that many different backgrounds are appropriate. Accordingly, grades are only one criterion used to judge applicants. • Applications must be accompanied by a 300- to 500-word statement of interest indicating the applicant's areas of interest in history and/or philosophy of science and technology at the graduate level. A writing sample of no more than 3,000 (not to exceed 20 pages) words is required. • Applicants whose primary language is not English and who are not graduates of a university whose language of instruction is English must submit results of the Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) with the following minimum scores: 4.5/6.0 overall with 4.5/6.0 in writing and 4.0/6.0 in speaking. || Minimum admission average published for international applicants: MA: BA:3.5 PhD: MA: 3.7 || Direct entry option from bachelor's to PhD? PhD: Yes || Is a supervisor identified before or after admission? MA: After || Is a supervisor assigned by the graduate unit or secured by the applicant? MA, PhD: not stated || If a supervisor is identified after admission (as per question above), is admission conditional upon securing a supervisor? MA: not stated PhD: not stated || International credentials: U of T publishes the degree it requires from each country through the SGS international degree equivalencies tool at https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/international-credentials-equivalencies/ · English: IELTS 7.0 (no band below 6.5); TOEFL iBT 93 · English test waiver: Normally not required if: your native language is English (first learned and still used daily); you are a Canadian citizen who studied at a Canadian university where the language of instruction is French; you obtained your admitting degree from an institution recognised by U of T where the language of instruction and examination is uniformly English; or you completed your admitting degree in Australia, the Bahamas, Barbados, Botswana, Ghana, Guyana, Hong Kong, Ireland, Jamaica, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Malta, Namibia, New Zealand, Nigeria, Papua New Guinea, Sierra Leone, Singapore, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda, the United Kingdom, the United States, Zambia or Zimbabwe. Some applicants from those countries may still be asked for proof. Tests must have been taken within the last 24 months. Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/english-language-proficiency-testing/ · GRE/GMAT: MA, PhD: not stated (School of Graduate Studies programme page; SGS also states "Some graduate units require a Graduate Records Examination (GRE). Check with your graduate unit.") · Application fee: CDN $130, non-refundable and non-transferable. "A supplementary application fee may be assessed depending upon the program to which you are applying." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ · Deposit: University of Toronto does not publish a single admission-deposit amount. Its published rule is: "Review your offer letter if it indicates that you need to make a non-refundable admission deposit. You will pay your admission deposit through ACORN... Your Offer Letter has more information about the admission deposit." Refunds are "granted only in exceptional circumstances, such as the denial of a study permit". Source: https://future.utoronto.ca/fees and https://www.registrar.utoronto.ca/fees-payments/understanding-your-fees/
The usual set for this level. Your counsellor confirms the exact list for this university.
- Academic transcripts
- English test score (IELTS/TOEFL)
- Passport copy
- Statement of purpose (optional)
- Recommendation letters (optional)
Cost & scholarships
- Tuition$30,340 CAD / year≈ $22,309 / year
- Living costsVary by city — see the destination guide.
- ScholarshipsU of T publishes graduate award and funding information through the School of Graduate Studies at. Many research-stream graduate programmes at U of T are funded; funding arrangements are set by the graduate unit, not by SGS, and U of T does not publish a single figure. International doctoral students are charged the DOMESTIC tuition rate (see fee_basis)View scholarship page
Application timeline
Typical timings. Deadlines differ per university and intake.
- 1Prepare documents1–2 weeks
- 2Submit application1–3 weeks
- 3Receive offer letter2–6 weeks
- 4Apply for visa4–8 weeks
Application deadline: The School of Graduate Studies programme page prints no date and refers applicants to the graduate unit's own deadline page: https://ihpst.utoronto.ca/graduate/prospective-graduate-students/application-information . Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/pr…
Visa & support journey
- Offer letterFrom the university
- Visa guidanceExpert support
- Pre-departureAccommodation & travel
- Ongoing supportEven after you arrive
Student stories
Real students. Real results.
- Average rating
- 4.9
- Google reviews
- 360+
- Rated five stars
- 95%
Average rating
Google reviews
Rated five stars
“I would like to express my gratitude for the excellent assistance provided during my student visa process. The team was responsive, knowledgeable, and supportive at every stage, from document preparation to submission guidance. Their clear communication and professional approach made the process much easier and more efficient.”
1 / 8
Nihad K, 5 out of 5 stars
Every review below is a real Google review — see all of them
Frequently asked questions
How much does History and Philosophy of Science and Technology (PhD) cost?
CAD 30,340 / year.
What English score does it need?
IELTS 7.0 overall is the score listed for this programme.
How long is it?
4 years, as listed by the university.
What are the entry requirements?
School of Graduate Studies minimum: for master's programs, an appropriate bachelor's degree, or its equivalent, with a final-year average of at least mid-B from a recognized university; for doctoral programs, an appropriate master's degree, or its equivalent, with an average of at least B+, or demonstrated comparable research competence. Some departments admit directly to the doctoral program from a bachelor's degree for highly qualified candidates (minimum average A- required). "Many graduate units have higher minimum requirements than the minimum SGS requirements." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ || Graduate-unit requirement for this degree, from the SGS Graduate Calendar 2026-27 ("HPST: History and Philosophy of Science and Technology PhD"): • Applicants are admitted under the General Regulations of the School of Graduate Studies. Applicants must also satisfy IHPST's additional admission requirements stated below. • A University of Toronto master's degree in History and Philosophy of Science and Technology or its equivalent from a recognized university with an average grade of at least an A– in the applicant's program and with no individual grade less than B+. While the majority of accepted students exceed this standard, the very broad scope of the field and the variety of fruitful approaches to it also imply that many different backgrounds are appropriate. Accordingly, grades are only one criterion used to judge applicants. • Applications must be accompanied by a 300- to 500-word statement of interest indicating the applicant's areas of interest in history and/or philosophy of science and technology at the graduate level. A writing sample of no more than 3,000 (not to exceed 20 pages) words is required. • Applicants whose primary language is not English and who are not graduates of a university whose language of instruction is English must submit results of the Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) with the following minimum scores: 4.5/6.0 overall with 4.5/6.0 in writing and 4.0/6.0 in speaking. || Minimum admission average published for international applicants: MA: BA:3.5 PhD: MA: 3.7 || Direct entry option from bachelor's to PhD? PhD: Yes || Is a supervisor identified before or after admission? MA: After || Is a supervisor assigned by the graduate unit or secured by the applicant? MA, PhD: not stated || If a supervisor is identified after admission (as per question above), is admission conditional upon securing a supervisor? MA: not stated PhD: not stated || International credentials: U of T publishes the degree it requires from each country through the SGS international degree equivalencies tool at https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/international-credentials-equivalencies/ · English: IELTS 7.0 (no band below 6.5); TOEFL iBT 93 · English test waiver: Normally not required if: your native language is English (first learned and still used daily); you are a Canadian citizen who studied at a Canadian university where the language of instruction is French; you obtained your admitting degree from an institution recognised by U of T where the language of instruction and examination is uniformly English; or you completed your admitting degree in Australia, the Bahamas, Barbados, Botswana, Ghana, Guyana, Hong Kong, Ireland, Jamaica, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Malta, Namibia, New Zealand, Nigeria, Papua New Guinea, Sierra Leone, Singapore, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda, the United Kingdom, the United States, Zambia or Zimbabwe. Some applicants from those countries may still be asked for proof. Tests must have been taken within the last 24 months. Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/english-language-proficiency-testing/ · GRE/GMAT: MA, PhD: not stated (School of Graduate Studies programme page; SGS also states "Some graduate units require a Graduate Records Examination (GRE). Check with your graduate unit.") · Application fee: CDN $130, non-refundable and non-transferable. "A supplementary application fee may be assessed depending upon the program to which you are applying." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ · Deposit: University of Toronto does not publish a single admission-deposit amount. Its published rule is: "Review your offer letter if it indicates that you need to make a non-refundable admission deposit. You will pay your admission deposit through ACORN... Your Offer Letter has more information about the admission deposit." Refunds are "granted only in exceptional circumstances, such as the denial of a study permit". Source: https://future.utoronto.ca/fees and https://www.registrar.utoronto.ca/fees-payments/understanding-your-fees/
Is there a scholarship?
U of T publishes graduate award and funding information through the School of Graduate Studies at. Many research-stream graduate programmes at U of T are funded; funding arrangements are set by the graduate unit, not by SGS, and U of T does not publish a single figure. International doctoral students are charged the DOMESTIC tuition rate (see fee_basis) View scholarship page
Ready to apply?
Get expert guidance and take the first step towards your global education.
Free counselling · No application fee to enquire · Reply within 24h