
Course at a Glance
- MasterDegree level
- 6 sessions full-time (typical registration sequen…Duration
- University of Toronto, St. George campus (downtown Toronto), CanadaLocation
- Rehabilitation SciencesField of study
- EnglishLanguage of instruction
- University of Toronto, St. George campus (downtown Toronto)Campus
- Master of Science (MSc)Awards
- $33,460Fees
- AvailableScholarship
About this programme
Rehabilitation science is the systematic study of promoting, maintaining, or restoring human function, mobility, occupation, and well-being. Using basic and applied methods, the science is focused on phenomena at the level of the cell, person, family, community, or society to develop and evaluate theories, models, processes, measures, interventions, and policies to prevent, reverse, or minimize impairments, enable activity, and facilitate participation.
Read more
By its very nature, rehabilitation science is multidisciplinary. The Rehabilitation Sciences Institute offers graduate programs leading to the degrees of Master of Science and Doctor of Philosophy . To capture the full breadth of rehabilitation, the expertise of its faculty and the research of its students, Rehabilitation Science has identified six fields of study: • Movement Science • Occupational Science • Practice Science • Rehabilitation Health Services Studies • Rehabilitation Technology Sciences • Social and Cognitive Rehabilitation Sciences See video: Explore Graduate Programs at the Faculty of Medicine .
Is this course right for you?
Our counsellors check your profile against this programme's entry criteria and tell you where you stand — before you pay anything.
What we look at
- Your subject background and grades
- Your English score, or how to get one
- Budget, including living costs
University & programme
- Listed from the catalogueNot yet staff-verified — ask us to confirm the details.
- English requirementIELTS Overall 7.0
- Study modeMSc Program
Admissions checklist
Entry requirements
School of Graduate Studies minimum: for master's programs, an appropriate bachelor's degree, or its equivalent, with a final-year average of at least mid-B from a recognized university; for doctoral programs, an appropriate master's degree, or its equivalent, with an average of at least B+, or demonstrated comparable research competence. Some departments admit directly to the doctoral program from a bachelor's degree for highly qualified candidates (minimum average A- required). "Many graduate units have higher minimum requirements than the minimum SGS requirements." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ || Graduate-unit requirement for this degree, from the SGS Graduate Calendar 2026-27 ("Rehabilitation Sciences: Rehabilitation Science MSc"): • Applicants are admitted under the General Regulations of the School of Graduate Studies. Applicants must also satisfy the Rehabilitation Sciences Institute's additional admission requirements stated below. • Applicants must have graduated with a minimum B+ average in senior-level courses in the final two years of a four-year undergraduate degree program from a recognized university, with a strong undergraduate science background including a course in research design and/or statistics. The four-year degree may be in Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, Speech-Language Pathology, or a related discipline. Related disciplines include basic sciences, engineering, kinesiology, nursing, psychology, social work, sociology, and physical and health education. • Applicants are recommended to identify a faculty member who agrees to serve as research supervisor. • Applicants who were educated outside Canada, whose primary language is not English, and who graduated from a university where the language of instruction and examination was not English, must demonstrate proficiency in the English language through the successful completion of one of the following tests: • Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) with the following minimum scores: 5.0/6.0 overall with 4.5/6.0 in writing and 4.0/6.0 in speaking. • International English Language Testing System (IELTS): minimum score of 7.5. • Certificate of Proficiency in English (COPE): see General Regulations, 4.3 English-Language Proficiency . • U of T School of Continuing Studies academic preparation: see General Regulations, 4.3 En || Minimum admission average published for international applicants: MSc: B+ average in senior-level courses in the final two years PhD: A– from a relevant thesis-based master’s program Direct Entry: A+/A average (GPA 4.0) in an undergraduate program || Direct entry option from bachelor's to PhD? PhD: not stated || Is a supervisor identified before or after admission? MSc, PhD: Before and/or after admission Note: Applicant with no supervisor identified before admission should contact rsi.gradcoordinator@utoronto.ca || Is a supervisor assigned by the graduate unit or secured by the applicant? MSc, PhD: Applicant || If a supervisor is identified after admission (as per question above), is admission conditional upon securing a supervisor? MSc, PhD: Yes || International credentials: U of T publishes the degree it requires from each country through the SGS international degree equivalencies tool at https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/international-credentials-equivalencies/ · English: IELTS 7.0 (no band below 6.5); TOEFL iBT 93 · English test waiver: Normally not required if: your native language is English (first learned and still used daily); you are a Canadian citizen who studied at a Canadian university where the language of instruction is French; you obtained your admitting degree from an institution recognised by U of T where the language of instruction and examination is uniformly English; or you completed your admitting degree in Australia, the Bahamas, Barbados, Botswana, Ghana, Guyana, Hong Kong, Ireland, Jamaica, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Malta, Namibia, New Zealand, Nigeria, Papua New Guinea, Sierra Leone, Singapore, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda, the United Kingdom, the United States, Zambia or Zimbabwe. Some applicants from those countries may still be asked for proof. Tests must have been taken within the last 24 months. Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/english-language-proficiency-testing/ · GRE/GMAT: MSc, PhD: not stated (School of Graduate Studies programme page; SGS also states "Some graduate units require a Graduate Records Examination (GRE). Check with your graduate unit.") · Application fee: CDN $130, non-refundable and non-transferable. "A supplementary application fee may be assessed depending upon the program to which you are applying." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ · Deposit: University of Toronto does not publish a single admission-deposit amount. Its published rule is: "Review your offer letter if it indicates that you need to make a non-refundable admission deposit. You will pay your admission deposit through ACORN... Your Offer Letter has more information about the admission deposit." Refunds are "granted only in exceptional circumstances, such as the denial of a study permit". Source: https://future.utoronto.ca/fees and https://www.registrar.utoronto.ca/fees-payments/understanding-your-fees/
The usual set for this level. Your counsellor confirms the exact list for this university.
- Academic transcripts
- English test score (IELTS/TOEFL)
- Passport copy
- Statement of purpose (optional)
- Recommendation letters (optional)
Cost & scholarships
- Tuition$33,460 CAD / year≈ $24,603 / year
- Living costsVary by city — see the destination guide.
- ScholarshipsU of T publishes graduate award and funding information through the School of Graduate Studies at. Many research-stream graduate programmes at U of T are funded; funding arrangements are set by the graduate unit, not by SGS, and U of T does not publish a single figure. International doctoral students are charged the DOMESTIC tuition rate (see fee_basis)View scholarship page
Application timeline
Typical timings. Deadlines differ per university and intake.
- 1Prepare documents1–2 weeks
- 2Submit application1–3 weeks
- 3Receive offer letter2–6 weeks
- 4Apply for visa4–8 weeks
Application deadline: The School of Graduate Studies programme page prints no date and refers applicants to the graduate unit's own deadline page: https://rsi.utoronto.ca/apply-now . Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/programs/rehabilitation-science/
Visa & support journey
- Offer letterFrom the university
- Visa guidanceExpert support
- Pre-departureAccommodation & travel
- Ongoing supportEven after you arrive
Student stories
Real students. Real results.
- Average rating
- 4.9
- Google reviews
- 360+
- Rated five stars
- 95%
Average rating
Google reviews
Rated five stars
“I would like to express my gratitude for the excellent assistance provided during my student visa process. The team was responsive, knowledgeable, and supportive at every stage, from document preparation to submission guidance. Their clear communication and professional approach made the process much easier and more efficient.”
1 / 8
Nihad K, 5 out of 5 stars
Every review below is a real Google review — see all of them
Frequently asked questions
How much does Rehabilitation Science (MSc) cost?
CAD 33,460 / year.
What English score does it need?
IELTS 7.0 overall is the score listed for this programme.
How long is it?
6 sessions full-time (typical registration sequen…, as listed by the university.
What are the entry requirements?
School of Graduate Studies minimum: for master's programs, an appropriate bachelor's degree, or its equivalent, with a final-year average of at least mid-B from a recognized university; for doctoral programs, an appropriate master's degree, or its equivalent, with an average of at least B+, or demonstrated comparable research competence. Some departments admit directly to the doctoral program from a bachelor's degree for highly qualified candidates (minimum average A- required). "Many graduate units have higher minimum requirements than the minimum SGS requirements." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ || Graduate-unit requirement for this degree, from the SGS Graduate Calendar 2026-27 ("Rehabilitation Sciences: Rehabilitation Science MSc"): • Applicants are admitted under the General Regulations of the School of Graduate Studies. Applicants must also satisfy the Rehabilitation Sciences Institute's additional admission requirements stated below. • Applicants must have graduated with a minimum B+ average in senior-level courses in the final two years of a four-year undergraduate degree program from a recognized university, with a strong undergraduate science background including a course in research design and/or statistics. The four-year degree may be in Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, Speech-Language Pathology, or a related discipline. Related disciplines include basic sciences, engineering, kinesiology, nursing, psychology, social work, sociology, and physical and health education. • Applicants are recommended to identify a faculty member who agrees to serve as research supervisor. • Applicants who were educated outside Canada, whose primary language is not English, and who graduated from a university where the language of instruction and examination was not English, must demonstrate proficiency in the English language through the successful completion of one of the following tests: • Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) with the following minimum scores: 5.0/6.0 overall with 4.5/6.0 in writing and 4.0/6.0 in speaking. • International English Language Testing System (IELTS): minimum score of 7.5. • Certificate of Proficiency in English (COPE): see General Regulations, 4.3 English-Language Proficiency . • U of T School of Continuing Studies academic preparation: see General Regulations, 4.3 En || Minimum admission average published for international applicants: MSc: B+ average in senior-level courses in the final two years PhD: A– from a relevant thesis-based master’s program Direct Entry: A+/A average (GPA 4.0) in an undergraduate program || Direct entry option from bachelor's to PhD? PhD: not stated || Is a supervisor identified before or after admission? MSc, PhD: Before and/or after admission Note: Applicant with no supervisor identified before admission should contact rsi.gradcoordinator@utoronto.ca || Is a supervisor assigned by the graduate unit or secured by the applicant? MSc, PhD: Applicant || If a supervisor is identified after admission (as per question above), is admission conditional upon securing a supervisor? MSc, PhD: Yes || International credentials: U of T publishes the degree it requires from each country through the SGS international degree equivalencies tool at https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/international-credentials-equivalencies/ · English: IELTS 7.0 (no band below 6.5); TOEFL iBT 93 · English test waiver: Normally not required if: your native language is English (first learned and still used daily); you are a Canadian citizen who studied at a Canadian university where the language of instruction is French; you obtained your admitting degree from an institution recognised by U of T where the language of instruction and examination is uniformly English; or you completed your admitting degree in Australia, the Bahamas, Barbados, Botswana, Ghana, Guyana, Hong Kong, Ireland, Jamaica, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Malta, Namibia, New Zealand, Nigeria, Papua New Guinea, Sierra Leone, Singapore, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda, the United Kingdom, the United States, Zambia or Zimbabwe. Some applicants from those countries may still be asked for proof. Tests must have been taken within the last 24 months. Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/english-language-proficiency-testing/ · GRE/GMAT: MSc, PhD: not stated (School of Graduate Studies programme page; SGS also states "Some graduate units require a Graduate Records Examination (GRE). Check with your graduate unit.") · Application fee: CDN $130, non-refundable and non-transferable. "A supplementary application fee may be assessed depending upon the program to which you are applying." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ · Deposit: University of Toronto does not publish a single admission-deposit amount. Its published rule is: "Review your offer letter if it indicates that you need to make a non-refundable admission deposit. You will pay your admission deposit through ACORN... Your Offer Letter has more information about the admission deposit." Refunds are "granted only in exceptional circumstances, such as the denial of a study permit". Source: https://future.utoronto.ca/fees and https://www.registrar.utoronto.ca/fees-payments/understanding-your-fees/
Is there a scholarship?
U of T publishes graduate award and funding information through the School of Graduate Studies at. Many research-stream graduate programmes at U of T are funded; funding arrangements are set by the graduate unit, not by SGS, and U of T does not publish a single figure. International doctoral students are charged the DOMESTIC tuition rate (see fee_basis) View scholarship page
Ready to apply?
Get expert guidance and take the first step towards your global education.
Free counselling · No application fee to enquire · Reply within 24h