
Speech-Language Pathology (Practitioner) (MHSc)
Course at a Glance
- MasterDegree level
- 6 sessions full-time (typical registration sequen…Duration
- University of Toronto, St. George campus (downtown Toronto), CanadaLocation
- Speech-Language PathologyField of study
- EnglishLanguage of instruction
- University of Toronto, St. George campus (downtown Toronto)Campus
- Master of Health Science (MHSc)Awards
- $53,060Fees
- AvailableScholarship
About this programme
The Master of Health Science (MHSc) in Speech-Language Pathology is a full-time professional graduate program. The primary aim of the program is to prepare practitioners for entry into the practice of speech-language pathology.
Read more
Graduates are prepared to assume varied professional responsibilities including the assessment, treatment, and management of speech, voice, language, and swallowing disorders. Coursework and clinical internships are integrated and sequenced in a unique modular curriculum. Additionally, students participate in the interprofessional education (IPE) curriculum for 11 health science programs at the University of Toronto. There is a strong research-to-practice focus and students complete a comprehensive portfolio requirement in their final year. Students cannot apply to the MHSc program from the SGS website. For application information, fees, and guidelines to apply to the MHSc clinical program, please consult the Ontario Rehabilitation Sciences Programs (ORPAS) website . For students interested in pursuing research: visit the Speech-Language Pathology (Research) program page.
Is this course right for you?
Our counsellors check your profile against this programme's entry criteria and tell you where you stand — before you pay anything.
What we look at
- Your subject background and grades
- Your English score, or how to get one
- Budget, including living costs
University & programme
- Listed from the catalogueNot yet staff-verified — ask us to confirm the details.
- English requirementIELTS Overall 7.0
- Study modeMHSc Program
Admissions checklist
Entry requirements
School of Graduate Studies minimum: for master's programs, an appropriate bachelor's degree, or its equivalent, with a final-year average of at least mid-B from a recognized university; for doctoral programs, an appropriate master's degree, or its equivalent, with an average of at least B+, or demonstrated comparable research competence. Some departments admit directly to the doctoral program from a bachelor's degree for highly qualified candidates (minimum average A- required). "Many graduate units have higher minimum requirements than the minimum SGS requirements." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ || Graduate-unit requirement for this degree, from the SGS Graduate Calendar 2026-27 ("Speech-Language Pathology: Speech-Language Pathology MHSc"): • Applicants are admitted under the General Regulations of the School of Graduate Studies. • Applicants must also satisfy the Department of Speech-Language Pathology's additional admission requirements stated below and outlined in the Ontario Rehabilitation Sciences Application Service (ORPAS) Application Guide . • Applicants must obtain an appropriate bachelor's degree from a recognized university, with a standing equivalent to at least a University of Toronto mid-B in the final year. • Applicants must complete prerequisite undergraduate university-level courses with grades of at least a B+ in child development (one half course), general linguistics (one half course), phonetics (one half course), elementary statistics (one half course), research methods (one half course), and human physiology (one full course). • Applicants must arrange to have two academic referees complete the Confidential Assessment Form and write an academic reference letter. • Applicants must complete a minimum of 14 hours of clinical experience supervised by a registered speech-language pathologist. • Applicants must arrange for a Clinical Reference Form and accompanying letter from the primary supervisor of the clinical experience. • Applicants must complete a Statement of Intent that has two components: 1) their reasons for choosing speech-language pathology as a career; specific personal attributes that would be relevant to the profession; academic and non-academic accomplishments; and reasons for choosing the MHSc program in Speech-Language Pathology at the University of Toronto; and 2) a summary || Minimum admission average published for international applicants: MHSc: not stated || International credentials: U of T publishes the degree it requires from each country through the SGS international degree equivalencies tool at https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/international-credentials-equivalencies/ · English: IELTS 7.0 (no band below 6.5); TOEFL iBT 93 · English test waiver: Normally not required if: your native language is English (first learned and still used daily); you are a Canadian citizen who studied at a Canadian university where the language of instruction is French; you obtained your admitting degree from an institution recognised by U of T where the language of instruction and examination is uniformly English; or you completed your admitting degree in Australia, the Bahamas, Barbados, Botswana, Ghana, Guyana, Hong Kong, Ireland, Jamaica, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Malta, Namibia, New Zealand, Nigeria, Papua New Guinea, Sierra Leone, Singapore, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda, the United Kingdom, the United States, Zambia or Zimbabwe. Some applicants from those countries may still be asked for proof. Tests must have been taken within the last 24 months. Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/english-language-proficiency-testing/ · Application fee: CDN $130, non-refundable and non-transferable. "A supplementary application fee may be assessed depending upon the program to which you are applying." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ · Deposit: University of Toronto does not publish a single admission-deposit amount. Its published rule is: "Review your offer letter if it indicates that you need to make a non-refundable admission deposit. You will pay your admission deposit through ACORN... Your Offer Letter has more information about the admission deposit." Refunds are "granted only in exceptional circumstances, such as the denial of a study permit". Source: https://future.utoronto.ca/fees and https://www.registrar.utoronto.ca/fees-payments/understanding-your-fees/
The usual set for this level. Your counsellor confirms the exact list for this university.
- Academic transcripts
- English test score (IELTS/TOEFL)
- Passport copy
- Statement of purpose (optional)
- Recommendation letters (optional)
Cost & scholarships
- Tuition$53,060 CAD / year≈ $39,015 / year
- Living costsVary by city — see the destination guide.
- ScholarshipsU of T publishes graduate award and funding information through the School of Graduate Studies at. Many research-stream graduate programmes at U of T are funded; funding arrangements are set by the graduate unit, not by SGS, and U of T does not publish a single figure. International doctoral students are charged the DOMESTIC tuition rate (see fee_basis)View scholarship page
Application timeline
Typical timings. Deadlines differ per university and intake.
- 1Prepare documents1–2 weeks
- 2Submit application1–3 weeks
- 3Receive offer letter2–6 weeks
- 4Apply for visa4–8 weeks
Visa & support journey
- Offer letterFrom the university
- Visa guidanceExpert support
- Pre-departureAccommodation & travel
- Ongoing supportEven after you arrive
Student stories
Real students. Real results.
- Average rating
- 4.9
- Google reviews
- 360+
- Rated five stars
- 95%
Average rating
Google reviews
Rated five stars
“I would like to express my gratitude for the excellent assistance provided during my student visa process. The team was responsive, knowledgeable, and supportive at every stage, from document preparation to submission guidance. Their clear communication and professional approach made the process much easier and more efficient.”
1 / 8
Nihad K, 5 out of 5 stars
Every review below is a real Google review — see all of them
Frequently asked questions
How much does Speech-Language Pathology (Practitioner) (MHSc) cost?
CAD 53,060 / year.
What English score does it need?
IELTS 7.0 overall is the score listed for this programme.
How long is it?
6 sessions full-time (typical registration sequen…, as listed by the university.
What are the entry requirements?
School of Graduate Studies minimum: for master's programs, an appropriate bachelor's degree, or its equivalent, with a final-year average of at least mid-B from a recognized university; for doctoral programs, an appropriate master's degree, or its equivalent, with an average of at least B+, or demonstrated comparable research competence. Some departments admit directly to the doctoral program from a bachelor's degree for highly qualified candidates (minimum average A- required). "Many graduate units have higher minimum requirements than the minimum SGS requirements." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ || Graduate-unit requirement for this degree, from the SGS Graduate Calendar 2026-27 ("Speech-Language Pathology: Speech-Language Pathology MHSc"): • Applicants are admitted under the General Regulations of the School of Graduate Studies. • Applicants must also satisfy the Department of Speech-Language Pathology's additional admission requirements stated below and outlined in the Ontario Rehabilitation Sciences Application Service (ORPAS) Application Guide . • Applicants must obtain an appropriate bachelor's degree from a recognized university, with a standing equivalent to at least a University of Toronto mid-B in the final year. • Applicants must complete prerequisite undergraduate university-level courses with grades of at least a B+ in child development (one half course), general linguistics (one half course), phonetics (one half course), elementary statistics (one half course), research methods (one half course), and human physiology (one full course). • Applicants must arrange to have two academic referees complete the Confidential Assessment Form and write an academic reference letter. • Applicants must complete a minimum of 14 hours of clinical experience supervised by a registered speech-language pathologist. • Applicants must arrange for a Clinical Reference Form and accompanying letter from the primary supervisor of the clinical experience. • Applicants must complete a Statement of Intent that has two components: 1) their reasons for choosing speech-language pathology as a career; specific personal attributes that would be relevant to the profession; academic and non-academic accomplishments; and reasons for choosing the MHSc program in Speech-Language Pathology at the University of Toronto; and 2) a summary || Minimum admission average published for international applicants: MHSc: not stated || International credentials: U of T publishes the degree it requires from each country through the SGS international degree equivalencies tool at https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/international-credentials-equivalencies/ · English: IELTS 7.0 (no band below 6.5); TOEFL iBT 93 · English test waiver: Normally not required if: your native language is English (first learned and still used daily); you are a Canadian citizen who studied at a Canadian university where the language of instruction is French; you obtained your admitting degree from an institution recognised by U of T where the language of instruction and examination is uniformly English; or you completed your admitting degree in Australia, the Bahamas, Barbados, Botswana, Ghana, Guyana, Hong Kong, Ireland, Jamaica, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Malta, Namibia, New Zealand, Nigeria, Papua New Guinea, Sierra Leone, Singapore, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda, the United Kingdom, the United States, Zambia or Zimbabwe. Some applicants from those countries may still be asked for proof. Tests must have been taken within the last 24 months. Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/english-language-proficiency-testing/ · Application fee: CDN $130, non-refundable and non-transferable. "A supplementary application fee may be assessed depending upon the program to which you are applying." Source: https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/admission-application-requirements/ · Deposit: University of Toronto does not publish a single admission-deposit amount. Its published rule is: "Review your offer letter if it indicates that you need to make a non-refundable admission deposit. You will pay your admission deposit through ACORN... Your Offer Letter has more information about the admission deposit." Refunds are "granted only in exceptional circumstances, such as the denial of a study permit". Source: https://future.utoronto.ca/fees and https://www.registrar.utoronto.ca/fees-payments/understanding-your-fees/
Is there a scholarship?
U of T publishes graduate award and funding information through the School of Graduate Studies at. Many research-stream graduate programmes at U of T are funded; funding arrangements are set by the graduate unit, not by SGS, and U of T does not publish a single figure. International doctoral students are charged the DOMESTIC tuition rate (see fee_basis) View scholarship page
Ready to apply?
Get expert guidance and take the first step towards your global education.
Free counselling · No application fee to enquire · Reply within 24h